We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florence
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

As we neared Bellagio on the ferry coming from Varenna we could see Hotel Florence looking so well situated right on the waterfront. It was an easy short walk to the hotel from the ferry stop. The hotel had a lovely reception area with comfortable looking seats to relax in. There was another public area on the first floor with seating and a bookshelf with a variety of travel books on the Italian Lakes written in English. We had two rooms on the fourth floor, one for my husband and self and one for our teenage sons. Both rooms were just gorgeous- tastefully and individually decorated (no boring modern contemporary here). The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was stylish and lovely and light. Everything was very clean. My husband and I had a room facing the lake with cute little French doors to open. The view was spectacular, you could just sit there and enjoy it. It was so pleasant just to walk around and explore Bellagio and come back to this lovely hotel. Our only problem was our stay was not long enough.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from 4th floor over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    165
    47
    12
    12
See reviews for
66
338
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel Florence has a fabulous location with amazing views across the lake. If you are of the age where sleep quality and cold showers are unimportant then this is the place for you as it is a romantic looking hotel, with spacious rooms and bathrooms. I personally hate air con but in August it is a necessity in Bellagio the fan with the windows open does not keep the room cool and we spent restless noisy nights. The shower pressure on the high floors is non-existent tricky washing long hair, our mixer tap did not work, either scalding hot or cold, as it was August not too much of a problem or if you fancy a cold shower in November! We found the young receptionist quite offensive and rude on arrival she could do with a few lessons at charm school and how to greet guests after they have been driving for 7 hours! A young chap who helped with our bags and poured us copious prosecco was very charming! Good breakfast and decent coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kizzy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel couldn't have been more perfect for us to experience such a lovely stay in Bellagio. The staff was truly the best part of our experience. They were accomodating, welcoming and treated us like old friends. Our room was very clean and comfortable, although our bath was a bit small - my husband couldn't stand in the tub because it was too narrow, but luckily there was plently of room for him to sit at the back so that he could shower that way. The tub in our friend's room was not as narrow so not everyone who stays here will run into the same problem. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. The breakfasts were plentiful and the service and menu at the hotel bar was excellent. I would definitely return to the Hotel Florence and will recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: Units in the front and side rooms nearer the front have gorgeous views of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Quite possibly the best room in Bellagio - Room #3. Quite possibly one of the best value hotels in the world. We paid as much for our 3 night stay (in the best room/suite in the hotel) than we paid for dinner at the Serbelloni across the street. Hard to say how this resort only merits '3' official stars. It is better than many 4 star hotels I have stayed at. I guess it is due to the perverse hotelier rating check list as the hotel does lack certain facilities like in-room wifi and a swimming pool. Otherwise, the quality of the room decor is first class. And the lake-side views are unbeatable. And the outdoor balcony is as striking as it is spacious. All the staff are super friendly and helpful. This is the place to stay in Bellagio.

Room Tip: Room #3 is right on the corner with big French windows looking at two different aspects on Lake Como...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaldivesComplete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We decided to stay at The Hotel Florence mainly through the positive reviews from trip advisor. Whilst looking at other hotels it was disappointing to find that they had such small dated tired bedrooms. The Florence had a suite available room 3 that they said was spacious with a terrace and had wonderful views. Viewing the room online the decor looked a bit alarming, but we decided to go with it!

We were not disappointed, the room was extremely spacious, very tall ceilings, antique chabby chic italian look and had a separate sitting room, adequate bathroom and a huge shared terrace that had an amazing view of the lake, and main drag of Bellagio, so you certainly found yourself absorbed by the atmosphere of this magical little town. All in all it was very homely and proved a great base. It would of been perfect if we could of had wifi and a fridge in our suite.

We were not concerned that our room did not have air conditioning as the bedroom and sitting room had huge French doors which let in a beautiful Breeze, however there was a mini heat wave whilst we were there and the room did get extremely hot, thank goodnes for the fan, which kept us cool whilst we slept. Yes, there is a lot of noise from the town as another reviewer pointed out, but we did get used to it and it justed added to the whole experience of being in Belagio.

This is not the friendliest hotel or town we have ever stayed, but have to say that whenever we had a question or request, someone was always keen to help us. The hotel is certainly the right end of Bellagio and has a super people watching street bar and lovely restaurant.

This was our first holiday like this away from a beach and pool, we wanted a bit more action, so hired a bike for a couple of days cycling which was fantastic, visited Como, and virtually all the other little towns on the lake. Varenna is a must. Had great fun at the Salice Blu cookery school with chef Luigi . . . Walked our socks off, was sad to leave!

Should we return to Bellagio, we would certainly choose to stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Whizzmethere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
392 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

This lovely hotel sits just accross the road from the Lake and just metres away from the ferry terminal, flat with no steps, so great for lugging your bags and for drivers the street leading down to the hotel has free parking.The hotel has lots of charm and character and our room on the second floor overlooking the lake was stunning. Although not a modern hotel it is well maintained and very clean and quiet and has a great bar attached with out side seating and the best restaurant across the road right on the lake side serving wonderful food at good value for money. This hotel was recommended as we were looking at other alternatives and are very pleased we heeded their advice. You wont be disappointed with the helpful staff, the location or the views.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

we both work full time,..and then some, so to find a destination which manages to get us unwound to point of comatosed in 5 mins is a real find!Just back from visit number 7. The only place we keep returning to. family run real italian hotel with true italian style. The position is superb, and you can be car free for a whole week and eat at different places each lunch/dinner time thats before you venture across lake to other villages. Cant wait to re book already.

Room Tip: the 'lake view' suppliment is well worth the extra,..it doubles the enjoyment of your holida...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladiesabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Property: Hotel Florence
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing