We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, except for VERY hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,030 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, except for VERY hard beds”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and two adult sons stayed here for four nights. It is a very good, reasonably-priced hotel right on the lake, near the ferry stations, with excellent, friendly, knowledgeable service, a fantastic breakfast buffet, friendly bar with outside seating, nice rooms with excellent bathrooms, and a beautiful roof top garden/lounge with panoramic views of the lake. We had lake-view rooms, with are worth the extra money. I would absolutely stay there again.

The only things that kept me from rating it excellent were the very small, single elevator, the VERY hard, low-set beds, the relatively thin bath linens, and the cement stairs and "unfinished" stairwells.

But for the money and given all of the other pluses, I can definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    365
    69
    18
    9
See reviews for
142
679
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Great location in town. Staff gave helpful guidance for parking, which is challenging. We selected room with a balcony which gave a great view and if it hadn't been raining would have been a fantastic place to enjoy the lake. Needed to leave the window open when it was warm out as A/C wasn't available yet. This meant times of diesel fumes from the ferry boats. We managed ok, but without a breeze, this could have been "bad". Room also had some kind of odor, either strong cleaning fluids or leftover smell from renovation work. Breakfast had lots of choices with a really good espresso machine.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank msanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I booked a 7 night stay at the Metropole for myself and my husband and my parents.
It was our first time in Lake Como and it was just the most wonderful holiday.
Having trolled through loads of brochures and websites I decided on Bellagio and the Metropole for location and previous positive reviews.
Bellagio is by far the best place to stay on the lake. Its central location for ferry journeys, its hotels and restaurants and the wonderful shops, it is ideal.
My father has difficulty walking and did find the number of steps somewhat challenging but that was the only downside.
The Metrople hotel is warm, friendly, ideally situated and just great all-round.
It might not be luxurious but the rooms we had were large and comfortable and exceptionally clean.The breakfast was adequate and I think they should get rid of the coffee machine in favour of served tea/coffee as the queue to geta cappuccino caused more problems than anything. Also the ham/bacon needed more cooking but that's a British thing!!
The staff were lovely and obliging and I really could not recommend it enough.
We arrived last week with snow still covering the mountains and so the views from the rooftop terrace were stunning.
We travelled quite a bit by ferry and although some of the other lakeside towns are nice , they do not compare to Bellagio.
Restaurants......our favourite was Far Out, not your usual Italian name, but it was fab. Lovely owner, who could not do enough for us and so we went 3 times in 7 days.
The other was a pizza place, just up from Far Out, and they made the most delicious pizzas in their woodburning oven. People were queueing for it to open at 7pm!.
Had one disappointing meal at Bilacus, overpriced and miniscule portions, although other people recommended it....so it's a personal choice.
Highlights of the trip.......Villa Carlotta, taking the cable car in Como, visiting the Tremezzo Palace hotel, which is gorgeous,Lenno, which is a lovely town....but by far the best for me was our visit to Villa Balbianello.
You arrive at Lenno on the ferryboat and then get a water taxi round the promontary to the Villa.
It is absolutely stunning and worth going to Lake Como just to see it.
If there is a heaven on earth, then that must be it.
As you can tell from my review, we really did have the most wonderful holiday and the Metrople hotel played a very big part in that and so please go if you ever get the chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jostarStoke-on-Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Eight lovely days - a wonderful location for ferry visits to surrounding towns. Boat tour to Villa Balbianello, cooking class with Chef Moreno, daytrip to Lugano, Switzerland, Saturday shopping in Como, visits to Villa Carlotta and Villa Melzi and lunch at Isola Comacina made this a fabulous vacation. Go while your knees are still in good shape, aside from the water-facing promenade where Hotel Metropole is located, everything was uphill. Waterfront room was fine as were our meals in the dining room. Friendly staff was eager to please.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Recently, friends preparing for their first trip to the Lake Como area asked for a hotel suggestion in Bellagio. Since we have stayed twice at the Hotel Metropole most recently in June of 2011 for a week, the Metropole was at the top of our list. On both stays we found the Hotel to be clean, convenient with a very courteous staff. We are planning to return ourselves in 2013.

By far the Metropole is the best value of any direct waterfront hotel in Bellagio. We would suggest a corner room for a bit more space and a direct view of the lake. Breakfast is included in the price and we found the view from the dining room spectacular, the buffet style offerings were of very good quality. The location is unparalleled, as you can essentially walk out the front door and be at the dock or a local restaurant in minutes. The staff at the front desk is among the best that we have encountered on our many trips to Italy. They are friendly, professional and helpful. They will always steer you in the right direction, figuratively and literally and will offer great suggestions in planning your itinerary. Within minutes they had us mapped out for boat and bus ride to Lugano Switzerland without problem.

Be sure to enjoy the roof top terrace that is open for guests. It offers a great respite for travelers and very relaxing spot after a long day cruising the lake. Purchase a bottle of wine and cheese from a local alimentari and sit an watch the weather come across the lake and mountains. A remakable view from a great hotel.

Room Tip: Reserve a corner room that faces both lake Como and adjacent street. A standard room facing the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank profguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

the location of the hotel is just too good. we did not take the room with lake facing balcony, instead we took the room which had the side views but no regrets, the view was still enchanting. Just that when you open the balcony door to have some fresh air, you would smell petrol and diesel fumes which was very annoying at times.Breakfast was excellent, staff was helpful and nice.overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shamBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This time we stayed for a whole week. Having been in October 2011 & determined to see all the spring flowers, the Metropole was the only hotel we would consider. We asked for a 4th floor lake view room & they gave us a superb corner room 454, with the best view from a toilet anywhere in the world!
Everyone was so friendly , breakfast fabulous - especially the made to order tomato omelette - even the snack bar food was superb. Free wifi very welcome albeit not without problems - not the hotel's fault.
Will we visit again? Oh yes - as we approached on the ferry from Varenna we felt like we were coming home.

Room Tip: 454 larger corner room with views of lake and Bellagio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoundhayparkersLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
749 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
894 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing