We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a wonderful hotel”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #10 of 14 Bellagio B&B and Inns
btm1323
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I loved it here. My husband and I stayed here for two nights and had a wonderful time. We got a lake view room and you really need to splurge and get one when staying here. We ate at the restaurant twice for dinner and both times were superb. The owners are very friendly as well as their staff. The free breakfast was standard croissants with meats and coffee. It was perfect all around and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank btm1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    39
    27
    14
    11
See reviews for
13
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We reserved the larger apartment in the back of the hotel, but when we checked in, we were offered a nice room in the hotel with the same lovely view for a much better price. The owner, who was more than a little accommodating, drew us a map of things to see in the area, opened our wine bottles, gave us glasses to carry around town with us as we took in the incredible sunset, and opened the terrace up for our sole use that evening. When we checked out, they kept our luggage stored for us so we could do a little walking before catching the ferry back to Varenna. I realize we were a bit off season, but was still so impressed with the desire to please. The hotel was lovely, simple and clean, and we will definitely return here on our next visit to Bellagio.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with that incredible view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleNovoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We planned a trip to Lake Como without pre-booking accomodation, but we had checked tripadvisor before we left just to see what our options were. It couldnt have worked out better. We arrived in beautiful Bellagio and remembered Hotel Suisse from the reviews. Being March the Hotel was a little quiet which was amazing for us as we walked in and asked for a room and was given one at a great rate with a warm and friendly greeting. It just got better from here on. The room was stunning, amazing lake view you could almost touch the water, clean, airy, beautifully and tastefully decorated.Husband and wife (owners) Guido and Luissa were welcoming, relaxed and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The waiter/concierge (we are sorry we didnt get his name) was truely wonderful. We ended up staying for 3 nights and used it as a base to drive around the lakes. All the ferries stop just outside the Hotel. We also ate there everyday as we didn't find anything better. Food was superb, wine was amazing. Not over priced. And considering March was quiet this restaurant was full all 3 nights with what seemed to be locals. Always a good sign. Luissa and Guido knew most of the people coming to dine it was like eating in their home, the atmosphere was great. Try the parmesan pasta and watch the waiter!!!! If you are going in the summer I would suggest booking now. We had room 16 and if we could we would still be there now. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: Get a lake view - room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked quite late so had 2 nights in the apartment up some steps from the hotel which was spacious and had a nice terrace and a partial lake view and then 2 nights in the hotel, with a room and balconey overlooking the lake. Our hosts Guido and Loiusa were very welcoming and we had a great time. The building is very old so hasn't got all the facilities you would get in a non descript chain but the character of the place more than makes up for any minor niggles - a shelf in the bathroom would have been good, but not essential - when you wake up and see the lake, you're just glad to be there.
The restaurant serves delicious food and if we return would stay here again - the location is excellent - right by the waterfront and in the heart of the old town.

Room Tip: make sure you book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I had a wonderful time . I was received with a warm welcome and stayed in the apartment which was to the rear of the property. The apartment was nicely decorated, great bathroom well equipped kitchen and a nice little terrace where I could sit and enjoy a nice glass of wine and watch the world go by. Great location to ferries, shops and lots of places to choose to eat. I did eat in the Hotel Suisse restaurant and highly recommend the risotto with porcini mushrooms .

Room Tip: The apartment I highly recommend if you want a little space and experience Italian living.just bear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Rooms were spotless and large. Service was impeccable. The view of the lake from the large private balcony/patio was breath taking, we didn't want to leave. The hotel provides an infinity pool which was perfect after a ling day exploring the area. In addition the staff offers spa procedures if you would like. There is also a shuttle that drives guest to and from the town. If I was to say anything negative it is that the shuttles should be ran more frequent.

Room Tip: A little difficult to find - follow the signs. Hotel did not come up in our GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdbelluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a nice lunch were with 3 different types of risotto. We had Barolo wine risotto, asparagus with mushroom risotto and chestnut with mushroom risotto. All 3 were very good it you like risotto. The wine they recommended to go with the risotto was fantastic. It was a rare rose Pinot Grigio.

The only drawback is that if you are going to order risotto you have to order at least 2 of one type. Luckily we had 7 people so we were able to order 6 dishes (2 of each) and shared.

The price was very reasonable and the service was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregmNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
749 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#8 of 16 in Bellagio
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Mazzini 8/10, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Suisse 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suisse is located in the historical center of Bellagio, just 10 metres far from the lake. Its good position gives the guests a direct access into the center of the town with all its services.The domestic tenancy offers an informal and cosy atmosphere.The rooms, recently renewed, remind the historical significance of this hotel. It was, indeed, the secret meeting point of the owner, Bice Gobio Melzi, and the famous writer Ippolito Nievo.Some rooms boast a wonderful view of the lake, all of them have a private bathroom and a characteristic furniture. The junior suite, the latest renewed, has also a steam room.The restaurant is located on the ground floor, right on the promenade, and on the first floor, on a striking lake view terrace. Classical and international fusion cuisine are served. The best Italian and international wines are available on the wine list. The restaurant is also available for banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suisse Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing