We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Good 3 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Very Good 3 Star Hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here from the 16th June to 28th June 2012,this holiday was booked with Inghams,I had requested room 21(which is a lake view room) after reading another review that recommended this room,and we were not disapointed,this room had recently been refurbished and was fully air conditioned,which I am glad it was as it was very hot weather (30-35 degrees).
The hotel serves very good food,(contrary to what some reviews I had read before we went away) breakfast was buffet with plenty of choice,cold meats cheese,hard boiled eggs,breads,yoghurts,fresh fruit,tea and coffee.Evening meal was a self serve salad buffet then a choice of 3 starters usually pasta dishes then a choice of 3 main courses and then a choice of fresh fruit or a dessert.Your meal menu was given to you the evening before for you to choose what you would like for the following evening.Wines were priced from 15 euros a bottle,beer was 5 euros.
The ferry station was 2 minutes away and we purchased a 6 day mid-lake ticket for the ferries which was 45 euros and I would certainly recommend buying this ticket,it covers all places between from Lenno to Varenna.
I would certainly go to this hotel again and Bellagio itself,in my opinion is the best resort on Lake Como.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a7tsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    183
    117
    46
    32
See reviews for
79
264
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Excelisior Splendide was not for us....buy hey, this is Bellagio, and you can't expect much from a 'good value' hotel here.

Bad points - apart from crying when i saw the room (it had been a long trip!), the food wasn't great. Our room was poor - no hanging space, a view of the bins, in the corner of the hotel, extremely hot and no mirrors. I do however think we were unlucky...sneaky peaks into other rooms didn't look half as bad.

Good points - amazing location, friendly staff, a lovely quiet garden to sunbathe in.

To sum up, I WOULD recommend this hotel - if you're not on a huge budget, want to explore Lake Como and the beautiful Bellagio then it's a great base...just don't expect too much!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We loved Hotel Excelsior Splendide. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was more than we had expected! And the proximity to all the wonderful sights, restaurants, and ferry system were great. The staff was extremely accommodating, even sending some eyeglasses that were left behind on to our next hotel. Bellagio is a wonderful place to visit, and I'm sure we will be back! Thank you for making our trip so memorable. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheR0adAgain--2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Built in 1907 truely all you would expect. Right in centre of Bellagio why we chose it. Opposite car ferry. A certain amout of noise from ferries operate from 0550 until dark so dont choose front room if this bothers you. Rooms are spotless very comfy double bed wood floors small tv ideal for news or sport Bathroom white tiled marble effect good shower with 2 showers 1 lower and 1 above always plenty of hot water usual serviette towels for hand and fluffy large towels for shower small amount of toiletries. Breakfast as in previous review. Dinner 4 courses all fresh home cooked. Salad buffet, choice of fresh pasta (wonderful) or home made soup, main meat or fish example Turkey in Brandy with braised chicory not a chip, burger or pizza to be seen Dessert or fresh fruit i.e Tiramsu, Panacotta,Zabalione etc save Gelati for afternoons. Perry great restaurant manager will always accomodate any changes if you dont want main and prefer 2 second courses. Has good wine list cost about 16 euros. Quick efficent service. I can only think that bad reviewers of the food are not used to continental food. We had a great stay Did most of the villas on our own at our own pace Spent 3 hours at Villa Carlotta. Try to arrange a concert there via website. Go to Lenno Tuesday Market for great clothes and then continue down to Como on boat Have Lunch and take 2 hours coming back looking at lake villas. I would skip Bergamo only churches and a long day. Disappointed that you dont get long enough on Bernina Express why you dont travel all the way into St Moritz takes same time as coach which drops you at station. This tour operates on a Monday and all the shops are closed and empty can't even window shop at designer shops. Very long day. Overall we had a great stay We went with Inghams and would definatly reccomend them. Need to make pickup time for return earlier as we only just made flight. I think we will return as it was magical.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WHALE_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel is right on the lakeside of Lake Come - fantastic location. Very handy for the ferries that criss cross the Lake all day. Great for bars, cafes, restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is elegant and sizeable, plenty of room in all the public areas. The staff are extremely helpful, pleasant all with good English language skills. The four course dinner was excellent, varied and authentic. We travelled with Thomson Lakes and Moountains on a half board basis. The breakfast was a good example of a typical continental breakfast; coffee, cold meats and cheeses, hard boiled eggs, various breads, croissants, cereals, yoghurts, jams and honey. Cut and come again as much as you can eat. The bedroom was quite large, hanging space [as ever] limited, bathroom well appointed, towels changed regularly, lake view, air con worked fine. Windows were shuttered which cut out any late evening noise.
All in all if we travelled to Lake Como again then this is the hotel we would stay at.

Room Tip: If you take a lake view - make sure it's on the first floor - only first floor rooms have an act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aitchb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We recently stayed for a week half board at the hotel with my parents for their Golden Wedding. Its location is wonderful, right on the front in Bellagio and our room had a lake view which was beautiful. Bellagio and Varenna are the best places on the lake in my opinion. Our original room did smell a bit of drains but when we complained the hotel staff were great and sorted it out very quickly and moved us. Breakfast is typical continental breakfast with bread, croissants, cheese, ham, fruit, yogurt etc. It could have been a bit more imaginative but it was perfectly adequate. I was concerned as other reviews had commented on the poor breakfast - it is a 3 star hotel so unless you were expecting full english I don't see the problem. Evening meals again were average and could have been more imaginative. Loads of food with four courses per night. The puddings in particular were unimaginative. Every night it was a choice of two puddings, one being fresh fruit. If you ordered fresh fruit you were presented with an apple and a pear or a kiwi and a pear - whole on a plate! After three nights of this we decided to ask if we could order ice cream for the following night - the hotel has its own gelleteria so it wasn't a lot to ask. The restaurant manager said yes without question and the ice cream was great. They did seem to make an effort after our complaint and the next night the fruit was made into a kebab on a stick which was lovely. Unfortunately after that the fruit choice returned top normal but the restaurant manager did offer us ice cream again a couple of nights later which again was great. The hotel buidling itself is lovely and very Italian with marble staircases and high ceilings. Overall for a three star hotel it was fine and comfortable without being lavish. The staff were very friendly and helpful and certainly responded to our problems effectively. Buy a central lake ferry ticket for around 45 Euros which makes it very easy to hop on and off boats around the lake. The tourist information office in bellagio were very helpful. If you get a chance to go on the bernina Express train across the alpes then go for it - wonderful day out. Thoroughly enjoyed Lake Como and would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first and second floor have mostly been refurbished from what we could work out. Our o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaAB1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and had half board included (breakfast and dinner daily). I had a lake view room which was big, the bed was comfortable enough though not great and it was clean. There was a lot of noise from the street below and the restaurant outside.
Breakfast buffet was fine (the usual cereal, milk, toast, ham, cheese). Ok for three days but would have eaten elsewhere after that. But the dinner was terrible. With so much good food available in Bellagio, it's a shame that they didn't get the food right here. Dinner was three courses every night but I would have much preferred one or two courses of quality food instead. I ate here the first night and was disappointed but decided since it was included in my stay to give it another go. The second night was worse and so on the third night I cancelled my dinner order and ate out.
It's not that this is a bad hotel, it's a good convenient location close to the ferry terminal which is handy if you have a lot of luggage, the staff were friendly and the room was large. My advice would be to avoid the half board option and just get breakfast or just the room and you'll probably be satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Property: Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing