We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, fantastic view, rooms a little small”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb location, fantastic view, rooms a little small”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at Hotel Silvio. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the staff (aside from the somewhat surly waitress at breakfast) were extremely good-natured and helpful. The view is spectacular and the location is perfect, just a short walk down the steps to a little harbour and the stunning Gardens of the Villa Melzi. It's nice that it is a little bit outside of the centre of Bellagio which, at weekends, is literally humming with tourists. Silvio offers a respite from all this fuss, while still providing excellent accommodation. The value-for-money compared to other spots in this town is really excellent, and though the quality of the fixtures, bed etc. was very good, the room was extremely small. Still, I'd come back here simply for the location. We also found a spectacular restaurant just at the bottom of the hill, Alle Darsene di Loppia, which was out of this world. How nice to simply trot back up the stairs to the hotel after our wonderful meal!

Room Tip: You might want to book a superior room--I assume they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    181
    71
    27
    20
See reviews for
88
381
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

checking out tomorrow am after a 3 night stay at Hotel Silvio. we had booked a private apartment in Bellagio which did not meet our expectations so we decided to move. we walked over to hotel Silvio, and Monica one of the senior staff, booked us a suite at a rate of 160 Euros per night including breakfast. a very fair price. the staff at Silvio are very attentive and go the extra mile to insure your stay is as pleasant as possible. Monika and the staff at Silvio really saved our vacation in Lake Como.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A wonderful hotel with spectacular views. A fabulously romantic spot in which we spent our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel is beautiful, the restaurant is excellent, and the staff are incredibly friendly. Made to feel so welcome by everyone, but Sabrina and Albert in particular. Loads to do, lovely walks into Bellagio through the Villa Melzi gardens. Easy access to all parts of the lake using the car ferry service from Bellagio. Would recommend without any hesitation, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Having read some of the tripadvisor reviews, all we can say is that there are some very hard to please people around!
My girlfriend and I travelled from Manchester, UK for a friend's wedding in April 2014 and had such a good time that we're already talking about when to return. We arrived at Milan-Bergamo airport and took the train from Bergamo to Lecco, and then from Lecco to Varenna and then took the ferry across the lake to Bellagio (we'd really recommend this way of getting there - beautiful views from the train and a very easy journey to make - and cheap).
We called Hotel Silvio to come and collect us once we arrived in Bellagio and they were there within several minutes, and drove us the small distance up-hill to the hotel. What people are saying on here about the uphill walk is true, however we didn't view this as a problem and it is a small price to pay for a hotel with such an amazing view. The alternative was a walk through the Villa Melzi gardens to town, (although you have to pay) which is a fantastic experience and well worth the money. The hotel were also more than happy enough to collect us when we called and drop us off in the town when we asked so the location of the hotel was not a problem at all.
Regarding the hotel itself, we couldn't have been happier. We had a stunning lake view from our balcony, and the room was clean and exactly what you'd expect. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom and small wardrobe/cupboard which was fine for our requirements. The staff are helpful and friendly, answered all questions we had and are very knowledgeable of the local area.
Also, we recommend the restaurant 100%, and my girlfriend who also ate at the 5 star Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni says the food at Hotel Silvio was better! The fish dishes are amazing and I also had the Beef Fillet Steak which was beautiful. I also recommend the house beer which I sampled several bottles of!
Overall, we were really happy with Hotel Silvio and would recommend without hesitation. Thankyou for a fantastic stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We are an Italian-speaking american couple living on the French cote d'azur.. We made a credit card reservation at the Hotel Silvio because it was recommended in "Osteria & Locande d'Italia", a Slow Food guidebook.
We arrived on a weekday afternoon in October to be shown our reserved room with balcony and lake view. We were shocked to find that the bed was an ugly modern four poster with posts connected in the air that was sitting in the MIDDLE of a small, frigid room, which also contained small bulky closets. We did not like the room at all and the atmosphere of the whole place was cold and unfriendly. She said there was no other room available. We told her we did not want to stay, that we were leaving and that she was not to charge us. We walked into town with our suitcases, which took about 1/2 hour.
We are infuriated that Hotel Silvio has charged us 140 euros even though we never opened our suitcases! Avoid this hotel! There are several wonderful alternatives in Bellagio.

Room Tip: forget it, change hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank megalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvio96, Direttore at Hotel Silvio, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for contributing with your review.
We are sorry our Hotel didn't meet your expectations about the room, especially regarding the decor and the bed, for which you although have plenty of pictures on our website. We don't refund deposits because our rooms (all clearly shown on our website) don't meet the taste of travelers once they are here, we do refund deposits according to our cancellation policy, in case of disservice or incongruity between what you booked and what you get. A brand new modern room with front full lake view is nothing mentioned above if you simply don't like it.
We are sorry we could not provide an alternative room, as all of them were busy already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We began with a studio but were upgraded to a suite overlooking Lake Como. Fantastic.
we hiked around Bellagio and enjoyed the day. That night we dined at Silvio's Restaurant and watched the sun go down. They lit a big fire to take off the chill. A wonderful experience--quite unexpected for s small hotel.

Room Tip: A suite overlooking the lake. There aren't many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlacara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Arriving after a spectacular ferry trip, Bellagio is a village perfectly situated lakeside at the junction of all three legs of Lake Como, and the Hotel Silvio is the perfect place to stay. We had a well-appointed room with a private balcony overlooking the lake, where we enjoyed a spectacular sunset each day with a glass of red in hand. The restaurant was superb, starting with a welcoming Ciao and breakfast buffet each morning that was hard to beat. So much so that we found ourselves returning night after night to enjoy the evening's dazzling dining experience, and chef's recommendation. The village is an easy and picturesque walk lakeside, so it was great to leave the hassle of driving/parking behind and just enjoy all that Bellagio delivers: great local shopping, traditional italian coffee in the morning and Aperol Spritz & snacks in the afternoon at the many cafes and restaurants that line the shore. The staff at Hotel Silvio's were always friendly and helpful with any enquiry. What a spectacular introduction to the location!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Property: Hotel Silvio
Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing