We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this great hotel. We checked into room 221 which was lovely, despite being told via email pre-arrival that this was the only room left during the time we requested. Yes, we could see a sliver of the lake out the window, but our host, Giacomo really downplays this saying "It is a little bit of nothing". In my opinion, however, that "little bit of nothing" was a nice additon which we enjoyed. We also had a great view of the lovely flowered courtyard, and we enjoyed opening up our Juliett windows onto this view.We arrived in Bellagio by boat in a horrendous downpour, having come right from the Milan airport after a transcontinental flight exhausted. Not the best way to get introduced to Lake Como! I left my tired and wet husband with all our luggage in an outdoor cafe by the water and ran up the many steps (directly up from the ferry dock) to see if anyone could help us get our luggage up the many steps to the hotel. Poor Giacomo had no one to send but he good naturedly came down himself and helped us get the luggage up the hill. Although this was the cheapest and least fancy of all the hotels at which we stayed on this trip (Lake Como, Venice, Tuscany and Barcelona Spain), it was absolutely delightful. Oozing with charm, very clean, great service, so very friendly and a wonderful daily breakfast included. As other reviewers have said, it is a great value and a great find. We really enjoyed the internet cafe up the hill from the hotel, Bellagio Point.com , for our daily15 minutes of internet for 2-Euro; the 5-Euro generous pour of wine (loved the primativo) with included full plate of "snacks" antipasto; and the friendly atmosphere. We did have dinner one night at the much-touted (on Trip Advisor) San Giacomo restaurant and were somewhat disappointed. We got in line early for the 7:00 seating only to get trampled by the free- for -all when they opened and everyone rushed for tables, it was like a manic game of musical chairs! The service was efficient but not warm or welcoming, the food was better than average but not memorable, the wine (a Chianti Reserva) not great.
I highly recommend the Hotel Centrale. Even if you are used to 4 or 5 stars which this is not, it is every bit as enjoyable, comfortable, and unique in its charm as long as you are comfortable with an experience that is a cross between a B&B and a small hotel. Giacomo, the owner (although he denies this, claiming his 95 year old mother who lives in the hotel is the owner) is as wonderful a host as you could want. He tries to undersell the hotel to prespective guests in order to not raise expectations, but he is overly modest, the place is great. His frankness in terms of what he can or can not offer guests in accomedations is clearly smart business.

  • Liked — Wonderful hospitality, Charm, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Steps up to hotel--but really, they were do-able and a good way to work of the gellato!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    145
    30
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
296
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My wife and I loved our 4-night stay at the Hotel Centrale Bellagio. The room was small, but very cute, clean and charming, making it our favorite during our two week trip to Italy. We had a nice (small) balcony overlooking the courtyard with large windows that we kept open during the days to let the breeze and the sounds in. I would sit out on the balcony and read in complete peacefulness.

The staff was extremely friendly. The morning cappuccinos and restaurant recommendations were wonderful. Breakfast was basically the exact same as breakfasts at every other hotel we stayed in while in Italy. Hotel Centrale is a great value for Bellagio as well. I highly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2008

This hotel is perhaps the best smaller hotel we have stayed at in Europe. The hotel itself is a short walk from the main street (uphill of course), is quaint, and is well kept. Breakfasts are excellent, as are the capacinos served every morning. There is a garden and sitting area outside of the main entrance, and a deck on the second level with several chairs. Some of the rooms have windows opening to small decks as well.

The staff, mostly family, is wonderful. Mr. Borelli and his sons were excellent hosts. The rooms were immaculate. We had to move rooms after one day because we arrived a day earlier than we originally planned. We packed our bags, which were moved to our new room by the time we returned.

Internet access is provided by both wireless and wired connection. There is also a "book exchange" next to the front desk - leave one you have finished and take another.

Mr. Borelli's restaurant recommendations were also excellent - especially San Giacomo - wonderful.

Would stay here again and again and again.........

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ine2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

Hotel Centrale is hard to fault, the positives far and away outweigh the negatives and we enjoyed our stay at hotel centrale.

The main positives were:

* Friendly staff - Mr. Borelli is great
* Spotless rooms
* Great locations (apart from the parking)
* Fantastic breakfast

The only two negatives were

* Like most hotels in Bellagio parking is not available anywhere near the hotel. This would make it difficult for those who have walking problems. We had to park our car near the Bellagio police station (Carabinier) . This wouldn't normally be a problem, however Bellagio is not as safe as it looks and the rear window of our hire car was smashed. Fortunately we had no belongings in the car but make sure you take out excess insurance in Italy.

Don't expect the staff in the Bellagio police station to be helpful. They couldn't care less about our predicament.

One other minor niggle was the fact that the hotel did not have an iron. Mr Borelli said he was looking into this.

All in all a great hotel, but be look after your car in Bellagio.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The lack of parking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveSWFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Parking - we were fortunate to find a free spot beside the park at the edge of town, a healthy walk to and from the hotel with luggage. Very limited options in town.
Staff - helpful and efficient.
Rooms - very small but comfortable, the whole town suffers from a shortage of space, free internet access was a bonus.
Location - good location in the centre of town, halfway up the hill which you grow to appreciate. No view but pleasant courtyard.
Good choice if you don't want to pay the premium for a room with a view.
Bellagio is a good base to explore the lake by ferry; the walk around the suburbs - brochure from tourist office - is well worthwhile.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — dragging luggage from outside the town
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conneaut, OH
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

What a wonderful small hotel! We needed to add a fourth person to our room at the last minute and they were very accommodating. The place is spotless with beautiful wood and furnishings. The breakfast in the garden room was the best on our stay in Italy. The hotel is in the center of the town which was convenient to everything. Our daughter and her friend enjoyed the use of the internet in our room. Each room has access to a small balcony which was fun. A little climb to reach the hotel but well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Matriarach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny262
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

The Hotel Centrale is a small, family run bed-and-breakfast about 50 yards from the main port of Bellagio and about the same distance to the main street in the village.

The hotel is very, very clean - newly renovated with a touch of antique furniture. It is in a charming neighborhood that is quiet but steps away from the water and main street. In the front is a very nice garden. The atmosphere is exactly what you'd hope to find in a small, italian, lake-side village.

The family who owns the hotel also run it ... they are incredibly helpful with directions, advice on where to eat and knowledge of the region. They offered us free espresso multiple times during our stay and even lent us a power adapter and ethernet cable during our stay - things I would only expect at a much more expensive hotel.

The internet connection is free and fast in the hotel (both wired in the room and wireless in the lobby/breakfast room). The beds are comfortable ... the bathrooms are new and clean. The rooms, while not enormous, are adequate in size and are decorated in a way that is charming but not overdone.

The village of Bellagio is wonderful little town for a relaxing stay on lake Cuomo - the ferry stop is just minutes walk from the hotel and they can take you to various locations around the lake. The food is excellent ... just ask the Hotel owners where to go - their recommendations were great. Also, be sure to try the Wine/Internet Cafe just down the street from Hotel Centrale. Again, it was recommended to us by the Hotel owners, they have good wine with free (essentially, all you can eat) italian meats, cheese, and dips in a nice atmosphere.

Bellagio in mid-october was just about the end of the tourist season. During the week we were there, the weather was only cloudy and cold for one day - otherwise we had temps in the high 60s with sun / partial clouds. for us, it was a great time of year to avoid the heat and the crowds.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing