We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Views!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The views of Bellagio are breathtaking from the lake side rooms! The rooms are cozy, clean and spacious. Hotel host and restaurant personnel are so friendly and helpful. We were traveling with 6 other friends and we all loved this hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladonnagreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    261
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
127
527
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent all together 7 days in Il Perlo Panorama. The rooms are not 5 stars but they are definitely cosy. Also depending on direction your room is facing, your whole stay can change. Obviously if you facing the parking lot thats not really what you are looking for but on the other side facing the lake, the mountains and beautiful nature overall - than you are talking amazing !!!
The owner Carlo and his beautiful mother are great hosts.
There are few really nice restaurants downtown but if you don't have a car you have to either walk which takes around 45min on a road which is quite dangerous so pay good attention as the street are very narrow. Or the hotel has a shuttle car but that does not give you time flexibility.
The Sporting Club in the city is a good place for dinner and drinks! They also have swimming pool, that closes around dinner time just to make sure half naked customers are not running around while you are having dinner ;)
To get to Bellagio from Malpensa airport takes around 2 hours by car. The last 50-60km to Bellagio slows down due to narrow winding road.
The weather in Bellagio in June was beautiful. Few short showers, fresh air, couple of days for some serious suntan and nice breeze from the mountains.
Restaurants recommendations: La Punta and Far Out...there are also some little places where you can indulge in Prosecco and delicious prosciutto and cheese !!!!
We were overall very impressed with this little town by the lake where George Clooney owns 2 villas...........

Room Tip: Make sure you double check on the room view when making booking........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DedenyShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I have never met a kinder and more welcoming hotel host. Carlo made our trip. You can tell that Carlo thoroughly enjoys hosting guests in his city. He gave us a detailed introduction to Bellagio and the surrounding area, riddled with little bits of history, and got us in touch with guides for some of our planned excursions. He gave us a personalized map to different attractions and restaurants so we would know where to find great Italian food on a budget. The personal attention to detail was evident throughout the hotel, from flowers to food to service.

We only had to call from the pay phone when we arrived by bus and Carlo dispatched his shuttle with friendly assistant, Franco, to pick us up and whisk us up to the beautiful hotel and its panoramic view. The view is so incredible that it's tempting to just spend the entire day on the breakfast balcony without exploring the town or rest of the lake. Munching on the included breakfast on that balcony was one of fondest the memories my wife and I will take from Bellagio.

We rented bikes through Carlo so that we could ride the historic Guisallo ascent which runs right by the hotel. Carlo was more than accommodating, letting us change bikes last minute so that we had easier gears to help get us all the way up there. They are professionally serviced bikes - better than mine at home - and worked great.

My wife and I actually booked the brand new refinished apartment he has down the hill since the hotel was already booked for the weekend and we were late with our plans. It was beautiful, tranquil, and actually quite a large suite with a shining new bathroom and working kitchen. We always had a private shuttle from there to the hotel or into town whenever we wanted.

However, the scenic and romantic 20 minute walk into town over ancient cobblestone paths was usually too good to pass up.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Il Perlo Panorama is located above Bellagio with a picture perfect view of Bellagio and Lake Como facing north to the snow capped mountains. This was our second stay at Il Perlo Panorama after a first visit 5 years ago. This time we brought a group of 11 family members with us and they all collectively agreed that Lake Como and the location of the hotel was spectacular. There are some shortcomings with the hotel with respect to breakfast with food running out at times, and perhaps some slightly dated rooms, but you get what you pay for. It is a 2 star hotel. If as one reviewer says, stay at another hotel with a private beach and balconies, go ahead, but there is no where else that you can soak up the view from the location of the Il Perlo Panorama.

The views of Lake Como make up for every shortcoming. There is nothing better than opening up the balcony doors and sitting outside to watch the sun rise or the sun set.

The owners are helpful and forthright and give good advice on restaurants in the area. La Torreta being one of them, where the food is excellent and inexpensive compared to Bellagio 2km down the hill.

I have no doubt that we shall return to Il Perlo Panorama again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Any room on the first or second floors with a balcony and a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel.
Friendly staff, great local advice.
Views were fabulous (ask for a view of the lake)
Some rooms on the first floor have a common balcony - we did not mind, and we're not disturbed.
No lifts!!
Free parking and shuttles into town
(Drivers Beware of the ZTL in the historical centre!!!)

Only downside was the fan was rather noisy when started up - takes a while to quieten down and seems to have only 1 speed.

We hope to return someday!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank t4tortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here for about 3 nights a couple years ago in the summer and I still dream about going back. The view is breathtaking and definitely worth the slight inconvenience of being a couple miles up the hill from town. We took the shuttle a couple times but mostly ended up walking back and forth between the hotel and town, which wasn't too bad at all (although dark at night and no shoulder to walk on, so be careful).

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica73083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012 via mobile

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel and we would love to come back again.

When we arrived we were met by one of the owners who was very friendly and full of lots of local information. We then went up to our room which was cosy with a very comfortable bed and had an amazing balcony view of Lake Como. The pictures don't do it justice.

The hotel is high on top of a hill, which is why it has an amazing view. As the walk is steep to get to and from the town, there is a shuttle service 3 times per day to go back and forth which only costs $1 per person. There are also local restaraunts which will transport you to and from the hotel by arrangement.

During our time here we stayed in to have dinner one of the nights. The buffet is lovely and includes a delicious pasta, salad and bread as well as a dessert which we had with some sparkling wine from the bar. We had this on the terrace overlooking Lake Como, which was a lovely relaxing experience and very romantic.

This hotel is lovely and I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Italy. The owners are so nice and there is a special mix of professionalism and homeliness which you dot often get when you are travelling overseas.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adz-and-mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing