We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, reasonable for Bellagio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location, reasonable for Bellagio”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We were really pleased with our stay of three nights at the excelsior. We paid extra for a lake view room and were not disappointed. We were placed in a room at the front of the hotel, with air conditioning and a shower! (Our main concern was that the booking stated we'd only have a bath). The room was modern and over the bank next door. The hotel staff were very helpful and were very keen to help at every opportunity. The view was totally stunning and the only drawback was the noise from the ferry port and bars directly outside the window. On balance though, I'd take the noise! Can only recommend this hotel. Our experience does not match up at all with several of the more critical reviews here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    187
    120
    46
    32
See reviews for
81
270
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights in June/ July and found the hotel to be adequate. Our room was at the back so it was quiet and had a nice view of the garden and pool. The staff were all polite and helpful and the breakfasts were fine. The position of the hotel is outstanding near the ferries and many restaurants but a steep walk to some of them.
Room lacked air conditioning so became very hot, we did have 2 fans but they are not really adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Quaker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

this hotel lives up to its name. Perfect location facing the lake and within 5 minutes walk of the boat jetties. Calm elegance as you walk into the spacious lounge. Staff are all welcoming, friendly and efficient. Rooms are fine, garden (with 3 sitting areas) and pool are oases of green relaxation

Room Tip: Rooms at back, facing the garden are fine and quieter than those facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hotel is situation by the lake side in Bellagio a couple of minutes from the ferry terminal, both car and passenger. take a room at the front the views are Splendide. as long as the windows are kept closed there will be no noise from the ferries when at the berth, they start around 5 am, but no need to keep the windows open as most rooms have AC.
The building is grand and in its day must have been quite impressive, now it is an ideal location for sightseeing around the lake, the room we used was at the front on the first floor, with small balcony suitable for 2, no more, but perfect to enjoy a glass of something watching the various activities. The room was large enough, bathroom well equipped but shower cabinet was too small. Room was adequate but a bit tired around the edges, which could be said for most of the hotel, needs a bit of TLC.
Pool is available at the back, some stairs have to be climbed, sun area is overgrown with weeds and grass, looks a bit scruffy, sun loungers are available but the areas are small and on a slope.
Breakfast was adequate, we stayed a few days and were getting bored with the selection by day 2.
The hotel has a bar directly across the road from the hotel, lake side seating is perfect for a cold beer, food is available and good standard. Service is good, polite and prompt.
For what you get at the hotel the rooms could be considered a bit expensive, but views and location compensate.

Room Tip: get a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Bellagio for a wedding. The hotel is well located.

Highs:
- nicelly located in a very charming Bellagio. Right in front of Lake Como.
- Incredible view from room
- Correct amenties, although a fridge would be good
- Clean and spacious room
- Nice pool, overlooking the roofs and the Lake, not crowded at all
- Nice and helpful staff
- Provided me with and iron and board when needed

Lows:
- Towels, need improvement as well as some missing amenties.
- Parking, quite pricey as the hotel does not have its own parking

Would absolutely recommend and come back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Lake View, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location on Lake Como in Bellagio. Very easy to get to (no stairs to climb with your heavy bags! and VERY close to the ferry stops). The hotel has a charming, old world feeling, the rooms and amenities are good but I don't think they justify the price. While the hotel overall is quite good, especially if you can get a lake view room, it's the little things that need attention. We found the breakfast was very disappointing compared to the kind of food you get used to in Italy, even at very simple places. Some breakfast items ran out towards the last half hour of the breakfast but were not replaced. Unlike most places where we stayed and ate, this hotel does charge for internet, and despite that we actually were never able to connect to the internet in our room, which was quite an inconvenience. The service at reception was also not as friendly as what we had received almost everywhere else we went in Italy, and I think they should make a bit more effort to have more information about the area to be able to help their guests. Also, the hotel has a gorgeous terrace on the lake, but they don't use it for breakfast, and only for a couple of hours at dinner!! Can't imagine why!! Other than these small things, the hotel overall was nice, and the location really is fantastic.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This beautiful hotel is at the end of a windy narrow road along Lake Como. It has a nice staff and large, comfortable rooms with some having amazing views of the lake. THe rooms are not updated but they are very comfortable, our room had a queen and two singles, big bathrooms and wifi available. The hotel is situated across from the ferry and has several restaurants very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Property: Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing