We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Metropole: Couldn't Have Chosen a Better Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2008

I do a lot of research prior to selecting a hotel. The Hotel Metropole is located directly on Lake Como. From my research, I believe it is the only hotel on the lake in Bellagio having rooms with terraces. I was lucky enough to be able to reserve a lakefront room at the Metropole with a large terrace. The location is perfect - just a short walk from the dock.

I call this hotel room "The Room with a View." It was spectacular (not the room - the view!). The room itself was spacious and clean, but simple in decor with "French" doors leading out to the terrace.

Our bathroom was large and clean also with "French" doors leading out to the terrace.

The hotel common areas were not particularly special. The front desk personnel was always courteous and helpful.

The continental breakfast was typical of what we usually are offered in Italy, plus a variety of coffee.

I highly recommend the Hotel Metropole.

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank DameKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stayed at the Metropole for a week in May. We chose this particular hotel because of its location (right on the lake) and were not disappointed - the views from our room were magnificent. Although the room itself was quite small, it was more than adequate and had a little balcony where you could sit in the afternoon/early evening sunshine enjoying the scenery and watching the ferries coming and going. The bathroom seemed to have been newly refurbished and had an excellent shower, washbasin, toilet and bidet.

We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Francesco (the head waiter) couldn’t do enough for us and was always smiling and laughing. Bar staff and reception staff were also very amenable and pleasant.

The buffet breakfasts were pretty good serving a selection of meats, cheeses, cereal, fruit along with rolls/croissants and toast. At dinner there was always a choice but, sadly, the food was very average. The potatoes were sometimes undercooked, the fish/ meat course was often overcooked and the Risotta Milanese one evening was inedible. The rice was hard! Fancy not being able to cook a decent Risotta Milanese in Italy!!

Overall though, we enjoyed our stay. If only the cuisine could be improved somewhat, it would be excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

We have recently returned from a wonderful three week trip to Italy. The Hotel Metropole was perfectly located for attractions and shopping in the cute city of Bellagio. The staff were at all times personable and helpful. Other positive reviewers covered most of what I feel, we really enjoyed our stay here. We had a room on the third floor facing the water two nights and were moved to the 1st floor with the large terrace for the third night. Loved the views from here. You could pick apart any location if you really wanted to, but we enjoyed every minute of this hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ojaidenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

We stayed here to three nights in April 2008 and had a wonderful time. We were originally going to stay in Milan but at the last minute changed our minds to Bellagio (and we are so glad we did). We booked online direct with the hotel and were able to secure a last minute deal for a room with a "side view of the lake". We weren't expecting much of a view of anything, so were absolutely amazed at the view we ended up with (it was room 336). We had double french doors which opened up onto the main square and ferry terminal so there was always something interesting to watch on the odd occasion we were in our room. Had no trouble with our booking, or checking in/checking out. Staff at reception were very helpful, particularly when we wanted advice on how to get to Milan for the day (can be done quite easily taking the ferry and train, allow two hours each way). There is a very interesting concept internet cafe only a two or three minute walk up the hill and we needed laundry facilities which were also close by, again up the hill. Room facilities were fine including a good bed. Only complaint was mould on the ceiling of the bathroom, which a maintenance person was trying to fix during our stay. We thought this was a bit poor. Breakfast was adequate, however we enjoyed the breakfast room view probably more than the breakfast. The coffee from an automatic coffee maker was very ordinary. We felt real coffee could have been provided for not much more effort. It was a great location for a hotel, and some interesting walks to nearby villages. Obviously Bellagio is very popular with day trippers. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and the place was frantic, very busy. But we found by Sunday night most day trippers had gone and it was very peaceful. Probably one of the highlights of our Italian vacation. Would go to Ballagio and stay at the Hotel Metropole again.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank LoveToTravel032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

We chose Hotel Metropole based upon reviews in TripAdvisor. Because it was lower priced than other lakefront properties, I made particularly note of the fact that it was not noisy (a common complaint of Hotel Du Lac). And it wasn't! Yes, the room was small but the bathroom was large and updated. Yes, the furniture wasn't 5-star quality but, at this price, who cares. It was clean. We never found a problem with the breakfast area as the previous reviewer had. The eggs were hard-boiled rather than hot but they had the same fruits we found everywhere, plenty of cold-cut meat selections, fresh breads, etc.

What made Metropole special for us, however, was Martina at the front desk. She couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant to deal with. She gave us excellent recommendations, made reservations for us, and generally anticipated whatever we might be about to ask.

If you're expecting 5-star luxury for 3-star prices, forget it. But if you want very nice views, convenience, good bathroom, plentiful breakfast, and excellent service, Hotel Metropole worked for us on all these points at about 60-70% of the price of other lakefronts.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasGal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2008

I wish I could understand the hype about this place from the other reviewers.... it was one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed in.

Room decor is garage sale, carpets frayed, 1949 TV set, glaring fluorescent lights in bathroom, rubber pillows and prison-cell hard "beds". Breakfast buffet very limited, and picked over (and not replenished) an hour before breakfast was over. Tried to have dinner, but a tour bus of maybe 75 people showed up with us, and we took a pass.

Staff indifferent at best, and nobody to help you with your luggage.

Yes, the location is good and the rooms have nice views. So do most of the other hotels in town.

Take a pass-- there are many better places in Bellagio!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank SMTORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMBellagio, Manager at Hotel Metropole Bellagio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2008

Dear Mr. Smtord,

I’m so sorry for your disappointing stay but I don’t find nothing true in your review, especially regarding the room furnitures and staff behaviour .

Best regards, Giacomo Rota



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

The Metropole is right on the water and at the ferry terminal. A grand old hotel that is a little past it's prime, but it offers a good value in a beautiful setting. I look forward to my next trip here.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank flynomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £121 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing