We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a second family”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a second family”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We spend our weekend in Bellagio and we found this awesome hotel.
Rooms are clean and big enought.
Breakfast was various and generous.
But the most important thing is that the staff was absolutely lovely. We had a great time there, like to be at home.
Thanks guys!!

Giacomo

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redpomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    143
    28
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
291
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Loved our recent three night stay at Hotel Centrale in Bellagio. The family owned hotel has a true european feel with lots personal touches. The owners were very helpful and friendly...opening up the breakfast room for us one evening to gather and share a local bottle of wine. Our breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful offering excellent cappuccino and american coffee. Our room was basic, but comfortable and very reasonably priced. The free WiFi worked well...we were able to watch our college team's football game while sitting outside on the patio. Even though the Vols lost it was an amazing place to watch a game. The hotel is situated up a narrow cobbled stone road..difficult to reach with luggage- pack lightly. We loved Bellagio and Hotel Centrale..would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tennessee_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holywood co down
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Having read many reviews of this hotel while at the same time knowing that it was a three star, we expected that there was something very special about this hotel as it was rated no 2 of 16 hotels in Bellagio, and so chose it for our 6 night holiday in Bellagio. I am sorry to report that we were disappointed right from the start. We arrived in the pouring rain about 8.00 pm after a long days travel and were immediately shown to our room-no mention of a cup of coffee/tea or anything. The room on the third floor while very clean and tidy, comfortable bed etc was quite dark, I mean during the day. We found breakfast quite ordinary with the selection of fruit varying from day to day but always very average quality. The breakfast room could have been given a bit of colour with the addition of some flowers on the tables, otherwise it was pretty soulless.
While there is a small garden as you come into the hotel this is completely overshadowed by a very large tree, which also accounts for our dark room. There is, also, a little terrace which had a table or two and a chair or two scattered about it but little done to attract a person to spend much time sitting there.
within the hotel we were surprised that there was no lounge area where guests might have mingled for a while in the evening. Much has been said in reviews about the staff but here again we found nothing out of the ordinary and indeed while not wishing to be petty on the occasion we were going on a very early morning trip, Giacomo suggested the night before that he would leave a breakfast tray up for us-it never materialised-indeed at times we found it difficult to find staff!
All in all we found the hotel unexceptional and feel that its rating as no 2 hotel in Bellagio is a little over the top.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosegerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hotel Centrale lives up to it's name and is very central to everything in Bellagio. It is clean and very comfortable with large rooms and friendly service. It is located on an alleyway off the main waterfront street so it is very quiet.

Room Tip: The hotel is up an alleyway of stairs so if you have heavy suitcases you might want to ask hotel sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad_grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Hotel Centrale is small family run hotel in the centre of town within reach all amenities. The rooms are very clean, pleasantly furnished and unfussy. If you want to be in a laid back environment then this is ideal. TV A/C and free Wi Fi all available. Breakfast buffet very basic but adequate. Hotel is situated halfway up one of the narrow streets leading from main lakeside area to the church square and one tip is if arriving by car park in church square and walk down incline instead of walking up steps from bottom. Much easier! Also don't expect a lie in - church bells start at 07.00. Would recommend this hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkippyK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

First off, I would rarely award a full five stars as I like to save them, but I can see why a number of others have chosen to award five stars to Centrale Bellagio. It is not a full amenities place. If you full nine, like a work-out room, fancy room service, bathrobes, a view of the water, etc you should look to spend (a lot more) elsewhere (like the Hotel Belvedere). Centrale is a gem, almost more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel. An excellent choice we were very, very happy to have made.

It starts with the friendly, attentive father and sons who run the hotel. From the delicious coffee (esp. cappuccino) they make to order at the morning breakfast to answering any travel question you might have, they genuinely seem to enjoy interacting with and helping guests.

Rooms are cozy, airy and bright enough (face it you will be out during the day!). Comfortable bed, nice shower and bath products, smallish but adequate closet to hang clothes. Incredibly quiet, esp. given its location in the heart of Bellagio. We stayed end of August beginning of September, and while there were a number of other guests, the hotel still felt intimate. Near a produce store and small market as well, a bonus for my vegetarian wife. Computer for Internet access was handy, with former guests contributing to a "travel library" in case you might still need a few tips. Breakfast is serviceable but pleasant, with yogurt, cereal, some crossiants (occasionally a bit overcooked sorry), fruit, some meats (I did not try), the aforesaid excellent coffee, and if you're lucky, some special "cake" involving pine nuts, dried fruit, and walnuts -- sort of like a moist banana bread (but no bananas). We actually took a couple extra pieces with us for a nice snack during our hikes in the mountains above Menaggio. A welcome treat!

The hotel connected us with a driver service for E120 return to Milan, which, given our morning flight, I HIGHLY recommend (lets you stay another night in town and avoid the ferry, train, bus negotiation).

All in all a strong recommendation and worth your consideration and patronage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler60601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

First trip to Europe (8/5 - 8/23/13) and what a great place to start. Bellagio was the best town of the 3 we saw on Lake Como because it was the biggest of the 3 we visited (Mennagio and Varenna being the other 2) and had the most shopping (more upper end stores and very few schlocky shops). The hotel was about 40 steps up a well travelled street from where the boat docks so it is interesting getting the luggage up to the hotel. If you have luggage with wheels there is a round about way to get to it but it would take longer. No matter, it was a real nice hotel with nice gardens as you enter the grounds. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and my wife said it was the best cappucino she had while in Italy. The room was very comfortable on the first floor (#101) which shared a nice size patio with room 102 so you could relax and you had about an 8 foot wide view of the lake. Very relaxing for a glass of wine in the evening or cappucino in the morning. Very affordable at $266 for 2 nights. We loved it.

Room Tip: The best view in the back was from the patio we had and it made it very pleasant having the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing