We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Suisse - Can't be beat”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #10 of 14 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel Suisse - Can't be beat”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Rooms were spotless and large. Service was impeccable. The view of the lake from the large private balcony/patio was breath taking, we didn't want to leave. The hotel provides an infinity pool which was perfect after a ling day exploring the area. In addition the staff offers spa procedures if you would like. There is also a shuttle that drives guest to and from the town. If I was to say anything negative it is that the shuttles should be ran more frequent.

Room Tip: A little difficult to find - follow the signs. Hotel did not come up in our GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdbelluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    39
    27
    14
    11
See reviews for
13
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a nice lunch were with 3 different types of risotto. We had Barolo wine risotto, asparagus with mushroom risotto and chestnut with mushroom risotto. All 3 were very good it you like risotto. The wine they recommended to go with the risotto was fantastic. It was a rare rose Pinot Grigio.

The only drawback is that if you are going to order risotto you have to order at least 2 of one type. Luckily we had 7 people so we were able to order 6 dishes (2 of each) and shared.

The price was very reasonable and the service was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purdue-Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

as others note, right on the water and if you get a room with a view it's great (especially with a balcony as we had)-- but this place is highly desirable by some who spend 2-8 weeks here. we emailed with Guido and talked with Luisa on phone and found them to be accommodating-- when we met Luisa we found her to be very friendly. they are laid back at this place unless and until you ask… it was an initial shock to realize the hotel was through the restaurant, and there are lots of stairs with no lift. it's a little dated but that might be excused by the fact that are lots of others willing to pay if you're not. we found the room to be clean (no mold) and fairly good size. breakfast was okay (great bread, and yogurt, cheese, hardboiled egg). we ate at the restaurant and had the best pasta our whole trip (6 cities in northern Italy), but noticed the place is always packed. if you get to know the family they treat you like family.

Room Tip: number of rooms with balcony and view are numbered, so plan ahead as far as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

what a view, a place where you can not go wrong, value for money, the incharge /owner(lady) very helpfull and take cares of the guest very nicely... she knows how to pamper the guest.. the location of the hotel is right next to the ferry dock...worth staying there..

Room Tip: lake view room beautiful view 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dino99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have been to Bellagio and i have tried many hotels. The Suisse hotel has to be by far the best deal for rooms with lake view. The hotel is a bit funky but has a lot of charm. I would recommend it to anyone escaping to Bellagio looking for a hotel by the lake. The hotel also has a restaurant that is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leifleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We arrived in Bellagio by ferry from Lecco ,as the ferry was docking we were so impressed by
the location of the Hotel Suisse it was immediately in front of us less than 100 metres away from
the dock, almost at the waters edge. Unfortunately the only thing that impressed us about this Hotel was its location.We were shown a small room which was on the second floor up a long
winding staircase, the room was shabby and had no air conditioning and one small window that
looked out to a brick wall about 2 metres away, I asked if we could be moved to a different room but they said that the hotel was full.We were only there for one night which was more than enough for us, I think this hotel is overpriced and I was glad we only had one night there.
We didn't eat at the Suisse that night but went across the way to the Hotel Metropole where we
had a lovely dinner on their lakeside terrace, excellent food and service. Superb !

Room Tip: Maybe the more expensive lake view rooms are nicer but I for one will not be going back to check it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank No1Gateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellagio hotels

Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We had lunch at the Hotel Suisse on my birthday. We specifically chose this restaurant because my grandparents stayed here in 1938 on honeymoon.
The location is excellent with the Hotel on Piazza Mazzini right on the waterfront. The food was good, but we felt hurried and unrelaxed. This may have been due to the fact that we didn't want wine at lunch time and only wanted 1 course as we were eating in the evening. We very much felt that the restaurant is in a prime location catering for tourists arriving off the boats and therefore the staff are trying to serve as many people as quickly as possible. This didn't create a relaxing atmosphere. Such a shame as under the circumstances it should have felt like a special lunch. However the home made ravioli was very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
750 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 8/10, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Suisse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suisse is located in the historical center of Bellagio, just 10 metres far from the lake. Its good position gives the guests a direct access into the center of the town with all its services.The domestic tenancy offers an informal and cosy atmosphere.The rooms, recently renewed, remind the historical significance of this hotel. It was, indeed, the secret meeting point of the owner, Bice Gobio Melzi, and the famous writer Ippolito Nievo.Some rooms boast a wonderful view of the lake, all of them have a private bathroom and a characteristic furniture. The junior suite, the latest renewed, has also a steam room.The restaurant is located on the ground floor, right on the promenade, and on the first floor, on a striking lake view terrace. Classical and international fusion cuisine are served. The best Italian and international wines are available on the wine list. The restaurant is also available for banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suisse Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing