We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else. Let me tell you why.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else. Let me tell you why.....”
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I researched for weeks before this trip and finally decided upon this hotel. The Hotel Belvedere exceeded my expectations.
I couldn't afford a lakeview room but given the price, my room was a great value. I had a very large room and huge bathroom. The place was spotless, like it was brand new. Hardwood floors, ceiling fan, ample storage space. My view was of the villa across the street and mountains to the west. There's so much in the way of patio's, pool space and solarium terrace that a view from my room was an unnecessary expense.
The hotel is just up the hill from the edge of town, a 5 minute walk which I grew to enjoy. The location is quiet, no street noise and no hordes of tourists to manuever around. The only cinema in town is next door with only one movie and then only on the weekends. But we got to see "The Reader" in English there one night.
The staff is excellent. They cater to English tourists and are well-versed in the area's activities. They are eager to provide you with maps, information and anything you need. Except for an iron. Unbeknownst to me, most European hotels don't allow ironing in the rooms. Don't pack linen or buy a cheap iron (9 euros) at the Carrefour and smuggle it in. Otherwise you are at the mercy of their laundry which takes a long time and is pricey. But most have a heated towel rack to dry your clothes if you need to handwash them. Laudromats are few and far between in many remote towns.
The hotel doesn't turn on their air conditioning until June. It was a little stuffy and you can't leave the windows open at night due to the mosquitos. But they had a good ceiling fan and being in the foothills and near a lake, it wasn't too hot. The mornings were actually cold but the pool is heated and there's a hot tub that offers the most stunning views from it. There's a spa that offers pricey but good services. I had a massage after enjoying the sauna and steam room. Nice clean, modern spa facilities. The pool alone is worth staying here.
The breakfast service was wonderful. The staff is very attentive and the food selection was well above most. The dining room offers great views of the lake and is a wonderful place to enjoy any meal. The small bar was well stocked and the bartender amiable, mixing potent European cocktails. It's open late as most of the Bellagio is not.
I toured several of the other hotels and enjoyed their restaurants and spas. But for the money and amenities, you can't beat this hotel. It reminds me of an exclusive European resort. Safe travels.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    300
    60
    19
    13
See reviews for
237
786
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Belvedere last year, and everyone from age 18 months to age 63 had a fabulous time, including our 27 to 42 year old children and their spouses. The hotel is in a breathtakingly beautiful setting. While it has all the ammenities of a modern hotel it has the charm and traditions only a family-run hotel which has been in existence for many years can have. The staff is sincerely warm and friendly and very knowledgeable. They have arranged private boat tours to nearby villas, as well as vigorous hikes. We instantly relax when we arrive, and enjoy the pampering. The food and wine are wonderful, and healthy, and we find taking two meals a day at the hotel to be much less expensive and relaxing than having to find a different restaurant every night. We love the exercise the short walk into town gives us, and the quiet location of the hotel. Automobiles are only allowed on 2 streets in Bellagio, and the other streets are cobblestone stairways. It is wonderful for walking. The shops have beautiful clothes, silk, jewelry, toys and artwork which are made locally. The Italian sense of style is everywhere. We can sit by the pool and relax, and go to the spa, or we can go to town, walk through the beautiful gardens of Villa Melzi, walk to the nearby fishing village, or get on a boat or a bicycle and visit a different town whenever we feel ambitious. I think this will always be our favorite vacation destination.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I have just come back from Bellagio and I can honestly say it is the best place I have ever visited - absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend the Hotel Belvedere. The location was perfect and the views were amazing. The staff were more than helpful throughout our visit. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and had a wonderful meal. We also very much enjoyed a few too many drinks on their terrace admiring the amazing views. We have recommended this hotel to our parents in October and we will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linzjmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

This is a great place to stay in Bellagio. It's off the main street where most of the hotels are, but is just a very short and lovely walk into the center of town. It's also much quieter than the other hotels. The staff is great, very friendly and helpful. I have a mobility challenge, and they were so kind and wanted to make sure I was always comfortable. The view from our room was AMAZING. The room itself was a bit small, but we booked a bit late and were lucky to get a room with such a view, which is far more important to us. We really loved this place and will definitely return. The hotel and staff really helped to make our trip to Lake Como very special.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We stopped at the Belvedere originally in 1978 because it was the only Bellagio hotel with parking that was within our budget and was listed in the Michelin guide. However, we were completely captivated by the views, the staff, the food, and the general ambiance. In over forty years of touring holidays in France and Italy during which we stayed in well over 100 hotels, the Belvedere is the one to which we return again and again. The standards have never deteriorated but have increased steadily over the years thanks to a dedicated staff and to careful owner management. We recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherlockHolmes_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

The Belvedere is a lovely find, clean and reasonable, even in the busy season. There is a good restaurant, large pool, and views on all sides of Bellagio as it sits near the top of the town (hence, the name, Belvedere!). The one deficit that our room had was that it was not air conditioned (sometimes hard to find!) and although there was nearly always a breeze, some late afternoons would find the room too warm, even with a ceiling fan running continuously. The staff was courteous and always helpful.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HalfLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
314 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

The information office told us that the Belvedere is the second best hotel in Bellagio, after the Hotel Serbelloni, which has rooms at 1000 euros per night in the high season. It's located a short walk out of town - perhaps 10 minutes. This means that it is quiet as well as having superb views.

The staff at the Belvedere are a delight. Happy, friendly and helpful. Our room was large, comfortable and well supplied with coat hangers and bathroom freebies. The restaurant has a superb view overlooking the Lecco branch of the lake. Below is the charming village of Pescallo. The food is good and plentiful, and nothing is too much trouble for the waiting staff. There is a well-stocked bowl of apples in the lounge, and on Easter Sunday, chocolate eggs at breakfast.

Just two things to be aware of. Room 103 is on the road side of the hotel, and the light from the hotel sign leaks into the room at night. Also, I was surprised at the phone charges. 1.20 euros for a short local call, and 3 euros for 2 short local call s made by the receptionist on my behalf. Small things in an otherwise perfect stay. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
722 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Property: Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Green Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing