We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Best view"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Best view"”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I've stayed here twice and you cannot beat the location and view. The hotel is clean, the staff pleasant and helpful. Excellent location to the ferry dock, especially if you are bringing heavy luggage-no need to climb the many staircases of Bellagio as the hotel is next to the dock. Restuarant was fine-I had a few good meals, but the view on the water is the best, especially at night. The roof deck is a treat as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jess0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    346
    68
    17
    9
See reviews for
138
645
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

After arriving on the ferry from Como , this hotel is just a short stroll from the terminal .
On arrival you walk into the lovely warm decor of their reception , the staff are very efficient and friendly .
We have stayed here a few times , and I always book a corner room for two reasons
1) I like having a bathroom with little French doors , when you wish they open out to a wonderful view,
2) two more sets of French doors and small balconies in the Bedroom also opening up to magnificent views of the lake from different angles.
The rooms themselves are spotlessly clean with pleasant decor , mini bar and air -conditioning .
If you make it up to the roof, there are table settings and deck chairs for guests to take in the never ending views , take a bottle of wine , cheese ,olives and bread and enjoy the sunset. Its a lovely way to chill out and relax , after a day of exploring.
The breakfast is all exclusive with the room rates, the breakfast room always very busy serving an adequate selection of meats , cereals , fruit , really the typical Italian hotel breakfast.
Worthwhile places to visit for a few hours are Varenna and the Villa Cipressi , lunch at Vecchia Varenna Via Scorcesa,
In Bellagio a visit to the beautiful Villa Melzi Gardens, followed up by a lovely dinner for two at Salice Blu restaurant VIa Per Lecco , great food and lovely surrounds .
In Tremezzo , try cocktails on the balcony of the luxurious Hotel Grand Tremezzo .
Or visit the beautiful Villa Balbianello , where many movies where shot on location James Bond , A month of the Lake, and even a episode of star wars .
I hope that you enjoy your stay in wonderful and romantic Bellagio ...... BON VOYAGE

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lanaQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I arrived at this hotel after what we called a 'three train day' across France and Italy, plus an 80euro taxi trip from the San Giovanni train station to the hotel, it was a Friday evening, and we were hungry and weary, not to mention 'thirsty'!!! We had a voucher from our travel agent for a pre-booking for three nights, somehow there had been an error along the line and there was no booking for us at this property. The hotel was at full capacity on that night, and fortunately we were able to share the suite that our daughter and son-in-law had booked into earlier in the day. The staff were amazingly cooperative and kind, and had spare beds and linen in place for us in no time. They were able to give us our own room for the remainder of our stay at a very fair tariff. We would like to point our that the error in our booking was in no way the fault of the hotel. This hotel ticks all the boxes in terms of location and service, and may I say 'trouble-shooting'! The rooms are comfortable and spotless and the food offered in the breakfast room and on 'The Terrace' is of a very high standard. We cannot praise the staff and management enough for the way they handled our dilemna with grace and ease. We highly recommend this charming hotel in the exquisite town of Bellagio.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hendersons_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at the Metropole from 9 October 2011. My wife and I are both 77yrs old and I have difficulty in walking so it was important to be centrally located - the location of the Metropole was ideal. Our reception was welcoming, polite and efficient. We had a front room with small balcony overlooking the lake. Our one disappointment was that the room was rather small and lacked the style and elegance we had expected from the external appearance of the hotel. However, our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The roof garden is superb. Apart from breakfast, we did not eat in the restaurant because we knew of an excellent restaurant (Bilacus) nearby. The breakfast staff were far too eager to clear away everything by 10.00am. When they say breakfast finishes at 10.00am, they really mean it! We enjoyed our stay and would stay at the Metropole again. Do not miss the light lunch at Hotel du Lac in Varenna excellent lunch and memorable views. Car parking in Bellagio is not easy - no surprise there!

Room Tip: High front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank javelin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

It’s pretty high up in the “best hotels in Bellagio” on Tripadvisor. There’s a good reason for it and I just hope that everyone won’t spoil what is a little gem.

Enough has been said about Bellagio, but in short it’s a really pretty little town and the perfect spot to just relax. After some quite major cities and touring, to come here and relax was refreshing. The town has attractive, cobble-stoned streets with plenty of shops (particularly selling silk products) and quaint little trattorias, pasticcerias and gelaterias.
We had a corner room which gave us access to 2 balconies, 1 facing the lake and the other facing the promenade (and partially facing the lake). The room is a bit small but is clean, tastefully decorated and perfectly acceptable 3-star standard. The shower has good water pressure and the TV though small, is LCD with a lot of channels (Italian, English and some French and German channels). The bedding is comfortable and the air conditioning works nicely.

The lift is tiny but the stairways are quite wide so in order to work off some of the pasta and pizza, you can always walk up the stairs (unless you are checking-in/out with your luggage).
The staff are very accommodating and helpful and professional and are quite knowledgeable not only the hotel but the town and other towns on the lake.

With breakfast, the selection is on par with most European continental buffets; though there is a bit more hot food than the average European buffet, it’s not the American type where you can get a lot of hot food. Omelettes on request can be ordered after about 8:30am. The juices were a little unusual and there was inconsistent labelling but this is minor. If you are leaving before 7:30am, you can also be served a partial breakfast if you let the staff know the previous night. We had to get an early hydrofoil in order to get to Malpensa airport and the staff had organised for us to take breakfast (which consisted of a couple of bread rolls and some cereal) in the dining room prior to our ferry departure. This was unexpected as we thought we would need to get some food at Como as the buffet doesn’t open until 7:30am and a nice little service.

As a hotel guest you get 10% off at the hotel restaurant. The food is reasonable though there were other trattorias in the town which were better quality at slightly lower prices but if you don’t know what’s in town on the first night, it’s quite a nice little spot with a beautiful view of the sunset over the lake. Ah la dolce vita!

The hotel is very conveniently located, less than 100m from the ferry terminal and no stairs. Can’t get any better.

All in all, a great little hotel, hopefully its deserved popularity will not spoil it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the full lake view - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JClasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at the Metropole Bellagio for 2 nights and loved it. Our room was a Double Front Lake View room with a small balcony. We were able to sit outside and enjoy the stunning views of Lago di Como with a nice bottle of vino.

The room was adequate in size and very clean. Breakfast was fantastic. There was a nice selection of breads, yogurts, hams/cheeses, eggs & bacon, and sautéed mushrooms along with coffees and juices. We did not eat at the restaurant as there were many great restaurants nearby. Tattoria San Giacomo and Ristorante Bilacus were wonderful.

The location is great, literally just a few steps to the ferry dock. Bellagio was a great base for exploring the other lake towns such as Menaggio, Varenna, Lenno, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovecookie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Superb service - we received a phone call when we were on the train to Varenna just checking our likely arrival time. I like proactive contact like that ! We had a lovely room on the 4th floor with a fabulous view. Very clean bedroom and bathroom. Yes, there's a tiny lift but so what! The location is great, the choices at breakfast are quite vast considering it's a 3 star. All in all they exceeded our expectations and would go back there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoundhayparkersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing