We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This pretty hotel is incredibly convenient for the harbour and restaurants so is a very handy place to stay. We were in the annexe which is essentially the hotel next door which has been extended into. The room was reasonably good with a large bathroom so fine. While the views are lovely, the road is between the hotel and the lake so there is a lot of noise at night. Rooms are very clean and housekeeping is good. There is a smallish swimming pool.

The bar / restaurant is the other side of the road and is quite pleasant for drinks though the food didn't look anything special (we didn't try it). Breakfast was ok - cereal and bread with cheese / ham / jams / boiled egg. The coffee is out of a machine and pretty awful as was the tea. The fruit was very limited eg a bowl of apples / oranges. We had packed lunches for our hikes which were good and very generous which was much appreciated

Room Tip: The front is noisy but has lake views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior Splendide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family and I had a very enjoyable week staying in Bellagio at the Hotel Excelsior Splendide. The waiters were very helpful and friendly. At dinner on August 15th the ladies were presented with a lovely rose and the gents a print of Bellagio to celebrate the festival of Ferragosto.

I was disappointed with our room allocations. I hired two rooms one for my wife and I and one for my two daughters (19 and 20). The rooms we were allocated on the 4th floor didn’t look like the pictures of the rooms on the hotel website. The travel agent website we booked through didn’t show any room pictures, so the hotel website was the only indication of room quality. Looking at previous reviews, some others have also been disappointed in their rooms, which may be due to having high expectations based on the hotel website pictures. Room 50 which my daughters had was particularly poor, as it didn’t have any windows but 2 small skylights. There wasn’t much headroom in the bathroom; any one of average height and above would be at risk of banging their heads on the ceiling.

I would stay again if I could guarantee getting a better quality room.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have excellent views, but do over look the promenade which can b...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in a large triple room with our teenage daughter overlooking the lake. This proved to be a mixed blessing. While the views were jaw-droppingly gorgeous - outside entertainment into the late evening proved tiresomely noisy on several occasions.
The hotel dates back to the Victorian era and we enjoyed its old worlde charm. Our bathroom and room had had a makeover and felt quite luxurious. (Room 39)
The dining room was busy and quite basic. Breakfast was a buffet affair, with the usual fruit, cold meats, cheese and eggs plus croissants, breads and cereals. Drinks were dispensed via a machine. However, our daughter was disappointed by the lack of cakes
Usually a fixture on Italian hotel breakfast tables!
The pool in the back garden was just adequate being modestly sized and only fairly clean.
Having read other reviews we were pleasantly surprised by the attitude of the staff who were all helpful and pleasant. But don't expect to be bowled over by the service elsewhere in the town. We were met with surly indifference on more than one occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VMJEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is in a prime spot with breathtaking views over the lake. Overall impression was positive. I found our room and the public areas to be clean and well maintained. Wifi was available but you have to ask for the password, likewise air-conditioning will be turned on if you ask for it. The safe was pretty small and the ipad only fitted in at a particular angle, if i'd has a laptop with me there would have been no chance. It is a beautiful old charming building however this means that noise is a big problem. I could hear every word our neighbors said to each other and when the room above got up at 5am to check out, I could hear every footstep.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just back from a week in the hotel. Great hotel and great location. Room was big and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was quite good and a lot of it. Breakfast good but a lot of food at dinner with four courses. Some unusual dishes but you are in Italy and the pasta was lovely. We would recommend the cocktails in the hotel bar, and also the food in their outside restaurant. Just one thing room did not have tea/coffee making facilities but having said that we asked at reception and they gave us a kettle straightaway. Overall our stay was great and beautiful bellagio even when it rained which was quite often. I would recommend this if you want a comfortable friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pabgtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were late to book a place to stay in Bellagio for a 3 night stay. There are several good points to this hotel - the location is right in the centre of the village, no car needed! The staff were pleasant and very helpful with making travel arrangements. The rooms were clean. The pool is lovely and this was a nice extra.

This hotel is taking it's location for advantage. It is tired and needs some TLC. The rooms are so basic its amazing. Apart from the bathroom the only mirror was in the inside of the tired wardrobe. There was not enough storage. The 'double bed' was two single beds pushed together. The bathroom had a shower-bath but instead of having the shower hear at head height it was at knee height? There was no shower curtain. There was cheap shampoo sachets in a plastic cup by the bath. The breakfast was as basic as the rooms. They even had an old 90s coffee machine instead of offering fresh coffee...very basic selection of fruit and cereal and the same breads recycled for several days.

I would not recommend this hotel - E440 for 3 nights stay. Book Bellagio earleir and avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: I guess you could ask for a room with a lake view but I would avoid the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent three nights Half Board here, location to die for. Bellagio is lovely, I would recommend getting the circular walk route map around Bellagio from the tourist information. Took the bus into Como - views spectacular. Hotel very traditional - we had an extremely small room with stunning lake views. The rooms at the front of the hotel seemed to experience a lot of noise. Food very average and disappointing. Would return to Lake Como but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear would be quieter
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range: £89 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing