We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View - Fabulous; Hotel - A Decent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“View - Fabulous; Hotel - A Decent Value”
Reviewed 7 April 2009

On the plus side, the view from our room was about as good as it gets. Can’t beat looking at a beautiful lake with snow-capped mountains and little hamlets with villas in the distance. We enjoyed the comings and goings of the ferryboats right near the hotel and were not at all bothered by any noise.

The front desk staff was friendly, efficient, and very helpful with our transportation and touring questions. They were prompt in answering my many questions by email even from the start when I first made the reservation.

We had a spacious room that was very clean, if a bit non-descript in décor, with French doors to a large terrace that faced the lake. The bathroom was fresh and modern, and it also had doors that opened to the terrace - best view that we’ve ever had from a hotel bathroom!!

The lobby area was okay but could use updating - not a really important factor for us. Our main disappointment was the breakfast, which we look forward to on our vacations, especially when in a resort area. It wasn’t bad. It was filling, and it did have quite a few offerings, but not one item on the buffet changed during the week that we were there. Also, we would have appreciated fresh fruit rather than canned. The breakfast room was quite crowded a few days during our visit when a bus tour group was there. The drink dispensing machine, in particular, was a bottleneck spot. The breakfast staff did their jobs but were not particularly friendly. Maybe the tour group occupied a lot of their time.

Overall, we loved this special part of Italy, loved our visits to all the garden villas and small towns along the lake. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Upscale is not a word I would use for the Metropole, but for the area, it was a pretty good value.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    368
    69
    18
    10
See reviews for
143
683
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2009

The staff at this hotel make every person feel special, particularly Franco and Francesco in the restaurant. They are friendly, charming, helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay as special as they can.
The reception staff are equally friendly and helpful and know your face by the second day, you don't even need to ask for your room key, they know which is yours by sight.
Our room was small but perfectly comfortable and offered a fantastic view of Lake Como. The roof terrace is pleasant and quiet and roasting in good weather, wear flip flops! Swimming pool accessible at local sports club. Gets busy and difficult to get a sun lounger but a welcome relief from the heat if they find you a spot. Otherwise ride the local ferries for a cooling breeze and great access to the rest of the lake.
Belagio is charming and if the local men's choir does it's tour one evening it definitely worth tagging along. Fantastic wine merchant where you can try all the local tipples by optic with a pre-pay card. Recommended if you have a wet day. Small cellar wine vault/bar just around the corner from the post office where the tour-organised wine tasting is held is charming and the owner is fascinating - he knows his local reds and they are superb.
Highly recommend visits to as many local villas as possible. Stunning architecture, gardens and culture. Weekly classical concerts at Villa Carlotta also worth a go. Simple but very atmospheric.
An excellent location for a honeymoon or relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheltenhamWoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

The Metropole is a grand old hotel offering the most spectacular views of Lake Como. My wife & I stayed for a week & enjoyed our top floor corner room with balcony. There is a modest but pleasant sun roof. Although we ate in town, we enjoyed cocktails and coffee at the hotel terrace. The breakfast was rather weak with a pathetic coffee machine. A hotel with so much going for it should provide more...and who expects bad coffee in Italy!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

This is a nice hotel. Best location in Bellagio, right on the water with nothing but beauty to look at. The room was plain and very small and the bathroom, especially the shower, was even smaller. Very neat and clean. The elevator was too small to fit my wife and I and our luggage at the same time. As much a function of our over packing as the elevator size. The desk staff was extremely helpful with our many questions. The only down side in this regard was that there was no offer to help with our bags. We managed fine but felt they should have least offered.
That all said we enjoyed our stay here immensely. This lake is one of the prettiest places on earth. At least that I have experienced. The hotel is nice and being reasonbly priced, a very good value. Took a look at some of the others in town and we were happy we chose this one.

  • Liked — Locatoin
  • Disliked — size of accomodations
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omotors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Metropole in mid October and had a fantastic stay. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. Bellagio is small and easy to walk. We arrived by taking the bus from the Lake Como train station. It's a nice ride and takes about 40 minutes.

We booked on the hotel website and requested a "lake front" room. This is worth the extra price. The view, as you can see from our pictures is fabulous. We had a small balcony with two chairs for lovely afternoon sunset views!

The ferry to the other small towns at Lake Como arrive and depart in front of the hotel, but we did not notice any noise at night. The ferry was actually very convenient if you need to take the train to Milan. You can catch the ferry to Varenna and the train is at the top of the town's hill by the bridge.

The room was clean and quiet. We ate breakfast in the breakfast room every morning. Nice selection of fruits, cereal, yogurt, breads, juice and coffee. The hotel has a rooftop balcony that is wonderful. It has lounge chairs and a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding countryside.

We would stay again without hesitation....Lake Como is beautiful.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingASAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Location, staff, room, view - all were as good or better than advertised.
We were there for a week, during the same time as a previous poster who mentioned one mosquito bite, so they kept their windows closed for 10 days - ouch. No mosquitos from our room and we were on the same floor - we kept our windows wide open (you can always ask the hotel for the Vapore plug ins which work exceptionally well against mosquitos if you see one)
I was concerned before our arrival about ferry noise, as I am a light sleeper, but they were not irritating at all, and actually enhanced the whole experience.
The beds were very comfortable -not rock hard as some Italian beds, and the bonus of a tub in the bathroom was great for lounging.
The view really is unbeatable. After spending a week exploring the area, I couldn't see a better situated hotel, and we were very pleased with our corner room with 3 sets of french doors.
Use the roof top deck for apertivo hour - It really is a gem.

  • Liked — View, cleanliness, elegant draperies, windows
  • Disliked — the stampede at 9am for breakfast - having to go earlier
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank keepercoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irela
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

just got back on monday. stayed there for 3d,2n. absolutely brilliant!quick check in, english speaking staff, room 454 has a lake view, side view and a toilet view...bath tub was sweet. great stay. nice food down at the restaurant, breakfast was good too. car ferry noise is charming and starts around 8am, time to wake up anyways. staff are helpful, we left our handphone and they promptly wrote and mailed it to us. will happily return...

  • Liked — location location location, fantastic views
  • Disliked — no car park(but theres public carpark nearby)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank xchalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
751 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
895 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Property: Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing