We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic in good location”
Review of Albergo Europa

Albergo Europa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Europa
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a very basic budget hotel. The decor is very old fashioned and you feel like you are staying with your Italian grandmother. The bed is not very comfortable and the bathroom is very small. There is no internet but parking on site. The staff are friendly and serve breakfast (continental). This is a good place if you want to stay inside Bellagio and want to be close to it all but if you are not going to spend a lot of time in the room. It has no luxuries....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is a hotel i regret i took. My first impression is that it has an odour of dust in the corridor (mold?) when i got in the room it looked very glomy, but it was clean. The restaurant they have seem to be okey i ate there 1 time. One another positive thing i can mention is that it is very central. The price was €75 witch i think is to high.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank inge_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

we sadly stayed.the owner hates her life I am convinced,there is no pleasure in her hospitality,actually there is no hospitality here.the place is basic as it says on their site but our bed was very noisy and the bedding belonged to your grandma,so did the furniture, a very poor image. the room echoed.the building is extremely noisy-if people in the other rooms moved about it could easily be heard.door closure was even noisy.it is next to the church but the bells stop at 10pm until I think 7 or 8 in the morning.the breakfast was ok-we liked the cake.carparking on site .right in the centre of town so handy to everything.stay here if you are deaf.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel,we had stayed at the Silvio the previous night(LOVED IT!!!) but had to canc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank blondiesorrento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The female owner of the albergo does not work hard to welcome you to her premises. Little to no eye contact and no smile at all.
You're not told where to park and after you do you are told in no uncertain terms that the vehicle is in the wrong place. Very rude.
The bells chiming out stop any thoughts of sleep.
The room was quite dirty and the shower very cramped.
Spoiled the experience of lovely, beautiful Bellagio.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and were fairly happy with the decision. The main reason was the location and we were not disappointed. Its right in the centre of the old town and easy to access the town. The hotel was very dated and a old musty smell resonated throughout the hotel. The staff were ok and had not real issues.

The bed had the softness of a brick and pillows were stuffed with a form of lead.

The breakfast was very basic and would recommend going into town and not taking the hotel one. The church is right next door and you will be getting a update of the time on the hour!!!! Its quite loud but I enjoyed the historical aspect of this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I was travelling through Italy for three weeks with my parents aged 69/70 and Bellagio was our last stop on the trip. We did not want to spend a lot on the hotel, as we knew we would be out of the lake everyday. We had read the bad reviews and were prepared for the worst when arriving at Albergo Europa. I have to say, it was pretty bad, but we grinned and bared it. A triple room cost us Euro 105 a night, as opposed to our only other option: Hotel Splendide at Euro200 - a significant difference over three nights. Here are the facts:

Positive: very well located and a 5min walk to the ferry. Parking for those who need it. Room was clean and light.
Negative: Beds were uncomfortable, sheets were thread bare. THere was no duve, but hand crocheted blankets which we could only guess at were never drycleaned. The bath mat was pink and dirty and the towels were old and grey. The worst part was the bath. It was the weirdest thing I had ever seen. Like a tiny little bath you had to sit in with your knees around your ears. It was stained and not clean from manyy years use. No shower curtain and so the floor was wet. I tried to stand up to shower but as the base of it was designed for sitting it was hard, and dangerous. It was, I have to say, worse than camping.

Lake Como and Belllagio are a beautiful place, but this is not the place to stay. Splurge on a nice hotel. We will next time.

Room Tip: The hotel is right next to Bellagio's church so you will be woken up by church bells. From 6am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Cheap for Bellagio central at 60 Euros for a reason - breakfast was stingy - 2 roles, some jams, coffee, orange juice, and one day a yogurt, one day a piece of cake - no fresh fruit, croissants etc - VERY STINGY. On checkout paid up for 2 days - wanted some tap water - owner said she didnt have any and I had to buy a bottle - this was just after breakfast - VERY STINGY. Rooms dated - beds too small and not long enough - TV turned itself on at 1am - very strange, then a dog started barking for half an hour. Rooms next to church - bell starts ringing at 7am every half an hour for the rest of the day.. Very noisy - DONT STAY HERE - get out of town and stay at Hotel Fioroni next to the sports centre - rooms cheaper at 55 euros single with proper breakfast and use of the swimming pool next door.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fireflyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
955 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#7 of 16 in Bellagio
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Fioroni
Hotel Fioroni
#10 of 16 in Bellagio
267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Silvio
Hotel Silvio
#9 of 16 in Bellagio
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Europa

Address: Via Roma 21, 22030 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range: £73 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Bellagio
Albergo Europa Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing