We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swindon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A beautiful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a week at the end of May at the Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio, Lake Como. On arrival we were quickly checked into our room which was in a great location (room 501) which had an outdoor patio area which we preferred to having a balcony room. This allowed us to lay out on the sun lounger on the grass in front of our room and move around freely and still have a great view looking across the lakes and mountains, it really was a stunning view!

Our room was fine and maintained well and kept very clean by the staff throughout the week.

Breakfast was good, plenty of options, buffet style, cooked, lots of fruit, cereals, pastries, juices etc.

With regards the evening meals, I must admit I'm a bit fussy and awkward with what I eat so we ate in the restaurant 4 nights and ate out 3 nights just purely down to there not being anything I fancied on the menu the nights we ate out. That's not to say the food wasn't of good quality because every night we did eat there it was good quality. The service from the staff was also very well organised and ran like clockwork and again the room, cutlery, and surroundings was spotless.

I always require access to a gym and Wifi when I am away. The gym was just about adequate, it had two bikes, one treadmill and a weight machine but no free weights. Luckily hardly anyone else used the room so I was able to get on with what I wanted to do. If a cross trainer and some free weights were added that would make it better but again it was kept very clean throughout our stay. The wifi on the first day was very poor, it hardly worked to start with, the staff tried a few things but it was poor. The next few days it was good then again on the last day the signal seemed to drop out frequently so maybe they need to look at that.

There was always someone readily available on reception if you needed to ask anything and they were also always very pleasant which was nice and on the day we checked out we were given some free bottles of water for our journey which was a nice touch (also had a free refreshing juice drink on arrival I forgot to mention).

The hotel was situated just a 5 minute walk from the town centre and the ferry ports. This meant it was in a nice quiet setting just far enough away to avoid any noise but close enough to walk to the centre easily enough. Also we found a small alleyway by the side of the hotel which went all the way down to the waters edge and we sat on a bench next to La Pergola restaurant/hotel which was lovely (very tranquil, no noise, just the sound of the water lapping up against the wall, the birds singing and the sun shining nice and warm down on us).

Overall we were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Belvedere, especially for a three star hotel, I think their standards are high and we would recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevehale41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    295
    58
    19
    13
See reviews for
228
751
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Belvedere for 3 nights with our 22 month old and almost 4 year old children. We would recommend the Belvedere for your families for both the hotel and its amenities as well as its location. Key points were as follows:

- We stayed in the top floor apartment (373). The setup is a lounge (2 single beds) with adjoining kitchen (microwave, stove, kettle etc) and small dining table. Bedroom is separated by a door and has a double bed and ensuite. Bathroom is very small, but just big enough to handle two kids in the bath. TV is located in the lounge room. The setup is exactly what we look for with the kids. Be aware there is no elevator so you will be hiking up 3 flights of stairs (there are apartments on the first floor, but second floor is private).

- Food was good standard, without being amazing. We didn't try too many other places in Bellagio but from the look of it the Belvedere was probably as good as anywhere else. Catered well for the kids, with room service (only started at 7pm), small kids menu, and high chairs. Breakfast was good by European standards.

- As mentioned elsewhere, the service was excellent. Genuinely friendly and always trying to help out. Very accommodating to the kids.

- One reason we chose the Belvedere was because it had a pool and some grass for the kids to run around. There isn't too much space to run around but we couldn't find any other hotels with spacious grass areas.

- Location is a 5 minute walk into town and 10 minute uphill walk back. We didn't end up spending much time in Bellagio centre anyway as it was busy and hilly - not much fun for the kids. It was nice to be away from the crowds and areas that could get noisy at night. Bellagio is easy ferry access to the rest of the lake (we didn't have a car).

A very good choice for a young family. Some little things leave it short of 5 rating (eg. no transfer service into town, no lift in apartment, no specialised kids play area, no cleaning in the apartment).

Room Tip: 373 apartment has great views but be aware there is no lift (3rd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice rooms with a fantastic view over the lake. Friendly and very helpful staff. Nice, quiet environment, yet very short walk to the beautiful small town of Bellagio.
Lovely spa-area with swimmingpool (+27C) , outdoor jacuzzi, nordic- and steam-sauna and relax.
The welcome drink upon arrival and the complementary bottle of water upon chek-out was very much appreciated.
All-in-all a perfect stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rutig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are so many things I love about this hotel. Breathtaking views; impressive reception service- so many smiles and so helpful; great breakfast for Italy; we were offered a welcome drink on arrival and were given complimentary bottle of water on check out- that was such a lovely gesture. This hotel got so much potential! There were a few things that let it down. It didn't feel as clean but no big faults, perhaps just some rustic appearance; one evening I ended up having a fairly cool shower as there was no hot water. Once tried a restaurant and we were disappointed by the flavours and the lack of technique (unfortunately risotto wasn't good at all); But- the truth is that there are no 4star hotels in Bellagio otherwise we would have stayed there. This hotel is quite central with fabulous views and cosy atmosphere and some really lovely staff (one of the best reception staff!!!!). Perhaps a bit overpriced. But, who knows, I might be tempted to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eglutik35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I loved the hotel ... the staff and location are awesome! When we arrived, we were greeted by a very welcoming staff who acknowledged our 25th anniversary and thanked us for choosing their hotel. Once in our room, we were treated to a bottle of Prosecco, fresh flowers, and a variety of cookies. The lake view from our room was awesome...beautiful to wake up to! Saw a swan swim from across the lake every morning! There was a short walk to the center city; so glad for the quiet at our location and happy to walk to the activity. Will definitely stay there again...and hope to visit Bellagio again!!

Room Tip: Balcony would be best...view is awesome from any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent in every way. Breathtaking views of Lake Como atop the ridge that is the peninsula. Hotel rooms face the quiet leg of the lake, away from ferry noise and city sounds. Terrific sauna, steam room, huge infinity jacuzzi, haute cuisine specializing in local fish. Great and growing wine cellar. Stellar service at desk, bar, restaurant, spa, pool, massage.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob92103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent a week in this beautiful hotel in a beautiful town. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the dining room was a perfect way to start each day in such a magical setting. The views from our room and patio were absolutely stunning. Hotel is about a ten minute walk to shopping and restaurants, but it's in a quiet area, away from the main tourist areas of town. Some of the rooms in the main hotel seem a bit "worn", such as creaking hardwood floor or leaky tub, but they have a lovely old world charm and feel. The newer rooms, in the section not in the main hotel, are more updated, light and airy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly room 513, which is in the newer, non-main hotel section.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LScilingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Property: Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Green Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing