We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Como holiday September 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lake Como holiday September 2012”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

WeI have just returned from a one week stay at the Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, We had a lake view room on the second floor and it was excellent. The room was spacious with a very large and comfortable bed, the bathroom was modern, clean with plenty of hot water and the towels were changed everyday. The window of the room had a Juliet balcony which gave you a panoramic view of the lake and mountains, allowing you to stand and observe as life on the lake and the town went by, and when at night you need to shut the hustle and bustle out, all that is required is to shut the double glazed window and lower the outside shutter, for a quiet nights sleep. The hotel staff are friendly and very keen to help, we found the breakfast perfectly adequate and the evening meal fine. I strongly recommend this hotel as it forms a great base for exploring Lake Como and the town of Bellagio is a beautiful place to come back to after a day exploring. I would suggest that you ignore any reviews of this hotel that are more than eighteen months old, I had read these reviews after booking the hotel and were worried at what we would find when we arrived, the negative reviews were so off the mark that I wonder where they stayed in the hotel and if they were expecting a five star hotel instead of the three star hotel they booked.

Room Tip: Book a room with lake view on the first or second floor these rooms have been modernised and have ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    204
    133
    47
    36
See reviews for
90
294
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BARNSLEY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My friend and i went back to this hotel for the third time..and it was great,just like the first time..again. The waiters,and the head waiter and kitchen staff,all work their socks off..real hard..and deserve lots of credit..while the hotel manager..sits around. So it needs a new hotel manager...nothing more..except a bit of decorating. So people who critisise these people want to try doing their jobs..its real hard work. They were very nice to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENISEHBARNSLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked a Lake View Room and it was great. The view was ever changing and stunning, and the room was large, with a newly fitted bathroom, and really caught the sun in the afternoon. The staff are lovely, but work long hours, so the restaurant closes early in the evening. We had booked half board, and soon worked out that it was better to take that meal at lunchtime, when you could eat alfresco (which disappointingly could not be done in the evening), and which was a far more relaxed meal, as in the evening they are keen to have diners leave before 9 pm. I agree with some of the other reviewers - the location is excellent, and the ice cream is out of this world. Don't miss it. The breakfast has had poor reviews, but as it was mid-september the hotel wasn't too busy and we didn't experience any problems. Get to know the staff and they are really helpful, but it does feel a bit like a 1980's Spanish package holiday, especially when you have to pre-order your dinner the evening before.

Room Tip: Book a Lake View Room, the ones without balconies are higher up in the hotel, and therefore furthr f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My wife and I had never been to Bellagio before so when American Express booked us into this hotel we trusted their judgment. We still have a discussion with them to come as we checked ourselves out within one hour of arriving!

It is clearly an aging establishment desperately in need of refurbishing and equally in need of a new owner and staff.

Our getting was perfunctory. Our room was old, tired and not very clean. Then the lights went out completely in the dark hallway leading to our room and e staff didn't seem to care at all, telling us it "might" get fixed the next day (after we would have left). Then we heard a loud banging from our room which turned out to be an "emergency" exit door that was left open across from our room so the staff could use it as a shortcut.

When we talked to the lady who I presume was the manager/owner her attitude was appalling. She blamed everything on us for not complaining sooner! As we announced we were leaving, regardless of the financial outcome her attitude changed...only because she knew there woud be a request coming from American Express for a full refund on our behalf.

We checked into Hotel Du Lac...just steps down the road, same three star rating, and got a beautiful room with a lake view, friendly staff and a sense of being appreciated as a guest. Three things you will never find at the Splendide...there's nothing "splendid" about it!

Room Tip: There is no good room in a fundamentally bad hotel. Choose the Metropole or Hotel Du Lac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The reason why you go to Bellagio is because it is such a stunning location. To enjoy your stay you need, at a minimum, a clean and functionally efficient hotel. Hotel Excelsior Splendid is such a hotel. Great location, clean rooms, unbelievably bad breakfast and staff that don't believe friendly is a part of their job description.

Room Tip: If you are there on a Saturday night get a room away from the disco, that is if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Not a review of the hotel itself - but of the best gelato in the whole wide world!

My wife and I were so taken with the mind-blowingly good gelato at the Splendide's lakeside terrace that we forced ourselves to go back three times in a week - just to make sure we didn't 'get lucky' the first time around.

It wasn't 'first time lucky' at all: they were all brilliant!

If you're in Bellagio, get there and indulge. They're not cheap - but quality never does come at a bargain price does it?

And the young staff deserve a mention: no matter how busy (and they were), they were unfailingly cheerful and helpful - a nice bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned with my husband and daughter from Bellagio. We stayed in Hotel Splendide and i was a bit weary after reading other reviews but we were delighted with the hotel we had only a few steps to take from the ferry boat to the hotel which is so convienent particulary as my husband has a heart condition. The receptionist was charming and courteous and spent time explaining hotel facilities and gave us a map and details of Bellagio, timetable of boats etc. We were given room 5 stunning views over the lake. The huge room had a long built in wardrobe and when we opened the middle door it was magical just like C.S. Lewis The lion the Witch and the Wardrobe..... inside was a beautiful italian stained glass hidden secret door which when opened revealed a huge tiled bathroom! Our only disappointment was later that evening we went down to the beautiful dining room to have dinner as we were confonted with a very rude arrogrant stressed out ? dining room manager, and he just apbruptly shouted at us and said to the young waiter iF THEY WANT A TABLE THEY WILL HAVE TO WAIT! Needless to say we left and went to another welcoming restaurant. Would however recommend this hotel very good value for money.

Room Tip: Book a room with lake view you wont be disappointed in the little gem pearl of Bellagio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venezia09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
795 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Property: Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing