We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning view, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning view, great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

I cannot say enough about the view from this hotel. We were on a budget on this trip (have you seen the USD to the euro rates lately?), and as such we didn't expect much out of our accomodations. Il Perlo exceeded all of out expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast (once you got the hang of where everything was) was good - I still don't understand why all those folks were eating in the room with the breakfast when they could have been sitting out on the balcony...

Yes, the furniture needs updating - but the room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom had a separate sink (always a plus), and did I mention the view?

  • Liked — the view, the staff
  • Disliked — didn't like having to pay for wireless internet access - and logging on with anti-virus software was a chore
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtn_horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    256
    46
    23
    10
See reviews for
126
514
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

There is no question that the view is stunning. However the rooms are old and musty. The bathroom had no shower and the tub didn't have a shower screen which made bathing a chore. There was no counter on the sink so toiletries went on the floor. The included breakfast was the worst of any in our 2 week stay. There was an added charge of 1E to use the cappocchino machine. The dinner buffet was not tried because it didn't look fresh or appetizing. A car is needed to get to town. We were not offered any shuttle service at check in. We were told at the front desk that parking was free after 8PM in town and got a ticket. We left after one night.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — room and kitchen
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

Wow! Wow! Wow! My hubbie and I spent 3 nights at il Perlo for my birthday weekend and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel for our stay. Ok, breakfast wasn't all singing, all dancing ... and the decor and furnishings were comfortable rather than state of the art ~ but this is exactly why the hotel has the charm it has. The charm aises from the comfortability, the exceptional cleansiness and attention to detail, the warm and welcoming owners and the views ... glorious, gorgeous and very, very special. We had reserved a junior suite ~ one of 3 which are separately set in front of the hotel grounds, and offer panoramic wall to wall, ceiling to ceiling, uninterrupted views of Bellegio ~ and views of both sides of Lake Como. We ventured up to over 1000m above the hotel up a tight, winding road, and ate at a lovely restaurant - think it was Gabrielle or something like that. The hotel Manager booked for us, at our request, and we were surprised to find the restaurant full to the rafters with a throng of rally racers and their crews who were eating and being jolly prior to a race the next day. We were surprised we'd managed (or more to the point, our hotel owner had managed) to wangle a table at all to be honest ~ the atmosphere was priceless and the food was typical italian ~ polenta accompanied dishes and a huge selection of varied meats (horse, donkey .... and the more conventional) rather than the pasta and pizzas offered elsewhere.

That said, we were being adventurous, but there are heaps of lovely places to eat at lower levels, not only in Bellagio, but also in Varenna and Menaggio. Despite it raining, a lot, and often (a seasonal fluke) we walked and explored and searched out quiet and atmospheric places off the main throughfares ... worth doing, as well as walking the more lively routes! We made the most of the ferry system, sometimes taking the car, sometimes as foot passengers, visiting around Lake Como, and found some really quiet, off the beaten track treasures. Overall, the trip was the most fantastic we have spent ~ and we have travelled an awful lot. The hotel is 2 star with charm, and that charm, in our view, was worth so much more than most of the swanky hotels we've stayed in. We're usually 'all comforts' types of travellers, but won't be so fussy in future ~ this hotel proves that doing your research can unearth lovely places to stay at much less cost and much more gain. If you'd like more information, please don't hesitate to contact me on laytonj4@aol.com. Hope this review helps !

ps ~ we left the satnav at home and used the directions from the hotel website and found the hotel with absolutely no problem whatsoever !

Ciao

  • Liked — The service, the cleansiness, the atmosphere and the VIEWS!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessicabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2008

Arrived a little frazzled after having trusted our GPS to get us to the door of this lovely hotel. Only to be advised by the owner had we looked at the map provided by the hotel on booking we would have had no problems. We did have the map and no we did'nt look at it, blindly following the GPS. Quite an adventure on reflection gives us a good story to tell our friends! Ended up in a farm below the hotel as have many other hotel guests, the farmer new exactly where we were going. Probably thought stupid tourists? At the hotel we were greeted by a very nice man who showed us to our room which was a little damp, spacious enough with an enormous window which looked straight out over the lake & mountains but alas the cloud and bad weather stopped the view so we were a little disappointed. The furniture was dated but the room extremely clean, nice big bathroom good shower. Went of to bed that night a little worried about the fact there were no curtains to close over the large windows. At 6.00am in the morning I awoke to the most incredible vista I have ever seen in my life. I woke my husband and we sat there entranced by the beauty of it all. Snow capped mountains, small villas dotted around just breathtaking. There was also a large covered balcony we could sit on. Breakfast was good. The hotel staff were so friendly and could'nt do enough for us. An absoutely amazing experience. Location wise it is about 3kms from the main town so walking is not an option unless you are extremely fit. There is a shuttle bus run by the hotel which goes to the town about 3 times per day. Parking is available.

  • Liked — The amazing views
  • Disliked — The furniture needs updating
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diedre_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2008

Finding the Il Perlo took a little time but the views over Bellagio and Lake Como made the climb worthwhile! We only stayed one night and whilst the hotel itself was quite basic - it was good value for Bellagio and the owner/manager was very friendly. We had only booked a 'garden view' but were given a room with the most fantastic view over the lake and Bellagio town - simply breathtaking! Recommended as an out of town hotel and great advice given by reception as to where to park to visit Bellagio itself.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony in our room
  • Disliked — Basic amenities and no hot water!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

The drive to the hotel was lovely and the hotel and surroundings were beautiful. The view from the rooms were breathtaking. Our only problem was quickly remedied.

We had booked the largest room which is actually a separate cottage with and incredible vista. But it was musty and the downstairs was infested with tiny insects. Although they offered to clean and spray, we wouldn't stay in the cottage. They were able to give us a room on the top floor. It was clean with a new bathroom. It had a tiny balcony with a beautiful view.

It is a basic hotel, but the staff is very helpful and the breakfast was very nice. This hotel is definitely not for the 5 star traveler, but for those who like the road less traveled. We would stay there again, but not in the cottage!

  • Liked — the staff, location and how quickly they resolved the insect issue
  • Disliked — Well, the insects in the cottage
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ltdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2008

We spent 3 nights at the end of our trip to Northern Italy at this hotel. We had a corner room on the 3rd floor (no elevator) and the view was just beautiful. We could lie in bed and gaze out at the mountains and lake with all the flowers blooming. The room is basic with a comfortable bed. We had a small balcony that wrapped around the side. Narrow bathroom with equally narrow bathtub and handheld shower. This hotel is about a 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk to Bellagio town. We had a car and there is free parking at the hotel. Because we were there a bit off season we did not have any trouble finding parking when we drove into town. The hotel runs a shuttle a few times a day at designated times which they will give you. They charge 1 or 2 euros for the shuttle. While we were there it did not run at night. They give you names of restaurants that will pick you up and return you after your meal.
The people who run it spoke English well and were pleasant. Although the women could be a bit dense at times. Breakfast is included and for some odd reason they charge u 1 euro if you have esperesson instead of the other beverage selections.
If you dont care about being in town this is a nice budget hotel worth trying.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Property: Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Lake Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing