We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view ever”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best view ever”
Reviewed 28 June 2008

The Hotel Silvio has simple yet clean rooms. The best part was the view. It is definately worth paying the 25 euros extra to get a view room with a balcony. Waking up to the magnificent lake view was worth giving up some room luxury. The balcony was large enough for a lounge, 2 chairs, a small table and still had room to walk around. The restaurant was o.k. It was expensive and the pasta was very al dente to the point of being crunchy. The lemon parmesan risotto with perch was delicious. They have 1 menu per month so you may not want to eat all your meals at the hotel. The staff was friendly and spoke English well.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the beds
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandRCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    174
    69
    27
    19
See reviews for
84
371
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

A delightful little hotel on Lake Como. The room was quite small, but with a terrace that overlooked the lake. The property was all very clean and quiet, and such a bargain for Bellagio. It was also really nice to just walk downstairs for excellent fish. My only reservation is that it is really a hike from town. We had too much luggage and dragged it the uphill from town...only to be told at the front desk that they would have picked us up at the ferry terminal. If only we knew in advance! However, they did drive us back down to the ferry when we left which was a great help. Otherwise, I would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chompchompNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

For such a bargain of a hotel I must say, we expected less... what a pleasant surprise to find such a charming hotel with such gorgeous views across Lake Como!!

We drove from Zurich to Como and then on to beautiful Bellagio (a little tricky in parts but we made it in one piece!) with my husband's Mum for two nights at Hotel Silvio, and she had a single room underneath ours. Both rooms were tastefully furnished, had modern bathrooms, great airconditioning and boasted large balconies for the perfect sunset drinks - you would never get tired of that view, Lake Como is just stunning.

The hotel is located a short walk out of town, but if you don't mind a 15 minute stroll you'll love it. You also get to take in some of the lovely scenery on foot too. There is also the "silly bus" (as we called it) which I presume operates in peak season only, but it's a bunch of open-air carriages (with roofs) towed along by a motorised buggy at the front and you get on and get off wherever you want. It stops right outside Silvio. From memory it cost a few Euros each but on the way home from dinners it saved you from the uphill walk on the dark road. Given it's "out of town centre" location you get the best night's sleep - it's so very quiet and peaceful. We indulged in some drinks on the balcony after returning from dinner one night and it was just gorgeous. We ate at the Metropole on the second night and enjoyed a great meal right on the edge of the lake.

Breakfast was basic but there was plenty of it and we certainly didn't go hungry! For the price of the room I actually thought it was a huge bonus. The service was a little indifferent at times, but we're not easily offended so it didn't really bother us. For the most part the staff were friendly enough.

Value-for-money-wise this was the best hotel we could have chosen and we will most likely stay here again when we return to Bellagio in the future.

  • Liked — The views - just superb!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

My wife and I were in a rented car and just turned up at the door of the Silvio. Fortunately there was room for us. Stayed three nights and ate dinner with them on the first night. Excellent choice of fish from the lake aswell a variety of other meals. Good food and sensibly priced as was even the wine. There are also some bottles on the menu at silly prices.
Very friendly and caring staff, clean rooms with lovely views over the lake.
We would go back tomorrow

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank MotosportAprilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

I am just back from a 10 day trip to Italy. We started our trip in Tuscany and then went to Venice and finally to Bellagio on Lake Como. Hotel Silvio is excellent value for money. While it may not have the luxury of a 4 star it is in a great location and the views. The rooms are small but comfortable and the showers are fantastic. Also there is free wireless internet!! The best thing about the hotel is the restaurant and I would rate it as being one of the best I went to in Italy. The staff are very nice and very helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul_daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

were promised a room with a balcony but had one so small that you could only get one foot on it at a time and have sliding shutters! The staff are surly and unhelpful, we moved after 3 nights having booked for 7. A 25 min walk down a very, very busy road with no pavement. The rooms are tiny and the single beds are childrens beds, I am 5'9" and my feet were off the end, they are so narrow that you cannot curl up.

Would not recommend to anyone

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the attitude of the staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hillwalkerlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Just outside the tourist zone of Bellagio, Silvio is walking distance to the center of town (shops, restaurants & ferries). We arrived for a late check-in and were greeted warmly by the staff. Elena was delightful, warm and accommodating. We called when we landed in Milano and she made dinner reservations at the Silvio Restaurant for that evening. The meal was fantastic fresh fish seasoned to perfection, the wine was perfect and the twinkling lights were charming. The room was on the small side (double), but came with a lake view and a terrace and the modern bath was nice. Breakfast had the best Americano coffee during our 17 day trip in Italy. Will stay there again and will bring our two children next time. Benissimo Hotel Silvio…Grazie!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Moni_LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Property: Hotel Silvio
Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing