We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in Lake Como”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bliss in Lake Como”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We loved our stay here. Lake Como is absolutely gorgeous and very romantic and our room added to the romance! We had travelled quite a bit through Italy before and were expecting a small room and the “terrace” to be something that 2 people could barely fit on. Yet, we walked into our room and it was HUGE! Very comfortable, spacious and clean. Then, we opened the curtains and wowser!! A huge terrace with amazing views! We almost didn’t want to leave the room for our lunch reservation but greed got in the way and we went down to eat in the hotel’s restaurant. Food was delicious and the service phenomenal. We had a bottle of beautiful wine and the staff were kind enough to send us off with another bottle so we could relax on our terrace in the sun.

We unfortunately only had 2 nights in this hotel – I wish I could have stayed longer. Just lazing around on the terrace, drinking wine and soaking up the sun was bellisimo!!

I definitely recommend staying here and if it is in your price range, get a room with the large terrace!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    351
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
140
658
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from two weeks of independent travel in Italy, including four nights in Bellagio on the shores of Lake Como. Hotel Metropole exceeded all our expectations in every respect. Our deluxe room on the first floor was large, spotless and had a wonderful view from our large private terrace facing lake Como. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful especially the front desk personnel. Much to our surprise the food served in the hotel dining room was excellent and very reasonably priced, including the wide selection of wine. Ivan and his dinning staff made our dining experience so enjoyable that we ate at the hotel a second evening, something we rarely do. On the other two evenings we dined at outlying restaurants which provided transportation to and from their locations. The front desk made all the arrangements. Breakfast was included and was substantial with a wide variety of American and European choices. All in all the hotel was "just perfect."

Room Tip: Select first floor room with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louvrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I've been to Bellagio 3 times and always thought if I returned I'd stay at the Metropole as its located between both the passenger and car ferries, the perfect lakeside location. Our best meals during our whole Italian trip was here two nights on the Terrace Restaurant. Try the Rissoto and Lake Perch/or trout, fantastic! The wait staff were great with the teenagers, and handsome too. The family management were all very helpful with local sightseeing tips. We want to warn everyone not to drive up from Como city on the eastern lake road which is one car wide with myriads of blind curves which gave me a heart attack after heart attack. Drive up the western lake road and take the car ferry over from Candanabia to Bellagio, a much wider and less windy road. We stayed 3 nights and loved our stay.Pat C. Travel agent for 47 years

Room Tip: If travelling with your kids, choose the side rooms across from each other on the first floor, one h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Such a Beautiful hotel. A view from the window that feels like you are actually on the lake. The cleanliness is noticed as soon as you step into the lobby and thankfully continues on throughout the hotel. Then, to top it all off, not even having to leave for dinner. One of our best meals on our italian holiday. Thank you for such a special weekend.

Grazia mille

Michael and Marzia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mdthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Perfect location for exploring Lake Como. Take the bus from Como station, it's far cheaper than the boat and it's a spectacular ride, if a little scary. The hotel is perched right on the lake with a gorgeous terrace for breakfast and dinner (food was fine but there are better options). I was so excited to see our room with a view but we were unlucky (and on our honeymoon and all) and received a room with a side view and no verandah. After recovering from my disappointment I was pleased with the overall experience, the rooms are nice enough, a little dark but ours was very spacious. The absolute highlight of our time here was the rooftop terrace. Star jasmine was in full blood and we spend two nights alone, with the stunning sunset, a woodfired from the local pizzeria and a bottle of local red. I couldn't believe we were there alone, it was the best seat in Bellagio! Also check out the wine bars on the street uphill from this hotel, intimate and great cheese!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MoniqueS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is in the best location - right on the lake and the views are stunning. The staff are excellent and the hotel is spotless. Great variety at breakfast and had a good meal when we ate there one evening. The room we had wasn't large but absolutely fine and had a lovely view. It was quiet and rooms were cool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Metropole for our honeymoon, so it could be easy to get carried away here. However this hotel IS a very good hotel. The glitches? The sometimes tempremental hot water in the shower on the 4th floor? It will come eventually. The small shower enclosure, where I kept knocking the shower settings with my back? That's about all really; the rest is all very good. The room was quite compact, but exceptionally well kept. The bathroom was clean and roomy. The decor is simple but pleasing. there was a mini fridge in the room stocked with a selection of resonably priced drinks. We had room 451, which is central on the top floor and facing the lake. The view is simply stunning and it was great to while away a few hours on the balcony. The room was cleaned daily, the bed made up, towels exchanged and toiletries restocked. The roof top terrace is a great feature, but I wish there was some way of ordering drinks from up there. The reception area is open and modern. The staff were all very pleasant and eager to serve. They were also informative about the area and facilities and helped us to arrange some of our trips, or the hiring of boats, which they had delivered to the hotel dock for us. The ferries depart from right outside the hotel, so there can be noise from those and sometimes late night revellers. However we did choose to sleep with our balcony doors open every night, when we could have closed them to keep out any noise and activated the excellent air conditioning in the room. This is a very good hotel and we will treasure our memories of staying here. Thank you to all of the staff!

Room Tip: Top floor front rooms have the best view. First floor front rooms have a private terrace. Side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevo2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
863 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing