We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Arrived late in the evening in the rain by the Ferry.Called the Hotel and the Manager can in his personal call to pick us up. Staff very friendly. Room clean and comfortable. Location near the ships and town.

Room Tip: They upgraded us to a bedroom and sitting room. Nice touch.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRENTISS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Metropole Bellagio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

First of all, I've come to believe that Bellagio is the best holiday centre in which to base oneself when holidaying around Lake Como. It is a classy large village/small town, with an excellent range of good accommodation, both serviced and self-catering, and a fine selection of good restaurants, shops, delicatessens, mini-markets and the like. Within walking distance one also has the spectacular Melzi Gardens to visit, along with the neighbouring hamlets such as Pescallo, Loppia and San Giovanni. Bellagio itself is also well-situated for excursions to and explorations of the many other interesting places on both sides of the lake.

Hotel Metropole is situated nicely right on the lake itself, their wide-ranging buffet breakfasts are good, and their restaurant and bar offer very good food. However, what stood out the most for us were the many members of staff we encountered. At Reception, everyone was friendly, efficient and helpful. In the dining room, all who waited on us were very pleasant. A special mention to Svetlana (Lucia), however, who looked after us so very well every morning at breakfast time in the dining room. Also, those who were servicing the rooms were always most pleasant, greeting us with "Buongiorno" when seeing us in passing.

Our bedroom was fairly ordinary overall, but certainly adequate, and was well-equipped with television, tea/coffee-making facilities, a most welcome refrigerator, telephone, toiletries and a nice side view of the lake. Plus, it had controllable air conditioning, which we were pleased to have available on some of the warmer days. We had chosen Hotel Metropole with a standard room selection via a tour operator, as transportation from Malpensa Airport and back would otherwise have been a lengthy and most likely exhausting enterprise. Being of a senior age, that does make a difference.

If one wishes one of their "superior" rooms, it might be worth it to book one of those, as we saw one for ourselves. The room was of good size, had beautiful wooden flooring and had a large terrace facing the lake. In addition to having wonderful views, I would imagine that these rooms are their most quiet ones. As one might expect, the cost of these rooms is considerably more than that of their standard rooms, but that is not surprising. The choice is up to you based on your financial circumstances and your priorities.

Room Tip: As mentioned in the narrative, I would suggest choosing one of their superior rooms if you find the...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Read all the reviews that have good things to say and believe them, saves me repeating them. A wonderful hotel in the best position in the most amazingly beautiful area.
I was most impressed with the way the staff dealt with a odour problem we had with our room. The problem was in the municipal area. Old area, old hotel, old plumbing. We were offered another room immediately. There was still an odour problem in the New room, but by opening windows it was manageable and we were willing to stay. Management informed us of the source of the problem and kept us up to date with the repair. We were offered a substantial reduction in our bill. I would stay there again in a heartbeat..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is perfectly positioned, right in the centre of town and right on the lake front. The staff are wonderful, the hotel nicely decorated, the rooms comfortable and the views simply breathtaking.

Our room on the first night was a side lake view which was comfortable but then we had splashed out and booked two nights in a terrace lake view, and on my god, the view was out of this world. You had a comfortable well decore room, a large terrace that could hold around 15 people standing, and the views, if I haven't mentioned them already, wow! If you want to splash out for a night then do not go past a terrace room, buy a bottle of wine from the local wine shop and bring it back and enjoy every moment. The breakfast and wait staff were outstanding, they even organised for the night Porter to open the breakfast area for a quick bite before we left at 6am as they don't normally open until 7.30am.

The hotel is situated right in between the ferry terminals, everything is easily accessible.

Thank you. Hotel Metropole for a beautiful, unforgettable stay in Bellagio. Would stay with you again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Following our sat nav on route to Bellagio we were confused by being told that we only had 16 kilometres to go but it would take 1 hour and 10 minutes to complete. However all was revealed when we arrived at the ferry station on the shore opposite Bellagio, we borded the ferry for the short trip across the lake. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly helpful staff and shown to our room at the front of the hotel overlooking the lake. The room was described as compact which was accurate, however perfectly adequate for a one night stay and more than made up for by the view over Lake Como, bathroom was also a little on the small side but sufficient for our needs. Dinner was taken on the terrace at the waters edge, very good food and well served by the efficient friendly staff. Towards the end ofr the meal we were joined by a pair of ducks waddling between the tables, it certainly made a change from the normal sparrows and pigeons. After a very good nights sleep the day started with the view over the lake from the bedroom window which is well worth the room cost alone. Breakfast was served overlooking the lake and a more than adequate selection. Already planning a return visit, but for longer to see the ducks again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view, its too good to miss.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryTUk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If I visited Lake Como every year I would always return to Bellagio, and choose to stay at the Hotel Metropole. It's a hotel with character, very Italian, and well run by efficient courteous staff.
We stayed for 10 days in twin bedded room 340 on the 3rd floor. The spotlessly clean bedroom had a balcony, full front lake view, a fridge, safe, and plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. Quality modern fittings, excellent shower with towels changed daily, and 'bravo' - coffee and tea making facilities replenished daily. Breakfast was superb, and the retaurant perched on the lake edge is light and fresh, with enchanting views of the ferry boats criss-crossing the lake as you start your day with eggs, bacon, croissants, or whatever you fancy.
The Hotel Metropole has the best position in Bellagio - right on the very lake edge, and at the same time it is the centre of 'happening', with shops, restaurants, and ferries all within two minutes walk. Bellagio is a sophisticated resort, and the outside bar of the Metropole attracts many of the well dressed, designer clad Italians, so the bar is perfectly placed for people watching. Due to it's position the Metropole's lakeside retaurant has to be Bellagio's number one attraction for evening dining - but unfortunately (and I am very sorry to add these comments) there the attraction ends, because I found the Metropole's evening meals unappealing, over-priced, and very disappointing compared with the usual high standard of food experienced in Italian hotels. Lasagne was a dry, overcooked square piece of pasta that reminded me of grandma's suet meat pudding, and a piece of perfecly cooked chicken arrived with absolutely no garnish, not even a salad leaf, 'dry' on the plate with french fries. We tried two evening meals in the main retaurant, neither of which showed any imagination, plus a more casual evening meal in their bar where we found that pasta was unobtainable after 7.00pm, and to my surprise french fries with my cheese-burger were also unobtainable after 7.00pm.
Presumably this policy is designed to compel customers into the main restaurant. If so the policy did not work whilst we were there because although lakeside tables in the restaurant were always full, it was noticeable that the inside of the restaurant (also with enchanting lake views) was usually near to being empty. Please do not let these comments detract from the otherwise high standard of the hotel. Just make sure you book the Metropole on a bed and breakfast basis so you can sample their evening meals before you commit yourself.
Eating in Bellagio is not easy - good restaurants are hard to find. Try La Fontana (see review) on Via Centrale. We travelled through Inghams who as always were efficient and helpful with terrific holiday couriers. A great holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a front room with balcony. 2nd floor upwards. Quieter with magnificent rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deegeestorywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel couldn't be more in the center of town than it is. Each ferry port is just steps from your doorstep. It's by far the most convenient location of them all. The hotel staff was wonderful the entire stay, very friendly and helpful with every question we had. They were all a delight to deal with. The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms, restaurants and common areas all looked like they were nice and well-kept. We had lakefront room 227 on the corner of the building. The room was a decent size and had two small decks instead of just one since it was on the corner. One facing the lake and the other on the side facing the direction of the passenger ferry docks. Even the bathroom had yet another opening to the street but not a deck to walk out on, just a railing there as soon as you open the doors. But it was a nice way to get a good cooling cross-breeze through the room. The views of the lake right outside your door were just incredible. It was nice to be able to sit and relax out there after a long day of activities and walking, or after getting back from a nice dinner out. The ferries are almost constantly coming and going right outside your door during their scheduled times but we didn't find this bothersome at all. It was more than worth it to have them that close when you needed them too. If you already had tickets, you could leave your room five minutes before the ferry and still make it aboard with time to spare. The breakfast was pretty good. It was enough for us. We never skip breakfast but don't eat too much for it either. They had eggs, bacon, cereals, muffins, fruits, etc, all kinds of stuff. I would think there's something for everyone. If you exit the hotel from their side entrance, you are right at the foot of via Serbelloni, which has you less than one minute from four great restaurants, Apertiva et al, Trattoria San Giacomo, Ristorante Bilacus, and La Lanterna. Actually everything is pretty much a very short walk away but these are just the really close ones. There is a rooftop deck on the hotel that gives you a great sweeping view of the lake with the magnificent Swiss Alps in the background. Great photos are possible from up here. There are deck chairs and lounges to lay on with some umbrellas. We spent the end of some active days unwinding up there taking naps and reading books. A lot of times we were the only ones up there. It was really nice. The hotel elevator is super tiny and agonizingly slow. You can tell it was retro-fitted into the middle of the original spiral staircase in the hotel which is why it needs to be so tiny. We used the stairs every time there except when we had our big luggage. This is why it was nice to be on the second floor. Quick to take the stairs both ways, down to the lobby, or up to the roof deck. We're pretty active and did not mind this at all, it kept us burning more calories so we could fit more eating in. Aside from breakfast, we did not eat any other meals nor use the gelateria or bar at the hotel, not for anything negative against them, it just worked out that way. There were too many other wonderful restaurants to try, which we did as you'll see if you check out my other reviews from Bellagio and around the lake. There is a Deutsche Bank 24hr ATM machine about 25ft outside the door of the lobby to the right in case you need more cash while there. The hotel's own little "refreshment stand" just outside the doors was convenient to get some extra bottled water when we needed it, among other things. To summarize, I don't think there is anywhere else that I saw there to stay (and I was looking) that gives you a better combination of quality, service, location, and price than this hotel. There were nicer looking ones that were also triple the price, and there were cheaper ones that gave you that very impression. This one was just right and was everything we were looking for. We can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: A corner room will give you two outside decks, front and side. See if you can get one.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StingrayJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
924 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £86 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing