We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Location and View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“For the Location and View”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

3 Star , 5/10 (8/10 view and location)
Old hotel partially refitted (Bathrooms). Some Balconies some just windows.
Only the road seperates you from the water and the restraunt where you have breakfast has excellent views. As do a fair percentage of the rooms.
Airconditioning , Minibar , Firm Kingsized bed but only average pillows.
No Tea / Coffee making facilities which was dissapointing.

Room Tip: As For a room on the Right hand side (As you face the building) it faces the lake. Get a taxi and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    352
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
140
659
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The staff and the view make this hotel great. The hotel itself is average with large very clean rooms. The view onto Lake Como is remarkable and can be seen from the restaurant, cafe, and rooftop terrace. The complimentary breakfast was well worth it, but skip the restaurant for dinner as there are much better options in the town. The seasonal staff worked around the clock and were very helpful and friendly. We stayed here in mid-June and there were no crowds.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a full lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andriana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

What a great hotel. Great view and really lovely staff. Right in the heart of Bellagio. Very comfortable. Has a small balcony but was enough for the two of us. One of the very best stays in all our travels. The cafe and restaurant are both great. Arriving there in September we had just missed the summer crowds. Weather was still good-t-shirts and light pants. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had top left room and had views up and down the lake. The best room in the place but any top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last summer on our first visit to Lake Como. We took the boat from Como to Bellagio after getting the train to Como from Milan Malpensa airport. Hotel Metropole is situated right by the water in the middle of Bellagio near the boat jetty so we saw it the moment we arrived. Check-in was quick and staff were friendly. We'd requested a room overlooking the lake on a high floor and our request was fulfilled - we had a beautiful view of the lake and a balcony - worth paying the extra. Bathroom was clean with plenty of towels and toiletries. The hotel decor was perhaps slightly dated but this is often to be expected of a European hotel. Breakfast was brilliant as the restaurant terrace is right next to the water with breath-taking views of the lake and mountainous backdrop. There was a choice of eggs, bacon, bread and conserves, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and everything you'd expect from a buffet breakfast. Location couldn't have been better as was only a short walk to all the shops and restaurants. Bellagio in July was really hot and we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fizzy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The Metropole is very well situated on the water front and within the heart of Bellagio. Service was excellent and the food good, We enjoyed our lake facing balcony enormously as well as the open patio for sundowners. The staff were always friendly and efficient, The room, although pretty much the norm for much of Europe, was a liitle old fashioned and on the small side compared to what we are accustomed to in the southern hemisphere. The Metropole however definitely offers great value.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms with juliet balconies are great to watch the sunset from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnWates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
195 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This was my 2nd time staying at this lovely little hotel. It almost feels like you are staying in someone's lakeside villa. The reception staff are very helpful and always had a smile and a welcoming attitude, no matter how many questions I asked.

We stayed there only 1-night because the hotel was closing for the season the very next day, Sunday October 28th. But again, 1-night was enough to explore the lovely town of Bellagio and enjoy the lovely terrace adjacent to our room. We had a lakefront terrace room - quite amazing for the price. I imagine this hotel is booked far in advance during the tourist season, however I prefer the fall.

We felt like we had the town to ourselves except for the occasional group of tourists. The weather was chilly but still quite pleasant. There was snow on the surrounding mountain tops, incredible for this lake region. The shops were open as well as most of the restaurants.

The room was recently completely refurbished, and had hardwood floors throughout and a very stately old-world decor. With a view like this and a veranda you could really stay here for a week and explore the surrounding towns via ferry.

The restaurant was very nice and the food very good. We had dinner there and the breakfast buffet was included in the room rate. I am looking forward to my next stay, however I have to think of a better way to reach the town. The limo from the airport was about a 1 1/2 hour ride.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a verandah, or a balcony lakefront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Like so many of the other reviewers for this hotel we had a brilliant stay at Metropole. This really is a great choice at a good price for a stay in Lake Como. Our room on the top floor with a small balcony overlooking the lake was ideal for our 7 nights exploring Lake Como and surrounds. Furniture and decor in the room is a little 60's 70's looking, but totally overlooked as soon as you swing the French doors open so the sun fills the room as you step onto the balcony to take in the view. The bathroom and room are kept very clean by housekeeping.
All staff at reception and at the Terrace restaurant and breakfast room were professional friendly and helpful. We dined on a few occasions at the Terrace Restaurant and the food was excellent. We were very pleased with our choice of the Hotel Metropole and enjoyed our time spent here very much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
867 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing