We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lake side hotel on Lake Como”
Review of Hotel Florence

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Florence
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice lake side hotel on Lake Como”
Reviewed 27 August 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Florence in May 2006. We were on the 4th floor and had a room with two French doors overlooking Lake Como. The view of the lake was incredible even though it was hazy the whole time we were there…but I guess that’s typical of Lake Como. There is a road between the hotel and the lake but we never had a problem with the sound of cars driving by since the town slows down a lot at night. The room was clean with antique furniture and wood floors. The bathroom was clean but had a tub and no shower. There was a hand held shower head that you could use to bathe yourself but since there was no shower curtain it was rather difficult. Parking is an issue but at the recommendation of the hotel staff we simply parked in a pay spot by the lake (within a few hundred feet of the hotel) and then in the evening after things settled down we moved the car to a free spot (within 1 to 3 blocks of the hotel). The free breakfast buffet was very good and took place in a nice multi leveled room that had large windows and really cool chandeliers. They actually had some hot food at the buffet…not just the typical cold bread and cheese we had experienced elsewhere. There are quieter hotels in Bellagio that are further from the circular road that winds through the town…but this also puts you further from the shopping and the lakefront. I’ve heard that Bellagio is too crowded in the summer but May was a wonderful time to visit and the Hotel Florence was a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Wekiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    173
    48
    12
    12
See reviews for
71
354
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

We're just back from a weekend on the lakes and had lunch twice at Hotel Florence lake front terrace.
The food was fantastic - I had the best lasagne ever there.
The views and the setting are stunning and the service was great.
We had the same waitress and waiter two days running (we were sat in almost the same spot) and they were really nice. The wairess was sweet and the waiter was helpful and funny!
We spent on average 70 Euros for lunch, which was three courses with wine & water.
I would definately recommend it.

  • Liked — Views, food and service
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NZTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

During our 10 day stay in late June early July we ate several lunches and dinners on the lakeside terrace of the Hotel Florence. The food was always good, in a lovely setting overlooking the lake whilst the ferries plied their routes, sitting under a Wisteria and Mulberry loggia. The staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Well recommended

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank shuggystew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Florence and Bellagio is a wonderful place to wind down after visiting major cities. We stayed in a corner room on the top floor (#43) and had two balconies with a beautiful view of the lake. Our room was decorated in cheery yellow and blue florals and it was immaculate and spacious. It had a safe and fan (I moved this closer to our bed the last night and we were alot more comfortable). The breakfasts were nice - cappuccinos, apricot croissants, eggs, bacon, cereals etc and there was plenty to choose from when we went to breakfasts a few minutes before they closed. They had a nice bar downstairs and a lovely restaurant across the street (The Terrace) with a lakeside view and delicious food. The staff was very friendly, despite what previous posts have said. We arrived by train from Milan to Varenna, took a taxi down to the ferry dock and took a 15 minute passenger ferry to the hotel, literally arriving across the street from the hotel. We were there during the quarter finals of the World Cup and the fans went crazy parading their cars through the town. The shopping was great and I had time to pick up many souvenirs that I hadn't had time to pick up when in Rome, Tuscany, Florence and Venice - leather goods, deruta pottery, hand carved music box etc Bellagio is a beautiful upscale village. We went on a dinner dance with a 5 hr cruise of the lake with fireworks. It was the first day of the summer cruises on a Saturday evenings. We were the only Englsh speaking people on it and they had a great band. We made a reservation and purchased our tickets that morning at the ferry office. We took a boat ride to tour the Villa Balbianello(beautiful location - it's not palatial but more of a "man's retreat" where the previous owner planned his expedition trips around the world and it has museum quality artifacts). The ferry also has a trip to Lake Lugano, Switzerland (30 min away) which provides bus and/or train transportation and a boat cruise on both lakes. Unfortunately, it wasn't an option on Sundays and we didn't have enough time. We hired a driver on the way back to the airport (highly recommended as parking is limited and the roads are very narrow and windy with cliffs over the lake). We loved our stay in Bellagio and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bellisimo Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarence, NY
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2006

Stayed at Hotel Florence on May 1st and 2nd. Wonderful, small hotel. We had a Superior Double room with a terrace. The room was lovely and comfortable. The terrace was amazing! Breakfast was great! Eggs, bacon, etc. Wish the weather had been a little warmer as I would have liked to enjoy the terrace more. Bellagio is a wonderful town. Try Happy Hours at all the little bars. You get wonderful drinks with snacks that can substitute as dinner! Parking is limited in town. But, we found a spot in front of the hotel where you pay about $12.00 a day at the meter. Take the ferry from place to place.
The fireplace at Hotel Florence tended to make the hotel smell like smoky wood, but nothing objectionable. See my pictures of our room and terrace and try and stay away. Word of warning-no shower in this room. Tub only, but the bathroom was huge!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NYTraveler1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria Va.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2006

The Hotel Florence is located right on the lake. While the room we had was on the small side, it was comfortable. It wasn't a "view" room but we still saw the Lake in all it's beauty from our window on the side of the hotel [upstairs] One of the nicest aspects of the hotel was their wonderful restaurant/cafe right on the lake's edge. A perfect place to sip a glass of wine or partake in one of their fabulous meals. We were able to explore all of Bellagio on foot. Also, the boats to all parts of the Lake were only moments away. This made for daily "island hopping" and a very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank sandyshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2005

We stayed at the Hotel Florence for the second time in 1999 and the first time in 1994. This hotel is my first memory of Italy. When I threw open the windows and looked out upon the Lago di Como, tears came to my eyes. It is so beautiful that words cannot capture the feelings evoked by the view. The mountains literally rise out of the lake and I dubbed this the "Botticelli Trip" both times. The Hotel Florence has beautiful, spacious rooms with an old world ambiance. The first time we stayed we had a huge spacious deck overlooking the lake. The second time we had a corner room with two balconies overlooking the lake and the Villa Serbolini. The food at the restaurant is some of the best I've had in all of Italy where we enjoyed a lakeside meal and one in the spacious dining room. The hotel is family owned and the service is gracious. The hotel bar was a great place to unwind from jet lag and we went back every night for an appertif before dinner. Bellagio is a very walkable town and we thoroughly enjoyed the shops and restaurants, and also took a boat ride up the lake and explored Mennagio. We highly recommend the Hotel Florence and will return to it every time we visit Bellagio.

  • Stayed September 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank romaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
777 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Property: Hotel Florence
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing