We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money in an idyllic setting”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Positives - overall a positive stay with a few quibbles. The rooms are clean and the balcony is a nice touch. Definitely recommend walking through the gardens to the town centre: very beautiful.

Negatives - we may just have been unlucky but the service at the restaurant was incredibly slow so much so we felt we were being ignored. Additionally on our last day we had to leave early to drive to the airport. We went down for breakfast at 7.45 but were told it wasnt ready despite breakfast being advertised from 7.30.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariposa899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

It may not be in the harbour and core of the Bellagio, but it is walking distance and the bit off the busy track is a really good thing here. Very warm welcome and very helpful. Once we found it by walking from the ferry port, they advised us that we should have called them for a complimentary pick-up - did not know this - perhaps something they can let their guests know ahead of time. We did however take them up on their offer to return us.

I spent a lot time studying where on Lake Como to go and then which place to stay - I have to stay that I hit the nail on the head both times. Lake Como and Bellagio is absolutely stunning, one of the most picturesque place on earth - bar none.

The staff was very helpful in giving us ideas and what to do - all very good. The room was a bit on the small side, but extremely clean and the view (you must get a lake view) was stunning - small veranda to sit, drink wine and gaze. They even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. BTW, they also make their own ginger beer - which was very nice. The restaurant for dinner was fantastic. Hubby enjoyed the best fish he ever had and you must (absolutely must) try their wild boar pasta - OMG so so good. And the restaurant has a lovely view of the lake to boot!

Hands down, if I return there - and I would love to - I'll be reserving this place.

Room Tip: Highest room you can get - and you MUST take a lakeview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjdh-y64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early fall. We had 2 rooms. Our first stop in Italy, 1.5 hr drive from Malpensa airport. This was the most perilous drive of our trip thru northern Italy! Driving is intense! Cars are going both directions with stone walls along the edges of the roadway and mere inches of space on each side.

The hotel is a few minutes drive from the shopping area in Bellagio but there are no sidewalks on the road between the hotel and the town so it is not safe to walk. The hotel offers a shuttle service to get to/from town and we used this several times. You simply call for a ride back. Or there is parking in town.

The hotel is a gem. The property overlooks Lake Como, which is down one flight of stone stairs. Silvia is very helpful and kind and we felt very welcome. Dinner was very good, upscale. The breakfast buffet was lovely with yummy cappuccino, fresh croissants, a little machine to make soft boiled eggs, all sorts of good treats. The rooms are small and extremely clean. The shower was very small. Our kids were treated kindly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon. We had a top floor room facing the lake. The views from the spacious balcony were awesome. The breakfast was delicious -- grab a couple oranges from the bowl on your table and toss them into the juicer for some of the best o.j. you'll ever have, and enjoy some really fresh, tasty food! And the staff were super helpful -- driving us back and forth from the hotel to the center of town and providing recommendations on where to eat and visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaMMStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This small hotel has a beautiful view of Lake Como. The room, although, small, had everything we needed, including coffee and tea, and was impeccably clean. Complimentary rides to and from town made the location fine. A walk to town through beautiful gardens is a great alternative. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, esp. the machine for fresh orange juice, Tables have bowls of oranges, which you put in a machine, which makes the juice from them. The staff was helpful with planning our days. The restaurant is top quality and good value. We recommend the perch and rice. The fish is caught by the owner. Couldn't be better. There is a Migros supermarket a 10-minute walk away if you want to buy fruits, veggies, etc. It is nice to shop with the locals.

Room Tip: We had a side balcony with an OK view, but there may be rooms with better views, so I would ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in an absolutely beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Even though it was little out of town the walk to town through the beautiful gardens by the lake was worth it. The breakfast was great and the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Silvia is amazing and an absolute asset to Hotel Silvio, nothing is too much trouble for her, she honestly can't do enough for you. We really wished we could have stayed here longer. Thanks Silvia.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank RickG1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay here very much welcome on arrival was good and room was perfect only little gripe was the lake view from the balcony wasn't great. Had dinner in the restaurant on first night wich was good and reasonably priced. Second night Sylvia the receptionist drove us into town and gave us priceless recommendations for good restaurants you can't beat local knowledge and we very much enjoyed our evening thanks a million. Good to get service like this at the end of a busy season. Enjoy your holiday ! And thanks again Sylvia.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £75 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing