We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay there again in a heartbeat”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Service was faultless and very friendly. The family made us feel very much at home from the moment we arrived to the breakfast tray they prepared for us on our departure date (because we were leaving before the dining room opened for breakfast. The room was simple & clean and more than adequate for our needs. Internet (wired in the room, wireless downstairs) at no charge was an added bonus. Truly "Centrale" to the entire village, 2 minutes from the ferry dock and within easy reach of the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

What a find in beautiful Bellagio! The owner Giacomo and his family made us feel extremely welcome and went WAY out of their way to find parking spots for our car and later for our friend's car when the village was extremely busy with a Veteran's celebration.
Location is ideal, steps away from the waterfront and shops but quiet and has a beautiful courtyard where we enjoyed a few picnics/ happy hours. Breakfast is in a beautiful light filled room with wonderful array of choices and they make delicious cappucinos. Everything was super clean, tidy and charming. Our room was cleaned everyday when we were at Breakfast....the entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions, Especially Giacomo who enjoyed speaking about music with my husband.
We paid 130 Euros/night which we thought was good in high season. .

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank ISunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

So first off to find hotels in town is a little difficult. It is limited access in the town proper. Be very careful when driving in town as people can walk right out of shop into the roadway. We stayed in the largerest room and it was very comfortable, a large patio area shared with a couple of other rooms. The owner and his son's were very helpful. The wife no so much so. Anyway. It is right in the middle of town and seems to cater to english speaking folks. Tip in getting to Bellagio. I HIGHLY recommend driving up to Menaggio or Varenna and then taking the ferry over. Even with a car it was only about 12 euro. The road up to Bellagio from Como is an adventure all in itself, narrow, blind corners, the whole works...not worth it and I drove 1600 miles thru Italy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Hotel Centrale fit our needs for Bellagio perfectly! We were looking for a reasonably priced place in a good location and this hotel is literally right in the middle of this great little village. It's located in the middle of one of the staircases and offered convenient access to all of Bellagio. The room we stayed in was a bit small but clean and functional. Breakfast was great, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Family-run, renovated (it has a lift/elevator!!), very clean, good bathroom, aircon, skylight (we were on top floor- the 3rd of 3) which can be covered electronically; welcoming family with great ability to make all feel very welcome. Alll this and the beautiful town of Bellagio and all the easily reached (by ferry) lakeside towns at your doorstep. Free wireless or direct connection (we were just out of reception so the direct connection was fine). Charming patio and garden for relaxation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiznPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We caught the train from Venice to Milan, then a regional train from Milan to Varenna, & finally a ferry from Varenna to Bellagio. We thought it was hard getting there, but it was much harder to leave this superb hotel after 2 wonderful nights (Euro 110.00 per night). We were warmly greeted and offered a choice of 2 rooms. We chose a room with a balcony overlooking the colurful garden, ''absolutely gorgeous" in the words of the previous reviewer. The room had lovely furnishings, a comfortable bed, and a good bathroom. Airconditioning was included. This hotel is full of character and charm, which totally matches the charm and beauty of Bellagio. The hotel has a lovely setting with a lovely courtyard. Having breakfast in the lovely breakfast room was a treat. The hosts were so warm and friendly.

Coming into Bellagio on the ferry from Varenna was breathtaking. We did the San Martino church walk (from the ferry to the San Martino church took us around 90 minutes at a leisurely place) with superb views our reward.

If you are visiting Italy, do not miss Bellagio. How we would love to return to Bellagio soon and to this very special Hotel Centrale!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I couldnt rave enough about this hotel - it is just charming and gorgeous. Dead central bellagio, essentially you walk off the ferry and just walk straight up the first set of steps and it is halfway up on your left. The rooms were just stunning. I am usually a fan of absolutely modern miminalistic hotels which this is not, however this one was just oozing character and charm, along with being clean & stunning. The rooms are in brilliant condition, and we had a gorgeous sun roof with retractable blind so that you could have sunlight pouring into your room and watch the sky which was fantastic.
Free fast wired internet in the rooms was a plus, there is wireless on the lower floors.
Located close to everything, gorgeous breakfast room & lovely breakfast. Lovely outisde area where you coudl sit and drink wine on a sunny day and the views are stunning needless to say. Despite being told there was no lake view from the hotel, we had some fairly stunning glipses of lake and mountain from our rooms between buildings.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
784 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#7 of 16 in Bellagio
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range: £112 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing