We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so hot”
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so hot”
Reviewed 30 June 2010

One side of my pillowcase was dirty, had something gross-looking on it. Pretty inconvenient location, hard to find and get to (especially with luggage) about midway down an long, inclined alley with steps on the bottom half but smooth on the top half. Fairly pedestrian breakfast compared to others we had in Italy. But, I guess you get what you pay for. Price was right for Bellagio.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    145
    30
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
296
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This family run hotel is a real treasure. I booked in after finding out it was the most popular hotel in Bellagio on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Our room even had a sun roof and remote control for the window and blinds. The customer service at this hotel is wonderful and the location very central.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMacL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We have just returned from a ten night stay at Hotel Centrale. It lived up to all the positive comment posted on Tripadvisor. Our arrival was delayed due to the volcanic ash situation in southern England consequently we had to drive from Milan Linate Airport late in the evening, arriving in Bellagio at 2.00 am. Giacomo stayed up to welcome us and assisted with the luggage and parking the car. Throughout the holiday Giacomo, his sons and the cleaning staff were friendly, helpful and approachable. Having stayed previously at the Hotel du Lac some years ago we felt the Hotel Centrale represented much better value for money and despite not having direct lake views was well positioned, yet quiet (except the night Inter Milan won the ChampionsLeague Final!) Breakfast was of a higher standard than I have experienced on some previous trips to Italy. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loxmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

finding this place on the day you arrive might be the roughest part of the stay.. the staff are warm friendly and accommodating and the rooms are quiet and perfect considering that you dont come to bellagio to sit in a hotel room. the room we had was equipped with a wired internet connection (wireless downstairs, but they gave us a wire to use), full bath with shower and a queen size bed. breakfast in the morning was served by a very cheerful and friendly fellow who made some great cappuccinos. a 2 hour slow ferry to como, 1 hour fast ferry to como, 20 minutes to varenna and centrally located in bellagio. we had a hard time finding the hotel at first, but it was our own fault because the directions we were given by the owner were perfect and we blew it.

we would stay here again for sure, and recommend it to friends and family.

the rooms are with heat and air depending on the time of the year and we had both cold and warm days.. the place was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanklovesanaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This is our first review on Trip Advisor and we were compelled to sign up and review our favorite places as a thank you to all of you who we learned from before our trip. The reviews for this hotel are spot on. The room was very clean, the location was perfect, and the price was definitely right.

That is just talking about the hotel though and leaving out the Borelli family would be a crime. Our stay there would have already been well worth the money we paid but the service and patience that the Borelli family showed us was above and beyond the call of duty. They helped book our dinner reservations, allowed us to use their own computer to check in for our plan trip home, and even when we ran into one of their sons around town he took the time to give us some amazing advice for a nice quiet spot to sit in the sun and enjoy the views of the lake.

Our only average rating for this hotel was due to the bed being too firm along with the pillows but we experienced that all over Italy so it wasn't a huge surprise. All things considered you would be crazy to spend more money on a hotel with a direct lake view since you will never be in the room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_Ackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed here just after Easter 2010 , when the season had just started in Bellagio.

Coming from Venice, via Verona, we took the train to Milan and then to Varenna.
We caught the last car ferry at 8.45pm from Varenna to Bellagio that only took about 0 minutes. It was very magical arriving in the dark with all the lights shining like stars from the towns on the lake. From the ferry terminal the hotel was very easy to find ( we had printed out its location on Google Maps and brought this with us) and as we only travel with 10 kg packs it was no trouble our luggage up the 20 or so stairs to the Hotel. Because we were arriving after 6.30 pm, Giacomo asked us to call from Milan so that he could leave the keys out for us when we arrived. In fact he was there when we arrived and showed us to our room.

The rooms are spacious I think and have comfortable beds. They are quiet and clean in any case, and although the bathroom is not big it is also clean and very adequate with toiletries and hairdryer. From our window we could glimpse the mountains and the lake, but hey you don' t spend much time in your room so who needs a view!The rooms also have BBC and there is free wifi in the reception area if you have a laptop or i phone. We used the TA restaurant app on our i phone all over Italy which was really great to check reviews on restaurants.

The breakfast room is very sunny and bright . They will make you a cappucino if you like as well. its not a cooked breakfast, and there is not toast but plenty of other continental goodies to enjoy like fruit , yoghurt and pastries.

The first night we decided to have dinner at Far Out. Even though it was Easter Monday night at 9.30 pm , they were open and we had a superb meal. Amazing pasta, great atmosphere and good service.

There is a little food store behind the hotel if you want to buy water or rolls or grocery items. We also ate at Trattoria San Giacomo, which was excellent. Arrive early and have drinks at Apertivo et al across the road and then get a sitting at 7pm or 9pm at the restaurant. They don't take bookings and are closed on Tuesday nights.

For lunch by the lake we enjoyed Bar Rossi in Bellagio and Cafe Sport ( funny name but great food) in Lenno just near Villa Balbianello. ( Don't miss this villa!!! its also closed on Certain days of the week.)

You can buy a boat day pass that covers the middle lake towns like Lenno, Tremezzo, Varenna and Bellagio. Its about 10 Euros and you can get on and off all day.

I can highly recommend doing the 11 am tour of Villa Serbollini. Just arrive at the little tower up the hill near the Bellagio Church and buy a ticket. Get there at 10 30m as they sell out and they have limited places. Its only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel.Its very interesting and the best view of the lake. The young tour guide Vera with dark hair is a very good guide and only does the morning tour.

My advice is book this hotel directly by email and enjoy the relaxing pace of Bellagio.
Do your research before you go so you know what time the Villas are open that you want to see.( villa Melzi and Villa Carlotta are mainly about the gardens) The tourist office at the ferry terminal is helpful with ferry times, and they seem to run very often.
You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MegWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon in Italy. After reading all the reviews about this hotel, I must admit that I had very high expectations, especially because of the high cost per night.

That being said, the hotel is indeed very cosy and centrally located in beautiful Bellagio.

However, there are several things to consider that I wish my wife and I had known in advance. The hotel can only be reached by climbing a very,very long stairway in the streets. It was a bit of a struggle for us with luggage. Moreover, the staff was nothing to write home about. We were unable to reach anyone in the evening and the front desk person seemed rather indifferent when we asked for dinner suggestions. Although there were brochures in the front lobby about sites in Lake Como, the staff didn't have any of the 'exceptional touches' that other reviewers were raving about. (Other hotels we stayed in Italy provided us with Champagne when they learned we were on honeymoon. Not this hotel.)

When my wife and I slept in (until about 10:30, I think) we were told by the cleaning woman that she wouldn't be coming back, so we had to make our own bed.

Overall, I found this a very average hotel, whose best qualities are the location of the hotel rather than the services it provides.

A WARNING TO THOSE VISITNG BELLAGIO: We took a public bus to Bellagio after taking the train from Milan to Como. The bus from Como to Bellagio takes about a full hour going over some very steep cliffs. (There does, however, appear to be a direct train from Como to nearby Varenna.) Although we stayed in mid-April, we were surprised that most restaraunts and all shops in Bellagio closed very early - before 7pm in most cases. There didn't seem to be much 'normal life' like grocery stores, shops, average residents, etc,. which gave Bellagio a very touristy, almost Disney-like feel. Despite this, the scenery of the snowcapped mountains from Bellagio was absolutely beautiful and Bellagio is easily reachable by ferry to the surrounding towns once you get there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Lori_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Property: Hotel Centrale
Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing