We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Great Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florence
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Florence during a whirlwind 2 week vacation through Italy. Our only regret about Bellagio is that we only could stay for one night!
The hotel is absolutely beautiful and is located directly on Lake Como and only steps from the ferry dock. The little hamlet of Bellagio is not very big and you can easily tour all of it by foot from the hotel.
Front desk staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English. The rooms were very clean and spacious, with four-post beds in most of them. There is an elevator to reach the upper floors.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room and included in the room rate.
Special Note: If you are coming from Milan to visit Bellagio, consider taking an inexpensive train from Milano Centrale Station (they run hourly) to Verenna. Then walk from the Verenna station down the hill (there are signs pointing the way) to the ferry dock on the lake. From there take a ferry 10 minutes to Bellagio. The whole trip can be done in 2.5 hours and costs less than $20USD per person.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaymah2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Florence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a fantastic corner room on the first floor with 2 balconies that had fabulous views across the lake and the town. It was difficult to tear ourselves away from relaxing with a book and watching the world go by!

We often go to bed relatively early and were slightly concerned that we would find the hotel noisy at night given that we wanted a lake view which meant being directly on the lakefront with the road and restaurants beneath. We need not have been concerned it was fine - the hotel is located at the end of the lakefront that seems to be the quietist and there didn't seem to much passing by later in the evening.

The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the ferry terminals so it was very convenient to cruise up and down the lake to Como, Villa Carlotta etc. Breakfasts at the Hotel was very good and the terrace on the lake is worth considering for a meal - we had lunch there one day. We only used the Hotel restaurant once in the evening, it was OK but nothing special to be honest (and we had found Restaurant Bilacus by the second night!) . Although we didn't require much information the reception staff were very helpful when called upon. We would certainly use the hotel again if we return to Bellagio

Room Tip: Has to be a lake view if possible, we found a front room quiet even though it overlooked the road an...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank owen333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Quite hotel on lake como. Difficult to get to by car as its on opposite side of town with one way access. Our room looked over the lake and it was breathtaking. Very convenient to ferry boats which is primary mode of transportation. Good breakfast included. The restaurant was closed for the season so did not eat there. Convenient yo shops and other fine eating places

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefffairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed in the lovely hotel's suite for 1 night in September. The room was large, tastefully decorated and with spacious bathrooms. The two balconies opened onto the vast Lake como. The staff was friendly and eager to help with our lunch reservations at a hotel of our choice. The helpful night desk manager also suggested an important change in our travel plans to Milan. Breakfast spread was nice with warm scrambled eggs.
Definitely a great beginning to our wonderful holiday in Italy.

Room Tip: The suite is definitely worth it if you are travelling with kids but was an indulgence for the two o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalchakram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Reception staff were abrupt and unfriendly upon our arrival at the Hotel Florence. The reception area was dark and gloomy. Room 4 was tiny, the decor was tired and the bathroom had a tub with hand held shower only. As promised, we shared a lovely lake view terrace with our friends in room 3. Late that evening, the man at reception was defensive and hostile when we came down to report overwhelming fumes of sewage gases in our room which we had discovered upon returning from dinner. Interestingly enough, he was very quick to say that the problem was not the fault of the Hotel Florence, it was a problem with the town's sewer drainage system. We got the impression that this was not the first time the man had heard this complaint. We were told that there were no more rooms available, nor were there any at nearby 3-star hotels, so we moved next door to the 5-star Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni for our 3-night stay in Bellagio. Money well spent!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MND1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Beautiful hotel, great service, outstanding value! We absolutely loved this hotel and already plan to come back. We had an enchanting stay in Bellagio, and Hotel Florence was a big part of our wonderful experience. The staff was friendly, the rooms spotless, and the breakfast was remarkable. What a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydney82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed three nights at Hotel Florence, one night in a room without a lake view and two nights with a lake view. The room without a lake view had a lovely private terrace, that was room 8 and it was so nice I wasn't sure I wanted to move rooms. Then we were moved to room 1 with the lake view and it was spectacular, had a huge shared balcony with an amazing view. We drank wine and enjoyed the view from the balcony nightly, what a treat. The staff were all extremely kind and welcoming, we felt they were happy to have guests, even at the end of a long tourist season. We enjoyed the breakfast very much as well. This hotel would be my first choice when we return to Bellagio.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HWBLONDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
758 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
920 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £124 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing