We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rollins”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My two adult daughters & I stayed here for 3 nights the first of May, 2012 and truly enjoyed our stay. Mr. Giacomo Borelli & his two sons Marcello & Michele were extremely helpful with luggage and information on places to visit, plus where to eat. They all speak English well. Our rooms were immaculate and good size with a Dresser to put essentials in and a small table with 2 chairs. The bathrooms were very clean and of good size. I loved their glassed in -large- breakfast room. Breakfast was very ample and I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. It is a great central location with some steps up to the main shopping areas. We truly enjoyed our stay and would defintely stay here again. The hotel has 18 rooms and It is 3 stories and does have an elevator so that is another definite plus. A dedicated family run hotel.
Elvera

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Attractive family-run hotel one block back from the lake. Room was clean and comfortable, good breakfast, and the two younger men (the owner's sons?) were both very helpful and informative. We expected car parking to be more difficult here than anywhere else in the lakes, and so it was. We left most of our baggage overnight in the car in free parking on the edge of town and carried just the basics and the valuables down to the hotel (we saw many other visitors trying to get their cars down the narrow cobbled streets to the hotels then find adjacent parking, and it didn't look like fun). Hotel Centrale is good value in a beautiful but expensive town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We enjoyed four nights in this friendly well-managed small hotel. It is quite central (!!) although up a flight of street steps as is most of Bellagio. The room was fresh, nicely decorated and plenty big enough, although the bathroom was rather squeezy. Staff were very helpful with good English. Breakfast was ample in a friendly large dining room.

Room Tip: Book early and pay on booking. This secured us a much better rate and a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

If I'd chosen it myself. My boyfriend picked this hotel for an Easter break in Lake Como and it proved to be a wonderful base to explore bellagio and lake Como.

It's very central, clean and comfortable which was exactly what we wanted. All of the staff were very friendly and there was plenty of choice at breakfast.

Parking in Bellagio can be an issue - there are free parking bays at the top but these fill up pretty quickly in the morning so you may need to park in the pay and display bit when you arrive and move your car when the day trippers have gone.

As in other reviews the hotel is half way up a narrow steep cobbled street. The owner did say it was possible to drive to the hotel down one of the streets but we didn't attempt it and carried the luggage up ourselves. As healthy fit adults this wasn't an issue for us. There are lifts once inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoelover009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We visited Bellagio in late March. Our room (#302) was dusty as if it hadn't been occupied in a couple of weeks. there was dust on the small table and on the back of the door. in the morning, we let the hot water run for literally 10 minutes before it got hot. The room was okay size but it had two twin beds pushed together instead of a queen size. a nice touch was the sky light window. The owner (and his son?) seemed fine and somewhat helpful but a little off. I'd hate to review a hotel based on the strangeness of the owner but we felt odd in the place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank king_leo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel for three nights in mid-February. The hotel itself has been done up to a high standard, and the grounds were beautiful. The family who own the hotel were incredibly welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Their English was excellent and there was always someone around if needed. Their hospitality was probably the main selling point of this hotel.
We had booked one of the least expensive rooms but still found it to be a good size with everything we needed. The bathroom was small as other reviewers have mentioned, but this wasn't a problem for us. As far as I'm aware, none of the rooms have direct lake views, but we had a good view of the lake simply by leaning out of the window slightly. We also had a skylight which provided some beautiful views of the stars at night.
The room rate includes breakfast, with a selection of meat, cheese, bread, cereal, cakes, yoghurts, fruit, juices and coffee, all of which we happily tucked into each morning.
We feel that the hotel provides good value, taking into account the quality of the room, the generous breakfast and the hospitality of the owners.
The negative experiences that other reviewers have described here certainly don't ring any bells with us. We had a wonderful time and would certainly be happy to stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Our room at Hotel Centrale had a peek of the lake, was a good size with tiny ensuite. It is a family run estabishment and someone always available to help with information. Breakfast was a selection of yoghurts, fresh fruit, assortment of buns and coffee to order. There are a lot of steps coming up to hotel from where ferry docks, so be prepared!
We loved Bellagio, one of the untouched beauties of the world. Life goes on as it always has, and there are wonderful delis, wine shop, bakeries, and charming shops. There were a number of restaurants, and Marcello or Michaeli were on hand to advise. Our nicest dinner was a selection of deli food, Italian wine which we enjoyed on the hotel terrace. There are lots of cafes down on waterfront to have a great coffee and "people watch." We had three days so had time to travel by ferry to other villages. One day went down to Como, but best side trip was to Villa del Balbianello. got ferry to Tremezzo, and got off at Lenno.We struck it lucky with day, as were able to walk through wooded area to villa - about 1 Km. The site is spectacular, and guided tour is a must, as last owner was an explorer, and one room is dedicated to his trips to Nth Pole, and expedition up Mt. Everest.

Room Tip: Room sizes vary, and we saw one on third floor with armchairs which looked more comfortable. Worth c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jude042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#7 of 16 in Bellagio
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £112 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing