We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in Bellagio”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent a couple of days based out of the hotel Silvio. We were cycling for two days in the region.

Everything about the hotel was excellent. The service - lead by Albert - was great. They have a free shuttle into Bellagio which we used once. However it is only a 10 minute walk into town.

The breakfast was fresh and fulfilling. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only negative was the intermittent wi if service

We will be back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Silverwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our last stop of a week long bike trip around Como and fortunately saved the best for last. The hotel is situated just outside the town but just a short walk away. Rooms are lovely but try to get one with a balcony facing the lake as the views are incredible. The terrace is a nice place for a drink and the restaurant is also very good. The owner catches the fish daily and I would recommend any fish on the menu. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Cedarberry4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel just out of Bellagio. We had a lake view room with two terraces with stunning lake views. The room was large and nicely furnished. We had no issues with the 10 - 15 min walk into Bellagio as other reviewers did - we bought a two day pass to use the garden path, coordinated our plans with the free hotel shuttle service and only used the road walkway once (which wasn't as bad as some other reviewers had suggested). The hotel was set in a lovely and quiet area and there is a great restaurant a 5 minute walk down the hill (Alle Darsene). The only things letting this place down were (1) the cleaning staff waking you up early each morning vacuuming; and (2) the breakfast, which was of average quality (instant coffee etc). In addition, we were never actually spoken to by any of the breakfast staff over the three breakfasts we had here - even when there were no tables available for us to sit at. Overall, it was a good hotel and the room and views would mean that we would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Silvio’s for two nights. The positive things about this hotel are its views, views and only views.
The hotel has small rooms but we are to blame for it as we could have gotten a bigger room, but due to non-availability of superior rooms, we were stuck with the regular one. The service was a big disappointment in every aspect compared to all hotels we have stayed at. After reading some good reviews we were probably expecting a bit more.
We were let down by the incompetent reception staff. We met with four different staff during our stay. Three were rather over cooked and one young pleasant staff.
Sabrina was a touch better of the lot except for the fact that she talks too much and sometimes has no clue as to what she is talking about.
The young staff was pretty but confused, dazed and low on confidence when we asked her for some information. She gives you the impression that this is her first job.
We were also shocked to see one of the staff undressing and dressing at the front desk showing off her tattooed body. We later learnt that she was the front desk manager Monica. If the manager is setting this standard, what can you expect of the others? We encountered this rather disgusting experience on both days of our stay. Professional etiquettes do not exist and to top it off she is rather rude and arrogant. She made us feel that we are staying there for free and she is doing a favor on us.
The second a blonde, Valerie lost in her own world with her iPhone hiding behind the desk without a care in the world about the guest was waiting to speak to her. We had to address her more than twice to get her attention and she wasn’t too happy that we disturbed her chatting. When she did speak to us, it took a great effort to make her understand what we wanted and we found her to be pretty loud, irritated and rude. Apparently, no one gets off the chair to speak to the guest. The front desk staff were not dressed like hotel staff at all more like sales girls in a grocery store. We are sure the hotel can afford to provide decent uniforms. We have even stayed at two star hotels, but they too are dressed professionally.
We had sleepless nights, as the restaurant was open late and you could hear pots and plates tossing around with the restaurant staff yelling at the top of their voice.
The house keeping was pathetic with no toilet paper and we had to ask for it. The dirty cups were still lying in the room, which we put outside and were never provided with washed cups or plastic glasses.
The front desk never told us about the restaurant Silvio, so we did not bother to dine down there. Instead we enjoyed a lovely dinner at Darsena di Lopia, which is a very nice restaurant just below Silvio’s and at Bilacus, which is located in the middle of the town. We highly recommend these two restaurants.
We hope that the management understands the value of customer service and how it can affect the business in today’s world. The staff here manifests the height of unprofessionalism ever seen.
I will not recommend this hotel to anyone! There are plenty of other good, reasonable hotels around in Bellagio.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sparklingglitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvio96, Front Desk at Hotel Silvio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on this website.

We were really surprised to read your comments because it is more directed towards our front desk staff. We have a very motivated team with years of experience gained through working in five star hotels. To make a personal comment about their age is truly unethical.

We feel that talking to the guest is important, so as to advise correct and precise information, especially, about things to do, see and enjoy. We understand that sometimes the guest may be in a hurry and would like to spend as less time at the desk as possible.

We like to build a team with a mix of experience and youth. Our newest member is a young ambitious girl who is highly motivated and in years to come will become a corner stone of our front desk.

The usage of IPhone at the front desk is prohibited and we do not in anyways encourage it’s usage.

The staff is provided with three different uniforms, which changes according to the climate since we open in Spring and close down in late Autumn. The weather too changes over this period, so we have to adapt accordingly.

If you read the tripadvisor reviews, you will notice that our front desk staff is showered with countless compliments that is a testimony to their professionalism.
We strongly feel that our staff has been criticized unreasonably.

Once again, we thank you for your review and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of May this year. It was our first Hotels out of 10. We toured Italy for just over 6 weeks.

Very Clean.
Lovely Views.
Staff great, helpful and polite.

We did eat in the restaurant as the reviews were so good. We did book the night before and we were given a table with lake views. We were disappointed with the menu it was quite restricted. We had seen a sample at at the Lido the day before when we visited however it was nothing like the menu offered. The food was ok, but nothing special. The service was not good, not awful but not good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank triggerfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We are staying at Albergo Silvio's La Terrazza apartment in Bellagio, and it has been great. Our location cant be bettered - right on the central waterfront with a beautiful sunny view, lots of space and simple but adequate facilities. And free wifi! The team at Silvio is good - also sunny and very helpful. We prefer some independence when travelling and this 2 bed/2 bath apartment has been perfect. Will be back. It has been glorious to rest on the very large terrace in the sun with Lake Como stretching before us. And the ristorante Silvio also very good - you are collected by hotel shuttle car to and from as required but the walk isnt too far.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are good at the apartment, with shutters closed to exclude street lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel has wonderful views of Lake Como and is just a short walk from Bellaigio and having a car park was beneficial as we just left the car there for our stay. The staff were all helpful and went out of their way to assist. Rooms whilst small were comfortable. Shuttle bus service was good and a couple of occasions did special runs into town for us. Breakfast was good, with a view of the lake from the breakfast room but black coffee in the urn?? Perhaps Americano not to order would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bricari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £100 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing