We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place!”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in Bellagio for two nights here in June.

Hotel - cute, clean, cosy, family run hotel with 3 floors. The little courtyard when you first enter is lovely, and the terrace patio is beautiful.

Location - the location of this hotel is central, about a 5-10 minute walk from where the ferry stops and up some steps. Bellagio and all the villages around the lake are fairly small, so I can't imagine it be hard to find a hotel in a good location.

Room - the room was nice and clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The hotel is not a new hotel, or a chain hotel, so it is not modern, however it has a great feel to it. The room we had was on the 3rd floor and had a nice mountain view. The TV is a good size. Shower is small, but works fine so it did not bother me.

Cleanliness - very clean, and maintained daily.

Breakfast is included in the stay which is a great convenience. Overall, a very lovely stay and we would be back!

Room Tip: Room 301 is nice and has a small mountain view. It also has a nice sunroof that you can open and shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle_heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

I love family run hotels and this family do it well .. look its not modern but it is clean and comfortable and they can not do enough for you, they provide a great breakfast every morning
and really good coffee which sets you up for a day of exploring .
hotel is not far from ferry dock up some stairs which can be steep if you have a lot of luggage
it is centrally located with some great restaurants nearby. after visiting the other lakeside towns
i now know that bellagio is the best place to stay and if your looking for good value and comfort then this is the hotel you should stay in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holidaywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you want the Four Seasons, this is not it. However, it is a very clean hotel run by a family that obviously takes pride in what it does. The included breakfast was lovely - cereal, meats, cheeses, breads, sweets, fruits, and your choice of coffee delivered with a smile. The bedrooms were clean although I agree with another reviewer that the beds were not incredibly comfortable and the pillows were thin. But - that being said - I slept fine. The terrace with a grape vine and growing plants is lovely. If you do not need a high end experience, then this is a conveniently located clean hotel with owners/staff who are very willing to assist with everything from dinner reservations to lending you their personal phone charger. Well done to this family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Centrale in Bellagio for two nights in June 2014. I am so happy we chose this hotel! It is fairly close to the ferry dock (up a steep stepped street) and was centrally located for all our needs. You walk through a little garden to enter the hotel--a nice first impression. The staff was friendly and spoke very good English. The air-conditioning worked. The bathroom had hot water with decent pressure. The TV got 4 channels (including BBC and CNN). Our room had a shared balcony. The windows opened. The room was non-smoking and did not smell of smoke at all (just a strong cleaner). The room had no carpet. You can take the key with you or leave it at the hotel. They have a bowl of nice candies in the room. The breakfast was good, too, with a lot of choices. The only cons to the room: the shower is small (but not the smallest we encountered in Italy), the beds were only so-so (you could feel the springs) but we slept well, and the in-room wifi was weak (but worked). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChemTeacherTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I am so happy with my choice in Lake Como....not only that I decided to stay in the lovely lakeside village of Bellagio (..which was, in my opinion, one of the best places to stay on the Lake), but I am glad I stayed at Hotel Centrale!! (Such a classic Italian type place, cute garden & balcony, friendly staff, & an excellent location!!....the lake is just down some stairs, & there are many cafes, shops, restaurants, sights to see right nearby!!
I would definitely recommend it as an affordable, convenient, friendly place to stay! ! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClaireAzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here 7 days and had a great time! Hotel was centrally located in Bellagio, off a sweet little cobblestoned side street. Beautiful little courtyard, a second-floor patio, option to walk up 2 flights of stairs instead of waiting for the elevator. Breakfast served every morning, free - and it was awesome. A member of the owner's family (son? nephew?) makes the coffee, and is very friendly. The owner sits behind the desk sometimes, & is full of stories about the early days of the hotel, & the people who used to stay there, if you can get him going. He also extended our stay without any fuss when we wanted to add a couple days at the end.

We stayed on the top floor ('attic') and found the room small but spotlessly clean, bathroom ditto, and there was a skylight with a little remote control.

Note: this isn't a 4-star hotel -- Beds weren't super-soft, pillows were flat, no room service (and none expected :) -- but we had an amazing experience. For the price, hard to imagine doing better anywhere in Bellagio - we'd definitely stay here again. And again!

Room Tip: Ask for an "American Coffee" at breakfast (not a 'cafe americano') to get the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lningram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful garden and terrace in the heart of Bellagio. Offers tranquility from the masses of tourists that can be overwhelming in the centre. very friendly hotel owners. Wonderful stay in a picturesque setting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxinspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 16 in Bellagio
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing