We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel. Super awesome roof deck for all guests.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel. Super awesome roof deck for all guests.”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The bed very comfortable, and the sheets and linens were thick and clean. The breakfast nice, typical euro hotel breakfast (altho, it ended at 10am which is still kind of early for some vacationers like us). Hot water never ran out. Really polite, multi-lingual, friendly, helpful staff.

I'd stay there again if I had to go back to Bellagio. (Which I probably won't because I found Bellagio and the other towns on the lake kind of boring.)

My favorite thing:
There are deck chairs and tables on the roof - nice view. Take a bottle of wine up there and watch the sun set. We brought pizza up there one night too for dinner. Nice.

Minor dislike:
The wifi was weak, like one bar. And, they give you one set of credentials per room so if there are 2 of you you both can't be online at the same time. Not a big deal really if you are on vacation.

Really didn't like:
Live band with a PA system outside our window at the cafe next door playing for several hours for 2 nights while we were there. (And cheesy lounge music too.) The front desk people said there was nothing they could do because the band had a permit from the city to play there at those hours. One night they played pretty late which was annoying because we were trying to sleep.

Also, be aware that this hotel is smack in the middle of town rather close to the large car ferry dock. So, when your windows are open you get lots of noise from people shouting on the street, the occasional car (not all Bellagio is car-free), and most annoyingly the car ferry and its fumes. It was a little noisier than we'd expected. However, overall, it is a nice, clean, well-run hotel so it's worth the minor annoyances IMHO.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyx1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    358
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
141
670
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This was our second trip to Lake Como and our first stay at the Hotel Metropole. They do absolutely everything right at this hotel. It is a three star hotel that gets a five star rating from us. First, the location is the best in town, right on the water in the middle of town. Parking is free just outside the limited traffic area but you can drive up to drop your bags. The hotel is the oldest in Bellagio and it is kept in excellent condition. We had a lovely Double Front Lake View with a beautiful terrace where we could look out at the breathtaking view over Lake Como to the mountains. They provided the very best service of all the hotels we stayed in during our three week trip to Italy. I just can't say enough about this hotel or Bellagio. I highly recommend both and we will be back! Thank you, Hotel Metrople, for the highlight of our trip!

Room Tip: Go for the Front Lake View with Terrace. It's worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moltrasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anywhere in Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed at the Metropole Bellagio for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. We had a very large room that looked out to the side street and Lake. The bath was large and Very clean along with the room. The breakfast was great with lots of things to choice from not just bread and cheese. The front staff and bar staff were very friendly, would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMeatballTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

From the moment we arrived in beautiful Bellagio we were awestruck, and then when we thought we couldn't be more impressed, we reach Hotel Metropole. The staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous and when we opened our room door, we were blown away!! Our beautiful golden toned room and immaculate bathroom were amazing and then we step out onto our private terrace and WOW..again, the lake was just incredible. The room is spotlessly clean and the attention to detail in decoration is fantastic. The bathroom is so spacious and we were so impressed. This hotel sticks out in front of all the others, just as it should be, right at the front as it is beautiful. We had a dinner on the restaurant terrace and several times had our dinner and/or antipasto and wines up on our private terrace. Again, dusk and night time is amazing over the lake and the ferries sailing by. The little bar staff are fantastic and many laughs were had with the girls as they served us. Metropole is ideally located to the ferries and the little alley way shops and the walks up the alleys is so relaxing. We had 4 nights here and were so sad to leave as we could have easily stayed at least one week. This is a must return trip for us and we cannot thank all the staff and people involved with Hotel Metropole to help make our stay so wonderful, we will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Hotel Metropole. Upon arrival the staff was warm and professional, offering advice on the ferry and local sites. The tastefully decorated room was immaculate (we could see our reflection in the polish of the wood floors) and provided every convenience - digital safe, refrigerator, hair dryer, cable tv, etc. The bathroom was spotless - high marks for the power shower. Both the bath and bedroom had walk-out access to an enormous private terrace that overlooked the lake and offered stunning views, which made up for the bed being hard as a rock. An extra glass of wine took our mind off of the stiff mattress. The hotel thoughtfully added rows of trellised plantings which each terrace from adjacent rooms and we spent most of our time in the lounge chairs admiring the scenery. The hotel offers a hearty buffet breakfast with hot and cold items, baked goods, espresso, etc.

If you arrive by car, note that the hotel has no parking - which is common to most properties in the area. Prepare to spend some time finding on-street parking. Only spots in white painted lanes are free - they are a few blocks away and in high demand. Hotel guests are permitted to drive through the pedestrian-only center of town, where the hotel is located, to check-in and drop off bags. The single lane streets, no wider than a compact car, are jammed with tourists that are indifferent to approaching cars. We had to circle the town a few times, moving more slowly than if we had been walking, before finding a spot.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelsNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Best hotel we have stayed for a month, great views, big shower, great staff and a brilliant breakfast
Location is very central to all other towns by boat

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel Metropole in early May 2011. The staff were amazing, really friendly and we received a free upgrade to a lake view room which was so beautiful waking up to the view. They had a fridge in the room which was really handy. The upstairs 360 degree view terrace was great to have a sunbake, read a book while taking in the views. Breakfast was really good as was the coffee. Perfect location and close to everything. Would definitely staye here again and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizandClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
742 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing