We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms seem to vary a lot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Great old lobby and entrance in a great location! Good breakfast. Room and bathroom were large in size with views of the lake :-) the downside: a computer monitor sized TV mounted high on a wall, antiquated decor and a shower with no shower curtain. So strange. Needless to say we flooded our bathroom daily. This was a royal pain in the behind. It was only two days so we dealt with it. No parking, so you have to pay meter parking or find a free spot up the hill which is tough.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank The_Viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior Splendide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great location with amazing views and right on the promenade. The main issue (and maybe it was just our room, #11) was that there was no shower curtain so when we showered water flooded the bathroom. I haven't seen any other reviews about this problem so maybe we just got the crappy room. Since it's 2013, I would assume that people would at least add a rod and shower curtain to there bathtubs so that the room doesn't flood... but that's just my opinion (and my boyfriend's). The 2 star down the street at least had an actual shower, but you have to climb up the cobblestone steps to get to that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Not sure why there are any bad reviews for this hotel at all???!!!! Our three day stay in the hotel splendide in bellagio in may 2013 was just wonderful!
All of the staff were lovely and nothing too much trouble, Including more than adequate breakfast (if an item ran out it was replaced promptly) . A hotel full of old fashioned character , from the large marble foyer and lovely wide sweeping staircase(including a lift for luggage if needed) to the wide hallways upstairs.
Our room was clean comfortable and well appointed, with a modern bathroom and nice, hot shower (which is ok in size, unless you are a large person) looking over the ferry dock and restuarants and out to a magnificent view of the lake and mountains from our balcony.
Quaint cobbled streets full of shops restuarants and cafes only a few minutes stroll away.
Car parking is1.50euro per hour in public areas, but the hotel can show you where to park nearby for free during your stay. Getting to other gorgeous towns across the lake is so convenient by ferry and we even took a drive up to the hills behind bellagio and discovered panoramic views of lake como that should definitely not be missed and a little cafe for a wine on the way back down.
If we are ever lucky enough to visit bellagio again we would definitley stay here! Every local little restuarant was fabulous and always warm and friendly service.
Fell in love with it. After all, travelling is all about seeing other places and enjoying other cultures and their people of the world, not having a bellman or room service!

Room Tip: book early and ask for a lake view room.. The first floor has three rooms with a little lake view ba...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just got back from a 10 day trip and this hotel was lovely. We were a bit apprehensive after reading all the reviews, but our fears were unfounded. Breakfast was great, stocks replenished straight away if ran out, nothing too much trouble. The croissants are to die for!! The food was good, some of the fish wasn't to my taste but that is personal, the pasta dishes and pudding were scrummy! We had a free 3 course lunch, and it was by the lakeside and was wonderful! The Maitre D was great, very friendly, all staff helpful and friendly. Arrived early eve, to a warm greeting and dinner was served promptly. The hotel has wonderful views over lake como which are just awesome! Yes there is some noise from the Ferry at night and in the mornings, and the rubbish men come at 5am, but apart from that, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. One word of warning tho, if you take travellers cheques, you can't cash them locally, you have to travel to Como or Lecco by bus which takes about an hour, but worth the trip as the town of Como is lovely, good array of shops/cafes, even in the rain! Will def go back again!

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel, but you won't get the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiehiltonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel was right at the water's edge in the middle of Bellagio. It might be classified as a 3 star, but the service and standard were very high. We had a room overlooking the water, and it was surprising quiet considering it's location. The rooms are a little small, but they are very clean and has everything that you would need. If we return to Bellagio (which we would love to do) then I will make a booking for this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for our lovely 3 day stay in Bellagio, Lake Como. After reading some of the awful reviews we were quite weary. Having arrived here, the location of this hotel is amazing, their front desk staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Our room had the lake and mountain view and once the shutters were closed in at nights, the room was very quiet. Our bedroom was very clean, huge and spacious.

The breakfast was not fantastic but after all this is a 3 star hotel.

My husband and I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Bellagio.

A&C

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel is three star and that's what you should expect. Lovely evening restaurant outside over the lake and the food was generally what you would expect, . Not too exciting but quite eatable, The hotel itself is quite dated but the town is beautiful and there are lots of nice restaurants scattered around. The hotel lacks air conditioning and when we visited last year temperatures were in the high 80" so the rooms very hot. The Head waiter we found very attentive and we were given an excellent table in the window for dining.

Room Tip: Bellagio is a very nice place to stay
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing