We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a painting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Have just returned from our fourth visit in six years to this delightful hotel, and have already booked again for next year. What more can one say? The hotel seems to get better each year, with a new reading room and (small) gym. The staff are amazing, and if you stay for more than a couple of days you quickly feel you are part of the Belvedere family over which presides the omnipresent Tiziana, whose family have owned and run the hotel for four generations.

We stayed in a terrace room where the views of the lake are sensational, and if the rooms themselves are a little on the small side, who cares with the lovely terrace? The food is great, and I say this having tried most of the other restaurants in Bellagio over the years, and always coming back to the view from the Belvedere terrace, the fabulous homemade pasta and the attentions of the excellent Alberto.

The location is perfect, far enough from the town to be quiet, close enough to stroll for the evening gelato. We feel sorry for those who simply stay a night and move on. Bring a stack of books and enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTravellingDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

If you want a lovely family run hotel with friendly staff then Hotel Belverdere is for you. We were joined by our family on the first week and they were very impressed with the standard of the hotel.Waiting staff,pool staff ,reception staff all work so very hard. Our rooms were spotless and the views of the lake excellent as was the food in the restaurant. The owner and manager are always on site and happy to help with any queries you have.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Lake View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We paid over 1300 euros for 3 nights in a suite and thought it was overpriced. The room was pleasant but nothing special with lovely views and an easy walk into town. Staff were helpful but the hotel wasn't busy. Breakfast was pretty average and the so called "orange juice" had never been near an orange and it was the same everyday. To charge for wifi in this day and age is outrageous on top of the room rate. We booked many hotels based on TA reviews and have been very happy except for this one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fudgiesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We recently stayed for 5 nights and I would highly recommend the Belvedere hotel. The rooms and the public areas of the hotel were immaculate and the Belvedere feels as if it is well cared for by the friendly and helpful staff. Its a 5 minute walk into Bellagio central but no big deal so don't be put off by this as the views and ambience more than compensate. Although its rated 3 star its a lot better than this and I would recommend highly to anyone wanting a relaxing few days without the pretensions of a 5 star choice. We also had perfect weather which always helps.

Room Tip: request a high floor lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Having to spend three nights in Bellagio for my best friend's wedding, I decided to go for the best - at least according to Trip Advisor - and I am extremely grateful to my fellow reviewers for having pointed me out towards the Belvedere hotel. My (regrettably) short stay has in fact been completely satisfactory and as I write this review I struggle to name the hotel's best feature because everything has been truly excellent: allow me to point out:
- Its position: the Belvedere overlooks the quieter south-eastern branch of Lake Como, not the busiest south-western one (the one with the ferry harbour, to be precise). Moverover, the structure is a few hundred meters away from pubs/bars/restaurants for an extremely relaxing experience;
- Its amazing staff: although I have had many more positive than negative experiences with hotel staffs, this was even better than I thought. Mind you, Bellagio is a city that lives out of tourism and no-one in the wedding party (spread all over the city) complained about this feature, but I believe that the Belvedere was truly fantastic. Although this is a big structure, reception waited for my arrival (at 0030) well beyond their normal operating times and made me feel very welcomed from the first moment. The cleaning staff was literally hovering outside my door after I woke up and had the room properly cleaned by the time I came back from breakfast. It is apparent to me that the Belvedere staff is properly trained to do its job and performs it with professionalism and enthusiasm;
- Its rooms, which are big and clean and - at least in my case - have a commanding view of the lake. Given a choice, I'd go for a third or fourth floor: the higher you go the better the view;
- Its other features, like the excellent restaurant, the swimming pool, the Spa (best sport massage of my life!), the Jacuzzi and the (albeit small) gym;
- Its price: in my opinion paying €170 or less a day for this hotel (including breakfast) is well worth the price: although most of the other structures in Bellagio are cheaper, they do not offer as much.
Was the hotel perfect according to my own personal standards? Well, almost, although there were a couple of things that I find worth mentioning:
- The strange lack of a face towel rack in the bathroom (the towel was neatly folded on a stool, but I do prefer a rack);
- The lack of Wi-Fi on the floors above the first one and the fact that Internet connection was not free - something I personally do not find acceptable in this time and age (but I can live with for a limited time).
What more can I say? After learning that around Lake Como there are wonderful hiking opportunities, I decided that I will be back - for a longer period - not just to enjoy the beauty of the place but also the hospitality of the Belvedere.

Room Tip: Obviously with a lake view - possibly on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gersenkirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just Having returned from a week's holiday to the hotel Belvedere we had a fantastic time the staff were excellent and catered to our every need.
The hotel was spotless and very relaxing.

Our bedroom was big and very bright with two balconys in our room could not of asked for anything else.On our last night the owner of the hotel came to talk to us with her daughter which i thought was a lovely touch so friendly.

I would also like to make special mention to Roberto, Marco and Valentina who do a fantastic job and customer service was excellant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YVONNE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The location of the Hotel is probably the best in Bellagio, very close to downtown Bellagio but at the same time on the other side of the crowded parts. It is in fact facing west in a a nice little bay, above the lovely little town of Pescallo.
The Hotel staff is very professional, we had a wonderful conversation with this italian lady called Francesca, she was probably the person in charge of staff and guest relations because her cordiality was way beyond what I usually see. She also gave us good advice on places to visit and good restaurants.
Tiziana, the owner is a lovely lady, if you get a chance to speak to her she will give you a detailed history of the hotel. The view and the cleanliness are the definitely the pluses, especially considering that is "only a 3 star hotel".
I really recommend this hotel for any kind of crowd.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loripianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
774 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
943 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Green Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £168 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing