We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed here for a wonderful 10 days. The hotel is a charming 19th C gem in the heart of Bellagio with the huge pleasure of private garden and swimming pool- invaluable in the heatwave we experienced. We requested a room at the back of the hotel, for quiet, but our original room was very hot. As soon as we inquired about a cooler room, though, we were immediately offered one with air-conditioning, newly redecorated, with which we were delighted. We stayed half-board and, as foodies, were slightly concerned about what to expect but were extremely impressed by the deceptively simple but entirely authentic cuisine. Above all, though, it would be difficult to give enough praise to all the staff who were, without exception, genuinely friendly and endlessly helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Excelsior Splendide
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2010

This hotel does not quite live up to it's name...yet. Hotel is positioned in the centre of Bellagio overlooking Lake Como. Only 20 rooms are newly renovated and have air-conditioning...be sure to request one of these rooms and you should have a pleasant enough stay. The newer rooms are clean, well lit and very nice. We were initially placed in a non-renovated room: hot, dimly lit and dirty. I initially tried to move to another hotel, but all were booked up. The shower had black mold and the bathroom looked worn and dirty as did the room overall. Fortunately, the hotel staff did move us the next day to a newer room and put us in a room with lake view, Breakfast consisted of a buffet-style (continental) setup that was not great: coffee machine kept breaking down; hard boiled eggs not properly cooked, rolls dry. I am basing my overall--atings on staying in the newer cleaner rooms so gave an overall "average" rating (if staying in the older room I would have to rate "poor".

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

I have to totally honest with you, On reading the previous reviews of this hotel my heart was filled with dread and a certain amount of fear but i shouldn't and nor should you take any notice of some of the previous reviews.
On arriving at the hotel (we travelled from Como to Bellagio by bus) i was instantly hit with the beautiful location the hotel was situated, looking straight out over Lake Como.
The lobby to the hotel is special and is filled with sofa's and chairs which are in keeping with the style of the hotel.
We were allocated a Lake view room on the 1st floor which was massive and had a large double bed and 2 single beds, the bathroom was a good size as well.
The breakfast we received was ample and plentiful, on each table there is a basket with bread or rolls, there is also a an area in the corner of the dining room which has a good selection of cold meats, cheese, cereals, cakes / croissants, Yoghurts and finally fruit.
There is also a juice dispenser and a hot drinks dispenser which i have to agree the coffee is terrible but the hot chocolate was very nice as was the tea.
I found the staff very helpful even when i managed to lock the safe in the room and forgot what number i had entered, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We came early season and it was very quiet which was a benefit as we had the place pretty much to ourselves.
In front of the hotel is the ferry terminal which has ferries going all over Lake Como, we bought a day ticket at travelled all over the centre of the lake which was brilliant.
All in all we all had a wonderful time and i would recommend this hotel and i will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toonarmy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

...and given the other options in Bellagio...you should other options as well. I know that sounds harsh, but I would have been happer knowing we could have done better in Bellagio. First if all, let me say that the staff is excellent and very friendly. They are not the issue in any way.

The issue that this hotel is just old. Very old. And not well maintained or updated in any way. The not being updated part is totally fine. No issue there. But the maintained part is clearly an issue and something that all hotels should maintain and keep up with. The room we were given was large, but it was in very bad shape. The floors creaked and felt pretty weak (like a very old farmhouse) and the beds were not super comfortable. For those of you that may say: "you sign up for a 3 star hotel, this is what you get." That may be so, but we just traveled SE Asia for 2+ months and have been in Europe previously and this was not a 3 star in my opinion. The shower was not really existent(shower was a tub with hand held shower head).

The location is excellent and from the outside it looks awesome. Very close to the ferry stop and a truly awesome location for Bellagio. But you can certainly do better for the same price or roughly 10-20 Euros more. The walls are PAPER THIN and be prepared to literally hear everything in the rooms next to you. I have read that in many reviews and never really been impacted by it (too much), but here it was incredible how thin the walls were.

Not that I am in the business, but I would update this place pretty quickly because the location alone is not going to keep this place going with the other options in Bellagio.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44cuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

very very tired decor bedroom facilties very poor. the restaraunt should be avoided at all costs

Stayed: October 2009
Thank Kevsaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Although we did not have a reservation, the hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. The room was very clean and quiet, and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurritoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

reading negative comments before we went we were very apprehensive, however it was fine,although faded glory it had great character ,clean,friendly staff,the food was o.k.we would certainly use this hotel again.Como was beautiful, the best of the lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Lungolario Alessandro Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range: £90 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing