We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing location”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #10 of 13 Bellagio B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“amazing location”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

what a view, a place where you can not go wrong, value for money, the incharge /owner(lady) very helpfull and take cares of the guest very nicely... she knows how to pamper the guest.. the location of the hotel is right next to the ferry dock...worth staying there..

Room Tip: lake view room beautiful view 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dino99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    38
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
12
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been to Bellagio and i have tried many hotels. The Suisse hotel has to be by far the best deal for rooms with lake view. The hotel is a bit funky but has a lot of charm. I would recommend it to anyone escaping to Bellagio looking for a hotel by the lake. The hotel also has a restaurant that is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leifleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We arrived in Bellagio by ferry from Lecco ,as the ferry was docking we were so impressed by
the location of the Hotel Suisse it was immediately in front of us less than 100 metres away from
the dock, almost at the waters edge. Unfortunately the only thing that impressed us about this Hotel was its location.We were shown a small room which was on the second floor up a long
winding staircase, the room was shabby and had no air conditioning and one small window that
looked out to a brick wall about 2 metres away, I asked if we could be moved to a different room but they said that the hotel was full.We were only there for one night which was more than enough for us, I think this hotel is overpriced and I was glad we only had one night there.
We didn't eat at the Suisse that night but went across the way to the Hotel Metropole where we
had a lovely dinner on their lakeside terrace, excellent food and service. Superb !

Room Tip: Maybe the more expensive lake view rooms are nicer but I for one will not be going back to check it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No1Gateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had lunch at the Hotel Suisse on my birthday. We specifically chose this restaurant because my grandparents stayed here in 1938 on honeymoon.
The location is excellent with the Hotel on Piazza Mazzini right on the waterfront. The food was good, but we felt hurried and unrelaxed. This may have been due to the fact that we didn't want wine at lunch time and only wanted 1 course as we were eating in the evening. We very much felt that the restaurant is in a prime location catering for tourists arriving off the boats and therefore the staff are trying to serve as many people as quickly as possible. This didn't create a relaxing atmosphere. Such a shame as under the circumstances it should have felt like a special lunch. However the home made ravioli was very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel (hotel?) is a trap. I was travelling with my wife. The room(room?) we were given had a minuscule window, facing...another window, 1,5 to 2 meters away. Mould was everywhere and it was humid, dark and hot. The room was ridiculously expensive for what it offered. After seeing it, we decided to leave the place and it was easy to find a correct room at a hotel nearby, facing the lake, for € 15 more. This Suisse something is a trap TO BE AVOIDED. The Italian health authorities should pay them a visit.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Antonino P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

We did the reservation at Booking.com, whithout looking at the Trip Advisor, unfortunatelly. When we arrived at the hotel we immidiatelly understood we could not stay in that room. The room was realy too small, there was mold all over. No air aconditioner, only and old fan. The very small window openned to a wall. Terrible setting! We said we were not staying in that fealty room (because my husband is allergic) and we asked for another room. They said they could not give us another room. So we decided to leave the hotel. They charged us 80,00 euros (cancellation policy, as she said). Two blocks away we found another hotel (3 stars and very good with view to the Lake - Splendide Hotel) which charged us 20,00 euros more than what the Hotel Suisse was charging for a fealty room.

Be careful for never going to this place.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was alittle worried booking this hotel after reading some of the previous reviews, but as a experienced traveler in Europe I have seen it all was knew I could handle the good the bad and the ugly...This was our first trip to Lake Como and after reading up on it I decided to stay on the "Peal of the Lake" Bellagio. One thing that I did not take in to consideration is that this is a popular tourist town on the lake so the restaurants were quite a bit more costly than those found in cities like Como. The nice thing about this little hotel is that a beautiful little breakfast is included each morning in their Restaurant. Speaking of restaurants, this Hotel is really a restaurants with 7 rooms for rent up stairs. We had 4 in our party so we rented the two lake view rooms on top. There were alot of stairs to climb to get there but well worth the climb. Also the lake view rooms are a must, why come all this way and not wake up to the sound of water each morning. I found the room to be lovely, it was simple, hard wood floors a comfy bed and yes I had the room with the wooden toilet seat that had been repaired, (batched, big deal...) Some one spending more time looking at that rather then the view, really? Anyway back to more important things, the employees the ones who also work in the restaurant where you enter from were most kind and helpful, even arranging a day trip to Switzerland for us. We loved our stay at this little gem and plan to return soon...

Room Tip: Lake view is a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbowman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 8/10, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Suisse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suisse is located in the historical center of Bellagio, just 10 metres far from the lake. Its good position gives the guests a direct access into the center of the town with all its services.The domestic tenancy offers an informal and cosy atmosphere.The rooms, recently renewed, remind the historical significance of this hotel. It was, indeed, the secret meeting point of the owner, Bice Gobio Melzi, and the famous writer Ippolito Nievo.Some rooms boast a wonderful view of the lake, all of them have a private bathroom and a characteristic furniture. The junior suite, the latest renewed, has also a steam room.The restaurant is located on the ground floor, right on the promenade, and on the first floor, on a striking lake view terrace. Classical and international fusion cuisine are served. The best Italian and international wines are available on the wine list. The restaurant is also available for banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suisse Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing