We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, quality and service.”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A wonderful hotel with spectacular views. A fabulously romantic spot in which we spent our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel is beautiful, the restaurant is excellent, and the staff are incredibly friendly. Made to feel so welcome by everyone, but Sabrina and Albert in particular. Loads to do, lovely walks into Bellagio through the Villa Melzi gardens. Easy access to all parts of the lake using the car ferry service from Bellagio. Would recommend without any hesitation, we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Having read some of the tripadvisor reviews, all we can say is that there are some very hard to please people around!
My girlfriend and I travelled from Manchester, UK for a friend's wedding in April 2014 and had such a good time that we're already talking about when to return. We arrived at Milan-Bergamo airport and took the train from Bergamo to Lecco, and then from Lecco to Varenna and then took the ferry across the lake to Bellagio (we'd really recommend this way of getting there - beautiful views from the train and a very easy journey to make - and cheap).
We called Hotel Silvio to come and collect us once we arrived in Bellagio and they were there within several minutes, and drove us the small distance up-hill to the hotel. What people are saying on here about the uphill walk is true, however we didn't view this as a problem and it is a small price to pay for a hotel with such an amazing view. The alternative was a walk through the Villa Melzi gardens to town, (although you have to pay) which is a fantastic experience and well worth the money. The hotel were also more than happy enough to collect us when we called and drop us off in the town when we asked so the location of the hotel was not a problem at all.
Regarding the hotel itself, we couldn't have been happier. We had a stunning lake view from our balcony, and the room was clean and exactly what you'd expect. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom and small wardrobe/cupboard which was fine for our requirements. The staff are helpful and friendly, answered all questions we had and are very knowledgeable of the local area.
Also, we recommend the restaurant 100%, and my girlfriend who also ate at the 5 star Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni says the food at Hotel Silvio was better! The fish dishes are amazing and I also had the Beef Fillet Steak which was beautiful. I also recommend the house beer which I sampled several bottles of!
Overall, we were really happy with Hotel Silvio and would recommend without hesitation. Thankyou for a fantastic stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristinaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We are an Italian-speaking american couple living on the French cote d'azur.. We made a credit card reservation at the Hotel Silvio because it was recommended in "Osteria & Locande d'Italia", a Slow Food guidebook.
We arrived on a weekday afternoon in October to be shown our reserved room with balcony and lake view. We were shocked to find that the bed was an ugly modern four poster with posts connected in the air that was sitting in the MIDDLE of a small, frigid room, which also contained small bulky closets. We did not like the room at all and the atmosphere of the whole place was cold and unfriendly. She said there was no other room available. We told her we did not want to stay, that we were leaving and that she was not to charge us. We walked into town with our suitcases, which took about 1/2 hour.
We are infuriated that Hotel Silvio has charged us 140 euros even though we never opened our suitcases! Avoid this hotel! There are several wonderful alternatives in Bellagio.

Room Tip: forget it, change hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank megalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvio96, Direttore at Hotel Silvio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for contributing with your review.
We are sorry our Hotel didn't meet your expectations about the room, especially regarding the decor and the bed, for which you although have plenty of pictures on our website. We don't refund deposits because our rooms (all clearly shown on our website) don't meet the taste of travelers once they are here, we do refund deposits according to our cancellation policy, in case of disservice or incongruity between what you booked and what you get. A brand new modern room with front full lake view is nothing mentioned above if you simply don't like it.
We are sorry we could not provide an alternative room, as all of them were busy already.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We began with a studio but were upgraded to a suite overlooking Lake Como. Fantastic.
we hiked around Bellagio and enjoyed the day. That night we dined at Silvio's Restaurant and watched the sun go down. They lit a big fire to take off the chill. A wonderful experience--quite unexpected for s small hotel.

Room Tip: A suite overlooking the lake. There aren't many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlacara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Arriving after a spectacular ferry trip, Bellagio is a village perfectly situated lakeside at the junction of all three legs of Lake Como, and the Hotel Silvio is the perfect place to stay. We had a well-appointed room with a private balcony overlooking the lake, where we enjoyed a spectacular sunset each day with a glass of red in hand. The restaurant was superb, starting with a welcoming Ciao and breakfast buffet each morning that was hard to beat. So much so that we found ourselves returning night after night to enjoy the evening's dazzling dining experience, and chef's recommendation. The village is an easy and picturesque walk lakeside, so it was great to leave the hassle of driving/parking behind and just enjoy all that Bellagio delivers: great local shopping, traditional italian coffee in the morning and Aperol Spritz & snacks in the afternoon at the many cafes and restaurants that line the shore. The staff at Hotel Silvio's were always friendly and helpful with any enquiry. What a spectacular introduction to the location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good food, good staff, great place to stay with a $$$$$ view of the Lake.Stayed for 3 nights, staff were very helpful and accommodating, food were all good for breakfast and other times. Just a little hot in the room since the fan broke and the aircon wasn't cool enough other wise it is a great place to stay. I plan to stay there again if I will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liza14338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were two couples staying in this apartment which is in a perfect location overlooking the lake and across from the ferry terminal. The large terrace area had a magnificent view and was a great place to relax at the end of the day. There were lots of restaurants and shops up the many lane-ways nearby. The apartment was a good size but was sparsely furnished and could do with a little more to make it comfortable. Although our handover was quite rushed, staff at the Hotel Silvio were very responsive to any queries,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marden85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £100 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing