We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View!!”
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silvio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2009

6 Aussie ladies stayed here for 2 nights in November, and it was a wonderful experience.
It is about 20 minute walk from the town, but they helped us with our luggage when we arrived, and left.
The rooms were beautiful and clean, and the views were stunning!!
The restaurant was also wonderful with high quality meals and service.
The staff were amazing!!! Very friendly and helpful, who went out of their way to assist us.
3 of the 6 voted this Hotel the best in our 4 weeks of travel across 5 countries.
We loved it all, thank you!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Silvio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2009

We stayed at Hotel Silvio for two days one night in mid-September. The hotel has adequate parking and is located a short walk from downtown Bellagio. Bellagio is a small town and although hilly is very walkable. There are several ferries leaving from downtown Bellagio that allow exploration of Lake Como and the many towns that surround the lake. The hotel was well appointed, the rooms clean and the staff helpful. The weather was great and we ate our dinner on the patio. The meal was what one would expect in Italy – tasty and filling. There was a continental breakfast included. The food was fresh and the selection more than adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comment56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Hotel Silvio is not exactly a hotel, it's a restaurant with some rooms attached. 4 of us stayed 3 nights this weekend. If you can do without sleep, and anyone to do a check-in or check-out, then this is the place for you.

The good:
Rooms are very clean.
Views are good.
Everything in the bathroom works.
Restaurant is ok, but the hygiene is iffy.

The bad:
Breakfast.... LOTS of flies in the orange juice. Everything is left out over night, so expect warm milk, warm yoghurt, stale bread etc.

Wifi doesn't work unless you are in the corridor under the access point.

Hot smoky rooms. Couldn't get a wink of sleep in the place, if you open a window, your rooms fills with the smoke from the fire downstairs. Low beams in the rooms on the top floor. Be prepared to hit your head in the night.

Lack of staff. We couldn't check in (1pm). We couldn't find anyone to ask about airconditioning or turning off the heat. We couldn't check out (4pm, 9:30pm and 7:30 am were the times we tried). No staff whatsoever for the hotel. One guy in the restaurant on breakfast who we asked about checking out actually roared and shouted at us saying NO CHECKOUT AFTER 8 (this was 7:30, before 8). We only wanted to give him the cash for the stay and the room key. We understood he wasn't hotel staff, but we knew how much it would be, we had to go for a flight, and really did not want to leave without paying! He wouldn't take it, and when I asked for a pen to leave a note for the receptionist this guy roared again at us, turned his back, and stood there looking at the wall until we went away.

We had a meal in the restaurant the first night, the food was good. However, if you are staying there, it gets a little awkward. We finished out meal at around 10pm, we then ordered drinks and went out the room with the fireplace to finish them. There was another table doing the same thing.. the lights were turned off around us. Not the end of the world, but certainly made us feel very unwelcome.. Also, dogs wander in and out of the kitchen.

I would not return unless the people running the breakfast were replaced.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I stayed here in March 1997 on a first trip to Italy and loved it. Coming back 12 years later, I wasn't sure what to expect. The son, Christian, has mostly taken the reins and done a beautiful job on continuing excellent food and good service, as well as adding a few improvements on his own.

It definitely isn't a fancy place, but very comfortable and many rooms have beautiful views. The breakfast buffet is more than adequate while lunch and dinner are full of fresh pastas and fish.

It's easiest if you have a car, but it's just about a mile outside of Bellagio and straight across from the bus stop.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgill68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We booked a lake view room on the top floor and the view was amazing. The room was moderately sized, but was functional and the breakfast was very good. VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: the B&B is NOT in town. It is a 15-20 minute walk from the town/boat dock. We made the mistake of trying to walk to the hotel with our bags and it was not a good way to start the trip. The walk to and from the hotel is on a very narrow road with no sidewalk and blind corners. I recommend the trolly or walking through the garden when it is open (limited hours). I would definitely return, but my wife would be very hessitant due to the location of the hotel. We were honestly scared to walk back at night because of the blind corner and the fast drivers (not at all scared for our safety, just the dangerous walk). I would like to stress, it has a fantastic view of the lake away from the noise of the town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaUSAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The value for this hotel is just alright considering everything.
We opted to stay outside of the central part of Bellagio owing to the fact that we had a car.
We were in lakefront double room #5. The best part of it were of the views of the mountains and the lake, absolutely spectacular. The room itself is quite small and there was not an ounce of extra space not even to place/open suitcase (you have to place it on the bed to open and retrieve items). Visualize nightstand-double bed-nightstand only (no more) for the width and length of bed plus about 2 feet max at the end of the bed before the door of the bathroom/wall. Redeeming was the balcony to open it up some with 2 patio chairs and the VIEW, otherwise it would have been extremely small and closety. Like all thing in Italy there are always quirks. The ever present low level lighting that you always experience in hotel rooms of this caliper. The bathroom was modern however the toilet was the most uncomfortable either one of us had ever experienced (not standard issue and the rim of the bowl seat was about 2" so you can imagine sitting on a thin, narrow hard plank. I don't know how anyone would ever be able to use the bidet (not that we do) as the left side of it was bump up against the wall just like the toilet's right side - so the visual for this facing the plumbing , the left side bidet against the wall about 1-1/2 foot between that and the toilet - toilet -then the right side of the toilet is against the wall, the bathroom is about 4 feet wide in total (if that). In other words, don't expect anything that would be comfortable for anyone taller that about 5'8" (be slim and fit, too) and you should be OK. The breakfast was bad. We arrived one morning and it appeared that the coffee in the urn was cold and they were attempting to re-heat it up by plugging it back in. Selections of items was miserably bad. The parking lot is small and parking could be an issue if you return at dinner time after being out as it is shared with the restaurant. We never moves it at night past 6-ish. To go into town one should drive as the alternatives are to walk through the gardens by paying an admission. The gates of the garden close at 6 or 630 so don't stay in town too long -or walk by the side of the curvy, narrow road that has no sidewalk and risk being taken out by an Italian driver that doesn't see you in time who is driving way too fast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Location: 20 min walk into centre of village. Can pay £9 Euro for a 3 day pass to walk through Villa Melzi grounds, which are open until 6pm. The walk is faster and easier. However after 6pm you need to walk on along the top roads. Fine on a summer night, but wouldn't want to do it in winter.

Rooms: The reason to stay here is the superior double room! Stunning views from the balcony. We bought a bottle of wine each day from the nearby supermarket and the hotel gave us wine glasses, so we could have a few drinks watching the sun set across the lake Balcony has table & 2 chairs, plus sun-lounger. Room is on the smaller side, but clean and comfortable. Modern bathroom. Problems with drainage in the shower. We had to request the air-con be turned on each day, as there was a "technical problem" (in other words the staff seemed to switch it off from their master-switch each day to save power). Air-con would slightly cool the room, but was not working 100%. Free Wi-fi Internet.

Meals: Breakfast was free but was average - sliced ham, bread roll and processed cheese triangles, plus cereals. However the restaurant food was fantastic - one of the best Italian meals we have ever had. People come from all over the area to visit this restaurant. Shame about the breakfast.

Parking: Available at the hotel, but not many parks during restaurant hours.

Staff: Very friendly

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_of_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
921 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
759 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Paolo Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £97 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silvio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing