We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value with a View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Value with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10-15 years. We are never disappointed. For the price you get amazing Bellagio and Lake Como views. And the family hospitality is great. They always treat us like one of the family, and help a lot with planning daily excursions around the area. Carlo is tremendous at details with trains and ferry arrangements. And they recommend great dining places...the hotel has only limited food offerings. The lakeview suites are reasonably priced and spacious. The furnishings are a bit old but serviceable. Since the hotel is high up on the hill above Bellagio, I recommend a car. But they do offer a shuttle in to town. Again, for the price you get a tremendous value and the best lake views.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnlyRosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    251
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
121
506
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed two nights at this superbly comfortable hotel in early October 2012. The room was very cozy, it was spacious, very clean, and nicely decorated. The same goes for the bathroom, although the shower cubicle, I think, was a bit too small. And we were simply delighted that we got the room with a balcony overlooking the lake. It was gorgeous, day and night, the view is just breathtaking! The hotel owners were also very friendly and informative. The breakfast was satisfactory and in the evening you can also dine in for a fee but don't expect restaurant-like quality food (but it'll do without having to go into the town for dinner). The hotel is located a bit up in the hill, but it only takes less than 10 minutes getting into the town center of Bellagio by car, and besides, the views from up there are just incredible. I look forward to visiting Lake Como and staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I stayed with Carlo and his family at Il Perlo in Aug 2012. What a great choice, no regrets apart from having to leave when our time was up.

After a long drive from the Riveria, we arrived late and they stayed up to make sure we got checked in properly. Easy and fast, we got to our room and were asked for anything we needed. They are on top of things, easy to talk to, informative of the area and always willing to go a little further to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

We stayed in a 2nd floor room with a gorgeous view of Bellagio, enjoying breakfast on the terrace and planning our days. They provide a shuttle service into town, but you can walk as well (20-30 mins, downhill). The view could not be any better.

I can not recommend this hotel more than a perfect rating. If you are going to Bellagio, check with them to see if they have room, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Thanks again to Carlo and his family for running a fine establishment and making our stay a memorable one. We hope to make it back at some point, but until then we have our pictures and memories.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_M_TO_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic and extremely memorable. It is the best hotel we stayed in all of Italy.

We had originally booked the garden view room but upon arrival asked to view the lake view room and immediately upgraded. The view is incredible!! After settling in, we were surpised to have champaign, grapes (grown on the property), bread, and cheese delivered to our door.

The rooms are extremely clean, the wifi is fast, and the service is impeccable.

The breakfast was the best we had in Italy and included pancakes, homemade frittata, regional cakes, eggs, and more.

The hotel is owned by a mother and her son. They are very interesting to talk to and extremely knowledgeable. For example, the gentleman has every ferry and train schedule memorized!

Although the hotel is located about 2-2.5 miles from town, they will drive you to town for a minimal charge. The walk to town is scenic and manageable. We also hiked around the trails that start right out the hotel door and saw beautiful countryside and homes. At one point I looked out on a field of cows with the lake and mountains in the background and the sound of a rooster in the distance and felt as if I were in a scene from a movie.

Overall we had a wonderful stay here and recommend it to people of all ages and interests. I hope to one day visit lake como and this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Are you looking for a hotel with a magnificent view of Lake Como?
Are you looking for a hotel in Bellagio that you can afford?
Welcome to Il Perlo Panorama!
A family business, Il Perlo sits 3 kilometres from the town centre, overlooking the lake, with a spectacular 180 degree view.
The hotel was once a mill, as were many of the surrounding houses. They served to produce concrete in abundance. Now, all that remains of the mill are the old stone wheel in the garden and the stories handed down through the generations. Especially we are told the stories of Toscanini coming to sit and speak with Grandfather, while sharing a drink in the shade of the old Linden tree, which even now stands in the front garden.
But the view is still the same- the beautiful lake, stretching out its blue-green arms, while the giant mountains, often capped with snow, frame the breath-taking scene.

At Il Perlo there is accommodation for every budget.
From the delightful rooms overlooking the gardens, those looking out onto the lake, or the panoramic suites that give a full 180 degree view, you will enjoy everything that the hotel offers.

Every room has its own private balcony. Each room also has its own ensuite, telephone, satellite TV, and free wi-fi.

A delicious continental breakfast can be enjoyed inside or out, and tea or coffee can be taken on the terrace looking out over the wonderful vista of the lake.
Being set so high, the air of peace and tranquility ensures a restful stay, whether you seek simply to unwind, or go shopping in the famous village below.
The hotel has a shuttle service to take you to and from the village, a restaurant, should you wish to remain in for the night, carpark facilities and a friendly host, Carlo, with lots of local knowledge of the area.

Based at Il Perlo, you also have access to the ferry service, which will enable you to visit the surrounding towns with their brilliant gardens, shops and walks, and for intrepid hikers, there are mountains to climb and sights to see.

Meaning "The Pearl", Il Perlo is like a hidden gem in the heart of Bellagio. We hope that you will become part of our family. A balcony on the lake is waiting for you at Il Perlo Panorama.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a balcony and a view. Depending on your budget, you can overlook the garden, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeandpeter995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

We had booked in April requesting a room with a review, arrived in September and were allocated a very small room with no view. This hotel must be a front runner for the award for the smallest shower in Europe. The room was roughly painted a large hole in the corner skirting , incomplete grouting at the corners over all very rough. I requested a change of room and we moved to a larger room with a beautiful view. we were changed back again to another room as another couple with children had also requested a view, so it would seem you can request a view and you may get one for a night or two, to keep you happy, so we moved three times in 4 days. In hind sight We should have left as soon as we saw the first room. The shower size was the same , I am by no means large , so would hate to think how some people would manage a shower there. The breakfast was limited and they often ran out of items. There was always watermelon and grapes that had seen better days, fruit juice that tasted like watered down cordial . We ate dinner at the hotel , very ordinary. The house white was the worst wine I have tasted in my 8 week trip certainly not worth what they charge.
The shuttle service to town was good and that is just as well because the alternative is walking on the edge of the road as there are very little pavement areas for pedestrians so it is quite dangerous. The staff speak good English. overall the place needs a major refurbishment , some consistency with bookings instead of room juggling, don't promise what you can't deliver and the breakfast needs to be totally reviewed. We could not wait to go out each day.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilsanchi, Owner at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Madame, thanks a lot for your review that looks so bad but gives us the opportunity to make a few things easier for all customers booking at the hotel.
I am really sorry you had this bad experience that brought you writing such a "revenging" review: really I am really sad when I see this kind of missing of expectations going through!
It is quite clear from what you write that you were choosing our hotel for the views we can offer you: at the same time in april you were surely attracted by a very interesting rate and booked, I suppose through Booking.com a Double French Bed Room garden side, the cheapest at the hotel.
This is the point I would like to remark on for everybody: when you book through all booking systems remember to control very well DESCRIPTIONS of the room you are choosing, especially when you make your search with a BEST RATE filter. This is very important to avoid an unpleasant situation like this.
Madame, unfortunately this is what it happened you: you booked through Booking.com a Double french bed room for a cheap rate and you were expecting a lake view room...
Then on arrival is always difficoult, especially on high season like September on the lake, to make upgrades for 3 or 4 nights.... We were trying to make our best assiging you different rooms in different nights, but it was obviously not enough....
We are really sorry!!!
Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This place is not worth staying at despite the great view. Everything about the place is below average to poor. A shower that could win an award for the smallest shower ever. Impossible to wash your hair because you can't bend your arms. Better hope your not staying on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor because you will have to carry your heavy luggage up there all by yourself. The breakfast is the worst I have ever had. There is plenty to choose from but everything tasted horrible. The whole hotel and everything in it is getting run down and old. Big regret for booking my holiday here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motherfahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing