We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Magical Wedding @ Hotel Silvio & Lido Beach Club”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2012

For the last year and a half, my wife and I have been corresponding with Elena at Hotel Silvio every other week to finalize every detail of our wedding. There was no need to hire a wedding planner because Elena, Sylvia and the entire front desk helped us with everything!!!! We had never been to Como before and they calmed all our worries with their diligent details leading up to our special day. They had a back up plan for everything! When the lake was too rough to take a private boat to Varenna they shuttled our entire group of 20 to the ferry! We thought our photographer might not show up and Elena had a back up for that (little did we know out photographer was Allesandro was amazing and showed up 2 hours earlier than expected). They arranged transportation for our guests to and from the airport along with giving us pointers and recommendations for the entire lake. The wedding went off without a hitch due solely because of Silvio's staff. Christian, the owner of the Lido and Silvio is awesome and very welcoming!!! It was fun watching him catch fish that we would later eat for lunch! He even used his personal car to shuttle our guests into town and back to the hotel when we encountered a little rain in town. Christian made sure the Lido was prepared for our wedding and we couldn’t have don’t it without him and Elena. Everyone at the Lido Beach Club (Which is accessible for free for all Silvio guests) is awesome and it's the only late night bar/disco in all of Como. Locals from miles away visit the Lido Beach Club and it is the liveliest place at night north of Milan. It’s also pretty cool that Mussolini originally built the Lido and Silvio refurbished it two years ago. It’s quite an amzing view, but what do you expect from Mussolini’s former private beach club! Hotel Silvio's view of Lake Como is the prettiest sight my eyes have ever seen, and we have travelled extensively. The accommodations are beautiful with bathrooms as large as the best hotels in the US. The food and service at the restaurant was amazing. Our guests were blown away by the food, view, service, and accommodations from Hotel Silvio & Lido Beach Club. We planned on travelling back on our five year anniversary but we know we can't wait that long. See you soon Hotel Silvio and much love to all of the staff at Silvio who helped make our magical day a beautifully stunning reality!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLworldtraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

I visited Hotel Sylvio and was blown away by the lovely rooms, gorgeous views and setting, incredible restaurant, helpful and friendly staff, and overall experience. The rooms are very clean, modern, and newly refurbished - if you have a room with a balcony, you'll be tempted to never leave. The restaurant, specializing in the fresh catch of the day from the Lake, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is a hotel shuttle available for the short trip from the hotel to the town's center. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The staff were amazing! One gave us a lift to the center of Bellagio (10min walk) when it was raining and lent us an umbrella. One called and booked our travel to the airport. Because we had to check out very early, they left us a bag of fruits, bread, & yogurt to take with us for breakfast! They were just very helpful all around, even though they were very busy with 2 weddings that weekend! We requested and paid extra for a Superior Room with Lake View and it was worth it!!!! The view was absolutely perfect (a table, two chairs, and a lounger)! The room was cleaned every morning, tea/coffee/water replaced. The room is typical European size, pretty small, but that doesn't bother us. The location was great, very quiet near the hotel. It's a 7-10 min walk to the center of Bellagio. We walked through the Villa Mezii Gardens to get to town & back, a very enjoyable walk. The only problem is the gardens close at 6:30. The breakfast is good, nothing fancy. Croissants, bread, cake (delicious cake!!), eggs to boil, jams, honey, nutella!, deli-style meats & cheeses, tea/coffee, and the kicker: a bowl of oranges to make fresh orange juice in their juicer!

The restaurant, WOW. I need a separate review for this place! It was perfection. The service is 100% on point. The food is simple yet refined. The chef takes care in his cooking, it is evident. It has a fine dining style menu and atmosphere but the prices are reasonable. Ex: Filet mignon with potatoes & zucchini (about 7 oz steak) is 18€. They could totally charge more for the quality! We ate there on 4 times in 3 days, every time it was perfect. Overall, the hotel was GREAT!

The only bad thing I can say is not the fault of the hotel. There was a group of Americans staying on the same floor as us for a wedding. They were absolutely beyond obnoxious! LOUD during the day with no regard to their surroundings. Then, the night of the wedding a group of them came to the hotel at 4 AM yelling and cursing at each other. Two of them had gotten in a fight and they were all totally drunk, yelling back and forth in the hallway. It was unbelievable, it went on for about 30 mins. We could hear everything, loud and clear. As Americans, my husband and I were embarrassed. We felt sorry for the owners/staff because all of their other guests had to endure this and complained to them about it. They were, of course, very apologetic. It was their first experience with a group like this. (Leave it to the Americans!)

Room Tip: Room 14. It's extra because of the lake view but totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel was our first stop on a trip to Lake Como and what a good choice it was. It is located 10mins walk outside of the heart of the lovely town Bellagio. The hotel is very smart, rooms clean and lake view rooms have a lovely balcony with chairs and a sun lounger and amazing view of the lake. The hotel offer a free shuttle into the town or you can walk but the walk back is all uphill. There is a 'Lido' 5mins from the hotel where you can swim, sunbath, eat and drink.

The restaurant in the hotel is lovely, hugely recommend eating there, I would book as it gets very busy.

Every member of staff was extremely friendly and helpfull, would 100% return.

Room Tip: If you haven't booked a lake view ask if you can pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The most positive thing in "silvio" hotel is the staff.
Incredibly helpfull reception, always smiling, very good english, i was amazed about all of them.
The same about the breakfast's staff, they were all quite helpfull.
Shuttle service to Belaggio center

the rooms were new, nice bathrooms, plenty of towels and very clean, the have toothpaste, shaving equipment, nice soaps. 10/10

i didnt like the fact you couldnt open a window, as they were locked

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed here for one night on a tour of Italy, and I wish I could have stayed longer! Incredibly kind and helpful staff, a really excellent restaurant, and lovely rooms. We paid a little extra to have a lake view and it was so worth it. The staff is so friendly and there is a shuttle service that goes to downtown Bellagio. Amazing views of the lake, and close to some nice gardens and a public beach. I wish I could go back! My only warning is that if you eat outside at the restaurant, you will have to deal with lots of little gnats, but that is the only problem we had.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony! Lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a short stay at Lake Como and I cant stop smiling! It was our first trip away without the children in 17 years and we couldn't have chosen better.Firstly, we got cheap flights into Bergamo and spent a fabulous 24 hours soaking up everything Italian in the Old City and then we used the very efficient public transport up to Bellagio and to the lovely Albergo Silvio... the guy who said it had no wow factor cant have stayed in a room on the front with a lake view as that was the best wow factor I've ever seen! The staff were fab especially the lovely ladies on reception and were happy to make phone calls or run us into town when we were too weary to walk or carry cases.The hotel is 3 star but feels really special owing to its fantastic location, lovely fish restaraurant and such friendly and efficient staff.... can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Side rooms are very pleasant but you must spend a little more and get that fantastic lake view at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £75 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing