We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Nearby Hotels
Residence L'Ulivo(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Silvio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Fioroni(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Du Lac(Bellagio)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bellagio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metropole Bellagio(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
US$131
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$954
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$917
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$502
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
122
220
140
51
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
220
140
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake comoa lake view roomhalf boardhigh ceilingscar ferryexcellent locationtriple roomcroissantsold worldbeautiful viewsmall balconysalahferrieslakesideshuttersboatvarenna
Filter
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

What is wrong with these people? At the end of the day it is a 3* hotel what do you expect? From beginning to end we loved this holiday. We travelled with Thomson Lakes & Mountains, from the minute we arrived at the hotel, just to late for the evening meal, we were made to feel 'special', a tray was brought up to our room with a meal for 2. We found the food to die for, seriously enjoyed everything, the staff were always polite, helpful and had a sense of humour. The room was basic but extremely clean and comfortable, fresh towels every day and mid week change of sheets. We had a room on the side, which was lovely and quiet but we could see the lake. Bellagio is beautiful, by far the nicest town in that vicinity, little cobbled streets and lovely shops! I could go on and on.....did these moaners stay in a different hotel? I would not hesitate to recommend and would certainly go back!

Room Tip: We took our chance an d took the room offered .... no regrets!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archiebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

When a hotel "bulks up" the muesli with rice bubbles, you know there is a problem. I cannot say anything positive about the "not at all Splendide". We were given an attic room - and couldn't even use the toilet without hitting my head. Much of the room was unusable. There is no bar fridge in the room and the faded orange quilt was very old. The breakfast was terrible - stale croissants, the orange juice is from a machine, the coffee was awful, staff didn't provide clean plates, etc. If you get a lake view room, be prepared for live music until midnight.

Room Tip: Recommend you look at reviews of other hotels.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickylee207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I have never seen such a run down hotel in such a beautiful location. You can see that once upon a time it must have been gorgeous in there - high ceilings, amazing French balconies on so many rooms, beautiful Persian carpets and marble. But that must have been in the 50s. Or even 40s. The room didn't even have AC. The amenities included shampoo that came out of things that look like ketchup packets. The lights didn't even match. The bathtub was something straight out of the 70s. The bedspreads were about 1/10 of an inch thick and were bright orange.

At breakfast we asked for coffee and were told to press a button on a machine. This is Italy for crying out loud and we were supposed to get coffee from a machine!

The reservation system is really laughable. At the front desk they have a bunch of different colored sticky tape, and a big chart of the rooms, and they actually write in a name and put it on sticky tape over the room number to book the rooms months and months out. Have they heard of a computer program we wondered? It was like the abacus of hotel reservations. We joked wondering if they use clocks or sun dials, or calculators or abacuses. It was like a bad trip back in time yet everything had 50 years of wear on it. Sad sad sad! I would add that while things were very dated VERY DATED that they did appear clean, or as clean as 60 year old rugs and furniture can look.

I don't know who is writing the great reviews about this place. Maybe they are used to staying in Days Inns or Super 8s or something. This is no place for a seasoned traveler who is looking for a bit of comfort. I kept wishing I had brought my last hotel's disposable room slippers (which I had just assumed the Splendide would have) because I didn't want to touch the floor. Sad!

I would say the staff working there were very friendly and helpful. I had contacted them in advance with many different questions and they always replied quickly and efficiently. While there the front desk staff was also very helpful with all our questions regarding airports, ferries, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel, or at least make sure you ask for the lake view room.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruisingSwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Part of a group some got good rooms, we had an attic room yes had good view but that was all. Parts of room couldn't stand up. Hit head 4 times! Breakfast very basic and no service anywhere in restaurant or on reception. Man at desk unhelpful. Probably was a lovely hotel in it's day but now very tired the parts we saw. Pool out the back a relief in heat but very untidy and grounds weedy, outdoor furniture scattered around broken and unkempt. Not what I think is a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ange052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed in Splendide for three nights after finding the hotel on a "late booking website". We had not researched the hotel at length ( if at all) but found the price for a 3 star hotel in Bellagio quite reasonable.
We arrived in Bellagio at the ferry terminal and had trouble finding the hotel as we didn't realise there are two ferry terminals and of course we used the wrong wharf for our bearings which lead us on a wild goose chase through the steep cobble stone alleys looking for our hotel..not fun with suitcases!
Eventually we returned to the waterfront area where the hotel proudly sits just a few minutes from where we arrived.
To be honest the hotel looked too good for a 3 star hotel and we started to think we had the wrong Splendide, however we were at the right location.
The hotel was adequate, it had seen better days as most of Bellagio has, while Bellagio is nice my feeling is that its heyday was from the more romantic days of the 50's and 60's.
Our room was comfortable with the usual 2 single beds strapped together (I hate that), a sofa that can be made up as a third bed and a basic bathroom, the highlight is that you can open the double wooden windows to reveal a beautiful view of the everchanging Lake Como.
The only meals we had at the hotel was breakfast which was basic...no hot food.
All in all reasonably good value and whenever you see shots of Bellagio the chances are you will see Hotel Splendide .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0yfr0m0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews