We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay - bellisimo”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bellagio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I found this hotel here on trip advisor and it was a great find. It was a five star experience. The rooms very comfortable, had everything we needed. But the outstanding part was the wonderful view from the rooms and the roof - simply stunning. The service was great, both in the hotel and the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the waiters cheeky....just how we love our Italian waiters. Just an amazing place to stay, we didn't want to leave. Great value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room on the Lake, it's not much more and totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

I cannot sing the praises of the Hotel Metropole enough! It has an excellent location on the lakeside, one minute from both the car ferry or the passenger ferry stations. Our room was clean, extremely comfortable and it was well worth paying the extra to get a room with a balcony. The views are to die for! We dined in the restaurant on the terrace a few times and the food was unbelievably good (though you pay a little more in the lakeside restaurants).
What makes this hotel though is the staff. They took the time to get to know us and they went out of their way to give us any information or help they could. When we asked wanted to visit other areas on the lake, they had a folder with pre-printed maps, timetables, information to give you and they explained everything very well.
Bellagio is the best place to stay as it offers far more in terms of beauty, shops and restaurants. Don't expect shed loads of things to do here as it is a small place, but other places on the lake are so easily accessible. We spent two weeks in and around Bellagio and the Swiss boarder - plenty to do!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at the Metropole for a week, we were given a second floor lake view room with a tiny balcony, just enough room for the two chairs, but with absolutely amazing views across the lake. The quaint room was small but incredibly clean, the bed (twins pushed together) was quite firm but comfortable. The bathroom was good with a decent shower and a bidet! Wifi was excellent. The room also had lovely cool air conditioning and a safe.
Breakfast was good, the fresh fruit salad was lovely and they also had Twinings tea bags.
Staff were friendly and helpful, remembering which room number we had after only one visit to the reception desk.
The outside bar area was great for an aperitf before dinner, I can recommend the Aeperol Spritz!
We used the restaurant a couple of times, a bit pricey compared to other restaurants in Bellagio and the food was ok. Would recommend Bilacus and Fontana restaurants as alternatives.
The hotel's location was excellent, right on the lake in the middle of Bellagio, literally a couple of minutes from the car ferry in one direction and the passenger ferry in the other. The noise from the ferries didn't disturb us, the hotel has great double glazing!
The roof terrace at the hotel is definitely worth seeking out, especially in the evening when the sun is going down, the views are fantastic.
Bellagio is a beautiful town, it's not the cheapest place to eat or drink in, 4€ for a soft drink or a small beer, a two course meal with wine would set us back around about 50-60€. The walks to the 'ponte' where the arms of the lake meet and to the fishing village down the hundred odd steps are definite must do's
It is definitely worth getting the six day ferry pass if you're going to be travelling about the mid lake area, it costs 45€ which seems expensive, but the short hop on the car ferry to Cardenabbia was 4.60€ one way, so it made sense for us to buy the six day pass.
We will be back one day...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TDWKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just back from a trip to the lakes that included a week on Lake Como in The Metropol at Bellagio. To be honest, a week is way too long, 4 days would have been sufficient. However, Bellagio is by far the best place to stay and this is the best hotel there unless you want to pay for the privilege of staying at the 5* Grand Villa Serbelloni and enjoy the food at their Michelin starred restaurant. Boy, do you pay! We had a lake view room with a small balcony and although small had been done up beautifully. If you are driving, like us, you MUST book a garage via the Hotel Eden which our hotel staff did for us well in advance. Expensive but essential. We usually do not eat dinner in hotels but the first night we were tired and decided to eat in the restaurant which is literally on the lake. We had a wonderful meal with excellent service in a wonderful setting and after looking around the following day at various restaurants, realised that the menues were very similar and none offered the location of our hotel's restaurant and promptly ate there every night! Remember, this is a 3* hotel and you will love it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnNSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I am now at my fourth stay at this hotel. This time I have got a front and side view room on the north side top floor. Fantastic. Even got an amazing view from the bathroom. Great views and a lot less car ferry noise. This is just a gem of a hotel. Great restaurant downstairs, staff are just amazingly helpful and they even remember you from your last stay.( so they say). Location could not be better, right on the Piazza, close to everything you need, yet peaceful and friendly. Could not imagine staying anywhere else in Bellagio. Rooms are very comfortable and prices are very reasonable considering been right on the water. Do yourself a favour and give this place a go. It's not a fancy place but it has everything you need with a smile.

Room Tip: If you book early enough there are 4 or 5 rooms on the first floor which have about a 30m2 terrace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariston50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights and it was amazing. The service was outstanding. The location was incredible. We had a gorgeous corner room with great views. We could shut the doors at night and sleep in silence with the double glazing. It was a highlight of our trip. We will definitely go back. Thanks

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Nat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel at the end of May for 3 nights. Because we were here for the longest portion of our trip, it really felt like home and we were so sad to leave. The owners couldn't be any cuter and any more friendly. The wife even turned my kids on to a site for custom made Converse selling for $150 a pair which they loved. We really felt like a part of the family as they served us gelato even after closing or gave us drinks from the bar after telling us they were closed. What a surprise to get our two White Russians we were craving after missing the deadline of the bar closing. Certainly don't take advantage of their kindness but know that if they see an opportunity to serve, they will go out of their way to be sure you have all that you need. In addition, we had a fabulous room with a balcony we could have thrown a party on for 20 people, great view and great place to hang out. The location is the best in Bellagio and the restaurant for dinner was so superb that we ate their twice. Service again was outstanding. The only negative is that the wi-fi isn't as good in some rooms as in others but that kept us in the lobby getting to know the staff and getting to know the other hotel guests. Incredible stay, would go back and spend a week here for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the balcony, amazing and huge. Our corner room had an extra bedroom in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#7 of 16 in Bellagio
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £119 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing