We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and stunning views”
Review of Hotel Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Florence
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2009

I would agree with a previous reviewer that the best thing about the Hotel Florence is its views, and if you don't get one from your room then you would be missing out on one of the main reasons for staying there. However, knowing the layout of the hotel, I can't imagine there are many rooms with no view at all. We had to book a room "without lake view" when we made our reservation 3 months in advance as all the lake view rooms were taken (we were going in early June which is out of season, so take that as a warning to book as early as possible as this is a popular place). However when we arrived, we found that our room was at the side of the building and from our balcony, we had a beautiful view of the lake (see photo), albeit not as panoramic as the rooms at the front.

The furnishings were a modern take on antique - classic furniture reupholstered in bright colours, plus we had a beautiful old mirrored wardrobe. The bed was comfortable, the room was a reasonable size with a high ceiling that made it feel bigger and the bathroom was so spotless that it looked like it had just been installed. The public spaces were beautifully furnished, very spacious and relaxed. There were lovely views from the hallways as we walked between our room and the stairway.

Breakfast was good but probably standard for the area (cold buffet with a good selection, plus hot bacon and scrambled eggs which were nice and creamy!).

In my opinion, the unsung hero of the hotel is its restaurant, both in terms of its unbeatable location, the quality of its food and the friendly service. We ate at about half a dozen places during our stay, including two restaurants which rate highly on the TA list for Bellagio, and the Hotel Florence restaurant stood head and shoulders above the rest for the quality of its food. Prices are fairly high but so are most of the places along the waterfront. If you want to enjoy its location without paying for the food though, I would recommend an early evening glass of prosecco (4 Euro a glass) at a waterside table - you can drink there without eating until 7pm when the tables have to be vacated for diners. Drinks are served with generous snacks - bruschetta, olives and crisps - and the early evening sunlight on the lake is magical.

The only reason not to stay at the Hotel Florence would be if you were on a really tight budget, or if you especially wanted a hotel with a pool, which we really envied at the Villa Serbelloni next door on those hot days!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2009

The Hotel Florence is in a great old building - or pair of buildings - on the lakefront. Rather than being faded grandeur, they've kept all the best old features and added some nice touches with the decor. We really liked the marble slabs for the floors and stairs, and all the old woodwork.

The bar downstairs was pleasant if not all that cheap at current £/€ exchange rates. However the drinks came with a surprising quantity of food (bruschetta, olives, crisps etc) so not bad value overall. The restaurant has a beautiful lakeside terrace, although we did not get the chance to eat there.

Breakfast was quite good, if not quite the spread you get at the big American chains, and served in a lovely vaulted room.

The room itself was a good size with a nice bathroom - newly refurbished and immaculate, with good quality toiletries.

At the back of the hotel you are however exposed to the enthusiastic bell ringing at the village church behind from a fairly early hour and at regular intervals thereafter.

No parking at the hotel but we found it easy enough to park on the street to the side. Driving to Bellagion was another matter... not really recommended if you can take a bus or a boat instead. The road up from Como is horrendous and can only really be taken at 25-30 mph.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Ringraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We recently spent 4 nights here.Splendid location,with some beautiful gardens to visit using the regular boat service.
All the staff were really helpful, and friendly.Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

A fabulous hotel in the most beautiful place I have ever visited. Lake Como, the surrounding towns and Bellagio itself were as expected and absolutely beautiful. No surprises there! Although public transport was a bit of a puzzle, we found that travelling from Malpensa Airport by train, stopping at Saronno, then on to Como Nord Lago and then by boat to Bellagio was not too bad but timings are staggered and involves a lot of investigating and planning before hand. Mind you the extra work makes the place that much more special. We heard that travelling by car to the area can be just as difficult (the treacherous roads don't help) so be prepared! When we got to the Hotel Florence we were impressed from the word go. Lovely room, no bath (this didn't bother us), wonderful view, great service, top notch breakfast, and brilliant location. Could not fault this hotel. The staff were particularly helpful in travel information as well as letting us use the computer to print off boarding passes, it seemed like they could not do enough to please everyone staying. I loved this place. Will definitely go again, need time to save though, the Euro makes our pound feel very weak in Bellagio!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nvh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Pros: Beautiful room with balcony overlooking the lake, antique furniture, wonderful breakfast, lovely restaurant

Cons: Check-in staff was unfriendly, bathroom smelled of sewage (poor plumbing) so we kept the bathroom door closed, no parking (but public parking nearby)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFtoSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

This was our favorite hotel and location out of our recent time in Italy. Hotel Florence is right on Lake Como, our room faced the lake and had a LARGE balcony where we enjoyed sitting and observing the beauty. We found the room to be a perfect size, actually rather large for Europe, and the free wi-fi internet access a definite PLUS!

The gave us a discount for paying cash, so make sure if you are interested in doing that you make an inquiry to see if that option is available. The location is perfect as it is directly across from the ferry which can take you to various other locations on the lake.

We found the staff very helpful and fluent in English, the breakfast room and food provided were good...overall this was a very pleasant experience and we would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCVDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

Had a fantastic 3 nights in Bellagio at Hotel Florence. Rooms were fantastic (4 & 5) very comfortable with HUGE shared terrace - though we didn't make enough use of it as there were so many things to see... The staff were all, without exception, excellent. It's a quirky little hotel, colourful furnishings in a spectacular location - right on the lake & next door to the Serbellioni, so same views less price! First night we ate at the hotel's restaurant which is across the road (very quiet) on the lake. Food was very good - not cheap, about E.120 for 2 course & 1/2 bottle wine. Beware the cost of a bellini - Eu. 10 each!!! delicious but I only had 1. In my opinion Belaggio is definitely the better place to stay than say Menaggio/Tremezza as the hotels there have a BUSY road in front of them whereas Bellagio's traffic is restricted and cars can only come along at certain times.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kentishlass6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £137 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing