We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Italian holiday”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Our Italian holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Silvio's and had a wonderful time. Silvia and Sabrina were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Our room overlooked the lake which is spectacular. The hotel has a car which can drop you off in town and pick you up or you can walk through the lovely gardens for a small fee. The room was very neat and breakfast in the restaurant was great. We also ate in the restaurant and had a beautiful meal. I would stay again if we ever get the opportunity again.
Lyn & Troy Australia

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    173
    69
    27
    19
See reviews for
84
370
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, but small. Breakfast was ok, but most was gone when we came down, even though it was within the opening hours. Coffee was cold and a waiter tried to convince us it was warm!!! The dinner in the restaurant was very good and the waiters more welcoming. The receptionists are very service minded. The distance to Bellagio is relatively short, but you will have to walk on a very dangerous road.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EvaLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just stayed for three nights at Silvio. We had a side view room of the lake and the surrounding countryside. Room 6 was good by Italian standards, very clean and attractively decorated with a modern bathroom suite. We ate only once in the restaurant at lunch and it was excellent. All the hotel staff were really good and very helpful. Although the hotel is some way outside bellagio centre, 15 mins walk, we thought that this wasn't a problem. Another advantage of the hotel was the free access and sunbeds at the lido, we thought this was a good extra as the lido was really nice and well worth a visit. We recommend the hotel it is small only 21 rooms and an excellent restaurant. The only negative was the breakfast was disappointing with not much on offer and really didn't match up to the rest of the stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tortoise01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had a loft room with a window overlooking Lake Como. The furniture and feel of the room was very bright and cosy. Very clean and with helpful staff. It is located just outside of the Bellagio center, not too far to walk, and we preferred this to staying closer to town. Their restaurant, with a nice terrace, is supposed to be excellent but we never had a chance to experience it, unfortunately. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hotel Silvio is about an hour and a half drive from Milan Bergamo airport via Lecco. It is actually quite easy to find as it sits about a 15 minute walk out of central Bellagio and also benefits from car parking, although this got noticably busier around lunch and dinner.

The reception staff were superb and had an excellent understanding of English (and my terrible Italian) and provided advice in terms of directions, a walking map of Bellagio and also booked a table at a nearby restaurant for us. The trip was for my wife's Birthday and a friend had wanted to contact the hotel to get a bottle of champagne put in the room... of course, this was no trouble at all either.

The first thing I would say about the hotel is that I believe it may be in the process of being refurbished. The communal areas looked nice and the walls were adorned with some excellent black and white pictures of the family and local area. Our room (room 11) hadn't undergone any updating although we did see other rooms which had whilst they were being cleaned and they appeared to look quite simple, clean and modern.

The room was quite small with little space and dated furniture which was mirrored in the bathroom. However, we did have a balcony which had an exceptional view of Lake Como. Having been to Italy before however, we appreciated that what we had in terms of price, size and quality was in fact reasonable value compared to experiences in Amalfi, Ravello and Cinque Terre.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on one occasion which provoked mixed emotions. The restaurant gets very busy with a mixture of tourists and locals and at the time we arrived, an extremeley large party of toursits was having its order being taken and I have no doubt contributed to the delay in providing us with menus and taking our drink order.

The food was nice although we weren't overwhelmed by it (and trust me, you really can get overwhelmed by the excellence of food in Italy). The fact that the restaurant and hotel were functioning at all despite the family's very recent loss is a credit to all of those involved.

The 2hr walking map we were given took us around Bellagio and was very nice and would recommend it to visitors. There is a mini-market 5 minutes walk away and we were also recommended to visit the gardens of Villa Melzi which were situated again 5 minutes away. The cost of entry was 6 Euros each for a day pass or 9 Euros each for 3 days. They aren't big but proved to be a really nice and relaxing walk into Bellagio rather than using the main road. Down the same steps from the hotel car park which you would go to the garden there is possibly one of the nicest little restaurants we have ever been to... you must go to Ristorante alle Darsene di Loppia. At night, the veranda has a great atmosphere, very small and intimate. The service is amazing and the food exceptional... the beef tartar, truffle and burata still makes me smile... the veal, the courgette flowers, the prosecco, the sea bass... it was all amazing!

Bellagio isn't a place to go and sit in your room, so the fact our room was not the most amazing didn't bother us. The service of the staff and the views were brilliant. Enjoying a freshly made orange juice (the provision of a bowl of oranges on your breakfast table to make your own juice was a nice touch) and capuccino overlooking Lake Como reminds you why you are there. Bellagio itself gets busy in the day particularly; this may be because of the daytrippers or because of the time of year we were there. Ferries are often and I would suggest getting the 15 Euro ticket that allows you to take ferries to and from all of the towns in the central area.

Go to Bellagio for a few days; if you do I would have no problem recommending Hotel Silvio. Just have in mind how much Italian hotels cost and what you get for it before making criticism I would say.

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the Lake... it really is worth it. Also ask for a refurbished room if avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thoughtfulphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a fantastic Hotel and I would recommend them. They have a great chef and their menu is delightful, using ingredients sourced locally. Their location is about a kilometer south of Bellagio town center, past their very own Lido Beach Club at the entrance to the Gardens of Melzi. The staff at Hotel Silvio are delightful, particularly the front office staff! Extremely helpful and you can tell that they love their job. Again, the dining experience is romantic and the cuisine is splendid. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. The rooms, though compact, are well appointed and it is worth the extra little bit to have a room with a view of Lake Como. These guys are really sweet and helpful, even leaving the front desk to rush me and my Lady to meet the Hydrofoil to Como with a real concern for our comfort and travel plans. The most splendid breakfast, and if your wondering as I did, what a bowl of oranges are doing on your table, that is for you to drop into the machine that produces freshly squeezed orange juice. All in all, this is a great place to stay and we came away with many great memories and look forward to visiting them again next Spring. Oh, I did not mention the Lido Beach Club which is part of Hotel Silvio and had free entry for guests and a great place to hang out. The Hotel Silvio, I could have stayed there till they close in November! Thanks Guys, see you next year. Sandra and Carey, Australia.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is the way to go, however these rooms are on the side of the building and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in a room with a lake view, well worth the extra. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. We particularly enjoyed all of our meals - both breakfast and evening. It was easy to get to from the airport in Milan, train to Varenna from Milan Central, then the boat to Bellagio. The hotel would have picked us up from the boat, had we realised!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliJP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Property: Hotel Silvio
Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing