We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very good 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have got to say i did not know what to expect after reading some of the terrible reviews of this hotel,they were certainly not justified. i have just spent 11 nights in this hotel with my husband and our room was lovely. We had a side lake view, it was new with upto date bathroom with a lovely walk in shower. our room was quiet and fully air conditioned. The breakfasts were more than adequate but please supply proper glasses for fruit juice not plastic.
We had half board and the food was 3 star, not brilliant but ok,the pasta dishes were very good but the main course needs improvements. Mary on reception was excellent and we had exchanged e-mails before going to bellagio about some of my concerns and she was very helpful and if i asked for anything eg clean towels they were there straight away. Thanks mary for making our stay enjoyable. Bellagio itself is lovely although quite expensive ,we got a pass for the ferries which was well worth the money.
The trip to Switzerland was excellent,and cerri our crystal rep could not have been any better she was very good and always on hand,so all in all anyone who has booked this holiday enjoy.

Room Tip: side rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieq65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    187
    120
    46
    32
See reviews for
81
270
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Booked with Inghams and received lovely room overlooking pool so lovely and quiet. Great service in all areas of hotel, lovely menus every evening great choice of food. This hotel is under new management so it has all new staff. Please do not be put off by earlier horrible comments posted by people. It is excellent right near the ferry departure point. Lovely selection of shops and cafes nearby. We would definitely return here, it has everything the modern hotels don't have character and charm!!

Room Tip: Booked with Inghams and received a lovely room overlooking the pool, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed here in 1983 with my husband and two young sons to begin a three week visit to Italy. It was an inexpensive option in Bellagio and we didn't expect more. Thus we were pleasantly surprised by the views from our rooms, the air of shabby elegance (yes, it was dated even then), the very convenient location. We dined elsewhere for lunch and dinner but we were pleased with the standard European breakfast -- which was obviously aimed at the mostly German clientele. We stayed at a modern hotel in Stresa and much preferred our experience here -- it felt more authentic, more "Lake Como" somehow. If I am lucky enough to return, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it greatly. The room we had was a little dated, but had a stunning view of the lake. It was comfortable and spacious. The food was excellent, we certainly ate well while we were there. The staff, especially the waiters in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. The building is a lovely old hotel and right in th middle of Bellagio. Nice pool and garden area too. The only issue we had was that we had to park our car a long way away and walk back to the hotel, but you don't need to use your car in Bellagio anyway. Overall, I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Just back from 4 days in this hotel. Fantastic view, great location, if a little noisy and you should expect three stars cos that's what it is! Nothing specific to complain about - its clean, the breakfast is ok, the staff friendly and helpful. We had an unrefurbed room - no air con but a view to die for. It's all a bit tired - they could spend millions on this hotel but then we wouldn't have been able to afford it...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewinleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here from the 16th June to 28th June 2012,this holiday was booked with Inghams,I had requested room 21(which is a lake view room) after reading another review that recommended this room,and we were not disapointed,this room had recently been refurbished and was fully air conditioned,which I am glad it was as it was very hot weather (30-35 degrees).
The hotel serves very good food,(contrary to what some reviews I had read before we went away) breakfast was buffet with plenty of choice,cold meats cheese,hard boiled eggs,breads,yoghurts,fresh fruit,tea and coffee.Evening meal was a self serve salad buffet then a choice of 3 starters usually pasta dishes then a choice of 3 main courses and then a choice of fresh fruit or a dessert.Your meal menu was given to you the evening before for you to choose what you would like for the following evening.Wines were priced from 15 euros a bottle,beer was 5 euros.
The ferry station was 2 minutes away and we purchased a 6 day mid-lake ticket for the ferries which was 45 euros and I would certainly recommend buying this ticket,it covers all places between from Lenno to Varenna.
I would certainly go to this hotel again and Bellagio itself,in my opinion is the best resort on Lake Como.

Room Tip: Request a Lake View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a7tsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Excelisior Splendide was not for us....buy hey, this is Bellagio, and you can't expect much from a 'good value' hotel here.

Bad points - apart from crying when i saw the room (it had been a long trip!), the food wasn't great. Our room was poor - no hanging space, a view of the bins, in the corner of the hotel, extremely hot and no mirrors. I do however think we were unlucky...sneaky peaks into other rooms didn't look half as bad.

Good points - amazing location, friendly staff, a lovely quiet garden to sunbathe in.

To sum up, I WOULD recommend this hotel - if you're not on a huge budget, want to explore Lake Como and the beautiful Bellagio then it's a great base...just don't expect too much!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Property: Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing