We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Heavenly Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Heavenly Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We've just returned from our Honeymoon to Bellagio. We stayed at the Belvedere, having preferred it to other Lake Como hotels because of its facilities and the reviews, which seemed to suggest excellent quality and a peaceful location.

We were not wrong. It's a lovely, very well run hotel with well appointed rooms, a good restaurant and pleasant staff.

The rooms are fairly spacious, nicely finished and have large bathrooms / shower rooms. Our room had a balcony and a side view of the lake. The beds are comfortable and the linen and towels are of a good quality.

We stayed half board and the meals were invariably excellent and substantial (3 courses). It's not clear in the brochures but the hotel will allow you to swap a dinner for a lunch, allowing you to take in the evening delights of Bellagio without losing out on your half-board allowance. Breakfast is plentiful and the waiting staff are excellent.

The sun terraces, pool and infinity jacuzzi are more than adequate and the gym and spa are compact but a real treat - the kind of facilities you'd expect in a business hotel, not a holiday destination. We didn't have any treatments, but we suspect they too would be good value. There is even a reasonably well stocked library if you run out of other things to do!

I've read some gripes on TripAdvisor about inflexibility at reception, but we didn't experience anything like that. It's true that they don't provide free WiFi (it's actually quite expensive) but this is the same throughout the local area, as far as we could establish - the Internet Cafe in Bellagio was actually more expensive.

With regard to the suggestions it's a steep and difficult walk up to the hotel (and that you need to carry your own bags from the ferry port...!), again, we didn't find this. We were dropped at the hotel door by our coach on arrival and collected on departure. There is a steep-ish walk from the port, but there is also a route which has a moderate and gentle incline - one couple we met whilst there were over 80 and made the walk every day.

Overall, Belvedere is a beautiful hotel, well suited to couples looking for a break in an area of spectacular natural beauty but with all mod cons.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaynorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    295
    58
    19
    13
See reviews for
227
750
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was my 3rd visit to the Hotel and it has improved every time. The latest ground floor improvements give it a modern edge, but it is the staff that make this hotel for me. They are lovely people, always so welcoming and friendly. The Hotel is situated a short walk from the centre of Bellagio on a hill that affords it sensational views across the lake, none better than from the Terrace restaurant, where I would recommend the lake fish with rice. It is a local speciality and is also worth trying at Trattoria San Giacomo, where chef Aurelio excels. Another notable trip that the hotel recommended was to Isola di Comacina (http://www.comacina.it/isola.html) that is an island restaurant steeped in history and a 45 minute boat journey worth making.

Room Tip: We use room 202 which is along the length of the property and sleeps a family of 4 and has 4 balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

You had our second visit to this hotel for one week last month and this place doesn't dissapoint. Cheerful and friendly service, good food/breakfat and nice rooms overlooking the lake. Only problem was mosquitos but one can hardly blame the hotel for that! We'll be back.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fadi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

It is a short walk into village. The hotel has a beautiful vista. Loved being there

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SarobAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just returned from 7days of sunshine in Bellagio. The Belvedere hotel is about 10 mins stroll from the lakeside and as such the hotel and pool are more secluded than the hotels next to the lake. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room, a standard, was comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but adequate for our needs. The room was cleaned well every day. Food at the restaurant was very good. We were there on a half-board basis and were very happy with all the meals that we had. The choice was good and the food was well cooked and presented. The service was prompt. Facilities were good, plenty of sun beds, towels, etc. The pool was lovely and the views from the pool and gardens were stunning. This is the first holiday that we have had where we would both go back to the same resort and hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 508 as it is next to the laundry. East facing rooms have the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itguitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Florence for 3 nights and then, because they couldn't accomodate us for the last two nights we moves to the Hotel Belvedere. Once we recovered from the shock of the difference in price we had a last relaxing time.
It's lovely to be a little bit removed from the town center but close enough to walk down for a meal or a drink.it is an easy 10 min walk so no car is necessary. The restaurant for dinner was very nice with a good wine menu too. The pool is the big plus! We spent two very relaxing afternoons by the pool with an amazing view of the lake and mountains.
The room was very comfortable! The bed was amazing , so comfortable and the room was very quiet.
One negative was no free Wifi which I felt was not acceptable given it was the most expensive hotel on our trip to Italy and the only one with no free Wifi

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Thanks to the other TA reviews, my husband and I decided to stay at HB as are first leg of our Italian journey in mid-May. After the 24 hours of travel (and taxis, planes, buses, trains, ferries, etc.), we were very excited to arrive at the hotel. Unfortunately I wrote down the fax number and not the phone number when we arrived from the ferry which meant that we ended up walking up and around the hill with our luggage instead of taking the shuttle. As you can imagine we were not a pretty sight when we arrived :) We were quickly taken to our room (after many apologies of not using the shuttle) and WOW...what a view! I believe we were in room 513 and the views of the lake were amazing (which washed away the sweat and exhaustion getting there). The room itself was nice and spacious and we loved the balcony (although it is shared). The bathroom is on the small side and the shower is awkward since it's a wand and doesn't go very high. Also, the hairdryer is pretty bad (this was the worst one our trip...did the job eventually). Since it was our anniversary, the hotel sent us a bottle of Prosecco which we enjoyed on the balcony- thanks HB!. The location is fantastic since it's a short walk down the road and down several steps to the main center of Bellagio. It made for a nice walk home in the evenings after dinner. The breakfast was included and it was a nice spread of meats, cheeses, fruit, eggs, pastries, etc. Overall the service was great but they do have funny policies (ex. have to leave a 30 Euro deposit to use the safe....not sure why). We would definitely return to this hotel again and would recommend it to others. Thanks to the HB staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a lake view and balcony...worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Property: Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing