We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, clean and welcoming”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Concord
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, clean and welcoming”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Hotel Centrale is run by Giacomo, his sons ( Marcello and Michaeli ) and his wife. As we approached we observed a brightly colored "typically rustic Italian" building with a nice garden, in the middle of town. Marcello welcomed us warmly. He then escorted us to our room to assure that we knew how to operate the "double opening" windows, and that we knew how to operate the A/C.

Michaeli makes the cappuccinos, chocolates and espresso in the morning. The breakfast has great variety (cheese, ham, breads, fruit, cereals, and more) and is served in a bright and airy room. Three breakfast tables have a partial lake view, really nice! ! ! Our guest room was spacious, reasonably priced, and the shower is refreshing, and clean.

No lake view, no problem. A 3 minute walk to the Lake Como ferry pier is all you need for access to the entire lake. The family is willing to suggest wonderful restaurants in Bellagio. The family also directed us to the mini market, the pharmacy, and the cosmetics shops, so we felt like "locals." Marcello even ran after us, as we departed, in order to volunteer to carry some of our luggage down the stairs to the ferry pier.

Hotel Centrale is simply a "family" gem! To quote another reviewer "Ah. Giacomo. How you will be missed. "

Room Tip: They tell you "no lake view" but, if you lean out the window of Room 306 you can see the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    145
    30
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
301
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Lake Como is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been and the Hotel Centrale is well located, clean, and affordable. We wouldn't hesitate to return here. You will only be in your room to sleep as Lake Como is all about being outside!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Ah. Giacomo. How you will be missed.

Not often do you come to a hotel where the owner becomes your friend, but after a stay at the Centrale (as long as you're not a total idiot) you will.

Last week we had a late night arrival at the picturesque town of Bellagio, Lombardia. This beautiful little village is located at Lake Como, and arriving there by night is close to magical. The tiny streets, the hidden-away shops, the outdoor restaurants, the lights... And then, hauling your luggage into the courtyard of Hotel Centrale where Giacomo eagerly anticipates your arrival. Our previous nights at German hotels prior to our arrival in Bellagio had been influenced by efficiency during check-in and check-out. But not Centrale. Heavens no. Never before have I enjoyed a 20-minute check-in. What a welcome :-)

After a lengthy and warm chat, I entered my room on the first floor with a terrace right next to it. It was exactly what I expected; good beds, wardrobe, AC, and a decent restroom. Nothing fancy, but oh so homely. After a good night's sleep, I stepped out onto the terrace overlooking a typical tiny Italian village street directly beneath. Rustic and beautiful!

Breakfast was good, and WiFi was free! And Giacomo was great. I certainly recommend Centrale if you're looking for a genuine experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Firstly Lake Como is breathtakingly beautiful!
Arriving at Hotel Centrale after over 24 hours of traveling from Australia, we were very excited to see how beautiful and relaxing this hotel was. We loved our 3 night stay in June 2012 at this charming little hotel (first stop on our 2 week Italian honeymoon) with it's friendly, helpful staff, comfortable rooms and yummy breakfast. The hotel is ideally located, a few minutes walk to the best restaurants and all the sights that Bellagio has to offer. You will not regret staying at this lovely and affordable Lake Como gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our first stop in Italy and we loved Lake Como and the Hote Centrale. The staff was friendly and courteous and the hotel was very very clean and nice. The breakfast was great every morning with fruits, yogurt, breads and a few meat items. This was an excellent value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhemmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have been surprised and delighted by the warmth of our welcome at this comfortable, ideally situated, family hotel. The owner and his sons, who all speak perfect English, are indefatigably helpful and obliging. We enjoyed an inpromtu picnic on the pretty first floor terrace, when we felt like a change from the many restaurants nearby - plates and glasses were provided for our use. Our room is large, spotlessly clean and comfortable, with a modern bathroom. The ferry is only a few moments walk away. Ideal.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor; the ceiling is high and air con noise minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. The hotel is absolutely charming and clean, the owner and his sons are friendly and very helpful. The price was excellent, concerning the area. I hope to visit again and have a longer stay. There is a deck upstairs with tables which is a pleasant place to relax and you can see the lake from there. Our bed was 2 twins pushed together, so be careful they don't get pushed apart or you could have a rude awakening, LOL. Breakfast was quite nice with a good variety. It is truly central in Bellagio so everything is an easy walk. Do not be put off by the steps. If you visit Bellagio, you will be using steps. We drove to the street "above", which I believe is Via Garibaldi, and rolled our luggage down to the hotel rather than carry it up the steps. Even though it was Sunday afternoon, and it seems the whole country descends on Lake Como on weekends, we didn't have trouble finding parking. Green lines are public parking, blue is resident (pay) parking, but spaces marked in white lines can be used by anyone, and are scattered throughout the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
752 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing