We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strong Recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Recently, friends preparing for their first trip to the Lake Como area asked for a hotel suggestion in Bellagio. Since we have stayed twice at the Hotel Metropole most recently in June of 2011 for a week, the Metropole was at the top of our list. On both stays we found the Hotel to be clean, convenient with a very courteous staff. We are planning to return ourselves in 2013.

By far the Metropole is the best value of any direct waterfront hotel in Bellagio. We would suggest a corner room for a bit more space and a direct view of the lake. Breakfast is included in the price and we found the view from the dining room spectacular, the buffet style offerings were of very good quality. The location is unparalleled, as you can essentially walk out the front door and be at the dock or a local restaurant in minutes. The staff at the front desk is among the best that we have encountered on our many trips to Italy. They are friendly, professional and helpful. They will always steer you in the right direction, figuratively and literally and will offer great suggestions in planning your itinerary. Within minutes they had us mapped out for boat and bus ride to Lugano Switzerland without problem.

Be sure to enjoy the roof top terrace that is open for guests. It offers a great respite for travelers and very relaxing spot after a long day cruising the lake. Purchase a bottle of wine and cheese from a local alimentari and sit an watch the weather come across the lake and mountains. A remakable view from a great hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a corner room that faces both lake Como and adjacent street. A standard room facing the lak...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank profguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole Bellagio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

the location of the hotel is just too good. we did not take the room with lake facing balcony, instead we took the room which had the side views but no regrets, the view was still enchanting. Just that when you open the balcony door to have some fresh air, you would smell petrol and diesel fumes which was very annoying at times.Breakfast was excellent, staff was helpful and nice.overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This time we stayed for a whole week. Having been in October 2011 & determined to see all the spring flowers, the Metropole was the only hotel we would consider. We asked for a 4th floor lake view room & they gave us a superb corner room 454, with the best view from a toilet anywhere in the world!
Everyone was so friendly , breakfast fabulous - especially the made to order tomato omelette - even the snack bar food was superb. Free wifi very welcome albeit not without problems - not the hotel's fault.
Will we visit again? Oh yes - as we approached on the ferry from Varenna we felt like we were coming home.

Room Tip: 454 larger corner room with views of lake and Bellagio
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoundhayparkersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had decided to spend the Easter weekend in Bellagio during our travels, based on the rave reviews from my parents who have been here twice before. While they had stayed at the Hotel Du Lac previously, Dad had mentioned that the Metropole looked like it might be the better choice. We decided to give it a go.

In the end it was the perfect choice. The hotel is just beautiful, the staff so wonderfully warm and friendly, the views spectacular, and the restaurant the best in Lake Como.

The rooms are small, but I think this is to be expected for all hotels around Lake Como. The number one golden rule: make sure you book a lake view room. For the small extra it is simply amazing. The rooms have a small balcony and look out across Lake Como and take in all the sights and sunsets, just amazing.

The restaurant was certainly one of the highlights of the hotel. Breakfasts were nice with a decent spread, and they were happy to make you omelettes or other special requests from the kitchen. For lunch my partner had the spinach ravioli with the cheese and truffle sauce, and I must say it was one of the most amazing meals I have tried on this trip.

For dinner on our last night I had the minestrone and the pepper steak, both of which were superb. The head waiter is a bright, charming guy and made us feel very welcome. He raffled off a giant (and I mean giant) easter egg to a lucky table - it wasn't us, unfortunately, but the winning table graciously decided to share it with everyone at the restaurant. Made for a fun night!

I would highly recommend the Metropole to anyone heading to Lake Como, it's just wonderful!

Room Tip: The Lake View room is the only choice, the view is amazing
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a fourth floor lakefront view and I don't know if we'll ever get a better view from a hotel room again. Very nice breakfast included too. 2 minute walk from ferry and bus stops.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beneisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The leaflet in our room informed us how this hotel was the first in Bellagio.

We stayed for three nights and I think we constituted demanding guests: asking the reception to make reservations, asking many times to use the hotel's laptop computer, asking for an iron and board to be brought up to our room. On all occasions the hotel staff (I think that I have met them all) were warm and willing to help.

Breakfast was a grand spread with almost all you could wish for. The bread especially, although it seems basic was fresher than that of any other establishment that I have visited in Italy.

The resteraunt, although it is registered as only a three star exudes a kind of casual opulence.

The view is good from almost all angles, especailly from the breakfast room where you can waste hours away watching the ferry boat chugg over and back or on see the sun glistening on the water.

I loved my stay here which fulfilled all I could hope for in a hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank DaphneOD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We drove up to Bellagio not fully expecting such a wonderful hotel right on the lake. The rooms are as clean and shined as only European hotels can be. The Hotel is in the middle of town, parking next door, and easy walk to any where.

Great breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ghostrider5408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
758 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
920 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £85 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing