We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly welcome/comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“friendly welcome/comfortable stay”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have been surprised and delighted by the warmth of our welcome at this comfortable, ideally situated, family hotel. The owner and his sons, who all speak perfect English, are indefatigably helpful and obliging. We enjoyed an inpromtu picnic on the pretty first floor terrace, when we felt like a change from the many restaurants nearby - plates and glasses were provided for our use. Our room is large, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a modern bathroom. The ferry is only a few moments walk away. Ideal.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor; the ceiling is high and air con noise minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    145
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
301
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. The hotel is absolutely charming and clean, the owner and his sons are friendly and very helpful. The price was excellent, concerning the area. I hope to visit again and have a longer stay. There is a deck upstairs with tables which is a pleasant place to relax and you can see the lake from there. Our bed was 2 twins pushed together, so be careful they don't get pushed apart or you could have a rude awakening, LOL. Breakfast was quite nice with a good variety. It is truly central in Bellagio so everything is an easy walk. Do not be put off by the steps. If you visit Bellagio, you will be using steps. We drove to the street "above", which I believe is Via Garibaldi, and rolled our luggage down to the hotel rather than carry it up the steps. Even though it was Sunday afternoon, and it seems the whole country descends on Lake Como on weekends, we didn't have trouble finding parking. Green lines are public parking, blue is resident (pay) parking, but spaces marked in white lines can be used by anyone, and are scattered throughout the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul mn
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

A perfect modest inn with character. Lovely breakfast room , nice owners, great space. I felt very comfortable here. It was a bit off season so it was quiet . While the hotel is up some stairs and there is not a magnificent view of the lake only a corner of it , you are close to everything and you feel part of the town itself. It is the kind of place you hate to recommend because it might spoil it.
Lots of antiques, angles, and corners.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I spent three nights at this charming place and had a pleasant time. The staff was cheery and accommodating. Beware... We had lunch the last day with our bags packed and left in the room. We went to pick them up and walked in on another couple in the same room who had just checked in... Our bags had been taken down to the desk... Thank goodness they were dressed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The Hotel Centrale is a wonderul family-owned inn located a short distance from the passenger ferry dock. From the dock, there are some steps that you must go up to get to the hotel, but all of Bellagio is that way which a good reason to wear comfortable shoes (fyi-don't wear heels). We had no difficulties with the steps and found the inn without diffiuclty. At check-in, the young man who checked us in was so helpful. He gave us a map and showed us some recommended resturants and the "The gelato shop" at the top of the hill (the BEST gelato of our entire trip). We had an upper level room, which looked out over the courtyard. There was actually a view of the lake if I stuck my head out the window (the hotel advertises no lake views - but there are a few). The room had all the ammenites listed on their website and was very clean. The breakfast was good and offerred a variety of choices as well as coffee to order (great coffee by the way). Overall, we had a wonderful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennesseetraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Hotel Centrale is perfectly situated in the heart of old Bellagio. It is close to the water, literally a 3 minute walk from the ferry, but it is on a small alley (no traffic) so the rooms are quiet and peaceful. Cute restaurants pepper the surrounding alleyways. Our room had good-quality older wooden furniture and everything was perfectly clean and comfortable. Our full-length windows opened onto a shared sunny patio which afforded nice views of the neighborhood. The help-yourself breakfast is ample and served in an open, airy dining room.

The best part of the hotel, however, is the hospitable and helpful family, which has run the inn since the 1920's. When my husband and I first checked in, the father greeted us, and when we inquired about the giro d'Italia stage the next day near Lecco, he looked up info on the internet and even called a friend of his to obtain detailed directions on getting to the pass where the stage was finishing. The father also has a wonderful sense of humor and had us laughing at several points. The two sons are there primarily in the morning, when they help serve breakfast beverages and answer any questions you may have.

I actually felt sad to leave the hotel after 3 days, as we were having such a nice stay and had become fond of the family owners.

I should also mention that the price for the hotel is very reasonable given the location, accommodations, and service. Keep in mind of course that this is a cozy family inn rather than an impersonal luxury hotel which would cost several times the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleySaraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

A friend and I decided to go to Lake Como for 5 days and 4 nights. We wanted to hike in the mountains. We found Hotel Centrale from TripAdvisor and I was more pleased to hear that Rick Steves also recommends it. The owner and his sons went out of their way to help us have a nice vacation. For starters, the breakfast room had a nice view of the outside entry of the hotel which is of a pretty courtyard of lush small trees and potted plants on one side and view of the lake on the other. The breakfast was a spread where anyone on any kind of diet could find something to please their appetite. We had torta, briosh/croissant, yogurt, fruit, fruit salad, meusli, cheeses, cereal, and more. There was orange juice, an espresso bar, tea, american coffee, etc, all part of the deal and complimentary for breakfast. It was an all you can eat with a lot of variety spread for breakfast. And, they changed it up a little each morning. They had umbrellas for us to use when it rained. They helped us with directions to places we wanted to see. They have a phone connection in the lobby for free calls to the U.S. and probably elsewhere. There is a laptop to use which we did. They gave recommendations on restaurants. My room was a double and was big a small table and chairs and with a door to a patio area. My friend had a single with a double bed. I think what made this so special was how warm the family was who operate it. They speak English, but I had many great conversations with them in Italian as well. My friend and I took the ferry each day over to Menaggio to hike in the mountains. There is wonderful hiking over there. Our treat after long hikes was to return to Bellagio to our wonderful Hotel Centrale. Mille grazie Hotel Centrale per avendo aperto la sua porta e cuore a me e il mio amico! Spero di rivedervi presto e spesso!

Room Tip: I had a room with that opened onto a semi-private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albatross789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
752 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing