We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go There!”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florence
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
479 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Just go There!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ok, so we checked out every review on this site for Bellagio hotels before making the best
decision with the Hotel Florence. It is by far the best option going if you want great value,location and excellent customer service. The hotel is the last in the row of boardwalk
places at lake front elevation. The location is perfect as it is close enough to walk from ferry landing, yet far enough away not to hear noise from water taxis or town crowds. The hotel has an elevator lift, which is such a treat when you have heavy luggage. The lovely breakfast room provides great options, plus good service. The bar is fun and inviting, with great lake view from the lake front patio (weather permitting). Guest rooms are good size with big beds, although hard mattresses with firm pillows, which seems to be a common thing in Italy. Bathrooms are good size (but be warned that as with most of Italy you will have a bathtub only with shower handle spout, so you must sit in bath to wash your hair). This is a small compromise given the quaint accommodations and rate value. There was a small flat screen tv in room but we never turned it on. Internet connection is very good, a small room safe is provided, plus nice bathroom products. The staff is very kind and will help in any way. We had room 6, which was on second floor in center of building overlooking Lake Como through a darling window with shutters. It was quiet in the evening and we never heard outside noise or neighboring rooms. Please be advised, this hotel does shut down by October 15th for the season. We just squeaked in before the closure. Their popular restaurant with indoor seating or lakeside patio dining closes at the end of September. We were not aware of this until we stayed on property. We found that many restaurants do shut down in fall and are not open during colder weather months. I am not sure how you can book for next season with the closure, but I would plan a stay before middle of September for the best weather and dining choices. It was very quiet in town while we were there, as it is the end of tourist season with colder temperatures. We took note of other hotels that were good options but they were located up very steep cobblestone walkways that would be very hard to access with luggage, or water side hotels at very steep prices with possible noise challenges. It did rain while we were there so we were thankful to be at Hotel Florence on flat ground with no steep walkways with slippery rock paths. Water taxi service does reduce the schedule for fall starting on October 1st, although you can take both passenger ferry or auto ferry so transport options were still plenty. The hotel is so very charming, quiet, clean, friendly and a wonderful treat after a day of shopping, exploring or hopping from one village to the next via boat taxi. We were very happy with our choice and would return here again and again. We arrived through Milan airport, took the train to central station, then transferred to Vareena train for a one hour, then off there for a 5 minute downhill walk to ferry landing. Boat to Bellagio is a short 10 minute ride.

Room Tip: Room 6 on 2nd floor, close to lift, only one neighboring room on left, so very quiet spot and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DMHappyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    168
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
68
344
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recently spent four nights here. Room was a good size and beautifully furnished. Shuttered windows opened to a glorious view of the lake and mountains.Close to ferry and other sights in Bellagio.Breakfast was good but we were a little disappointed that it was not served outside with a view. The outdoor dining terrace was great for drinks while watching the sun set.Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on fourth floor, great views from the balcony in both directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights this month. It is located right on the lakeside close to the ferry station. The rooms are large and beautifully, though quirkily, furnished. We had a lake-view room with fabulous views. Breakfast was both cooked and continental. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar is well stocked and the food in the restaurant was very good. The one drawback was that the bathroom didn't have a proper shower.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend having a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnewman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed five days at Hotel Florence and I was very happy with our visit. I was consistently impressed with the helpfulness and friendliness of their staff; from the owner to the concierge and waiters. My wife and I were constantly at the concierge desk asking questions and looking for suggestions and they answered every time with genuine happiness and expert advice. The food at their restaurant is exceptional and in a wonderful location, my wife's favorite for the whole trip was their fish tartare. I could not have thought of a better place to spend our last five days in Italy than Lake Como, and Hotel Florence served as a perfect home base for our relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel Florence is in the heart of Bellagio, surrounded by shops, restaurants and of course Lake Como. It is a vintage and historic place that dates to the 1920s. The rooms are well kept and also very clean and neat.
But the views from the room's balcony are breathtaking. How could one not fall in love with such a place. A single word sums up the feeling and ambiance of this place: Idyllic.
As you look out over the lake you see the mountains that are the border with Switzerland. In the evening they are usually capped with clouds, and in the morning the fog can be seen lifting slowly from their tops.
Many fine restaurants in Bellagio. A favorite that we went to two of the three nights we stayed was Ristorante Bilacus. We strongly recommend the veal scallopine con funghi. It actually tasted better the second time!
The ferry service is great for visiting the various towns nearby. Some are not touristy like Bellagio, but have their own unique character. And being there in October was great because there were not many tourists as during the summer months.
We loved our stay and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWiz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen iris, Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Florence, Bellagio. We booked a Junior Suite. Our room was of a good size, on the third floor, overlooking Lake Como. We had a corner room (room 26) having a wrap around balcony and a great view of Lake Como with lots of natural light. We stayed for three nights in early September. It was quite hot at this time of the year.

As there was no air conditioning in our room, we opened our floor to ceiling doors and the breeze cooled our room. At night, when the doors/windows were closed, it was cool enough to sleep without using the portable fan that was provided. Closing the doors/windows shut out most of the outside noise because the soundproofing was very good, and we slept well. I loved the firm mattress, good linen and pillows.

My only complaint was that the shower in our room was of the hand held design just above the bath. There was no way of fixing it to the wall, meaning that you could not ever stand under a shower. This was an issue for me and I have longish hair that I wash every day. I have had four operations on my shoulders, and a chronic back complaint, so washing my hair was a bit of an ordeal. The situation was exacerbated by having no shower screen. Whilst showering, I had to be mindful all the time of not spraying the whole bathroom and its contents.

My husband and I decided to lounge by a swimming pool for an afternoon as we were exhausted from our 24 hours plus continuous journey from Australia. The Hotel Florence does not have its own pool, so we researched some options. We could have spent time getting to the Sports Club (about 20-30 mins) up the hill for Euro 15 each, but instead, we splurged and spent Euro 60 each and lounged at Hotel Villa Serbelloni (across the road from Hotel Florence) for an afternoon. This entitled us to use their Spa facilities where I could shower and wash my hair, so this solved the shower problem for one day at least.

Later, after our short visit swimming at the acclaimed Hotel Villa Serbelloni, I could not help thinking how much better value and friendlier Hotel Florence was in comparison.

Paolo (and others) at reception Hotel Florence were very helpful about everything. In the breakfast dining room, Georgia was charming and the room had a fabulous aesthetic and ambience. The highlight of the breakfast menu was the locally made yogurt.

On our first night, we dined at Hotel Florence's Terrace Restaurant on the water's edge, across the road from the hotel and that was most enjoyable. The next night we ate at La Punta which was a short walk from the Hotel. The setting there was lovely too, but the food was not as good as we would have expected.

In summary, Hotel Florence, Bellagio was centrally located, clean and good value. Their hospitality was very welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Lake Como
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our initial stay in 2010 was wonderful but we decided to try something different this time and booked at the Hotel Britannia in Griante on the other side of the lake. That hotel is a disaster and couldn't be a greater contrast to Hotel Florence. We immediately purchased a six day pass for the ferry and spent most of our time in Bellagio and ate at the Hotel Florence restaurant on a regular basis. In the end we jumped ship, forgoing our last night at the Britannia, and booked our last night in Italy at Hotel Florence hoping to end our Italian holiday on a high. We were not disappointed. The spacious room was gorgeous and had a huge terrace overlooking the lake. I can't stress enough just how good the staff are and what a lovely ambience exists throughout the hotel. We will be returning in 2015 to Hotel Florence, hopefully to see some familiar faces and to once again soak up the best of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubboNSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Property: Hotel Florence
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing